The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-05-09, 04:07 PM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Do all computers need to be setup with a static IP w/ forwarding?

I have 3 computers behind a router, and they are all setup for a static ip in order to get all my ports forwarded. Only two of them run any sort of torrents.

My question is do all computers that want to connect to the router have to have a static ip? I ask because sometimes if people come over and want to connect they can't without setting up a static ip.

Thaaaaaaanks.



btw whats going on five?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-05-09, 04:54 PM
Chachi420's Avatar
Chachi420 Chachi420 is offline
db.etree.org/chachi420
TTD VIP
206.73 GB/1.15 TB/5.72
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Do all computers need to be setup with a static IP w/ forwarding?

they should be able to connect without static ip
__________________
"dance to Jah music, dance....forget your sorrows and dance...forget your troubles and dance....forget your sickness and dance....forget your weakness and dance..." ~B.Marley

"If your share ratio is less than 1.0, then please offer b&ps and/or freebies to give back to the TTD community" ~Chachi
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-05-09, 10:48 PM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Do all computers need to be setup with a static IP w/ forwarding?

alright, thanks chach.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-05-09, 10:56 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Do all computers need to be setup with a static IP w/ forwarding?

Toto,

Some routers allow to to have a setting of "DHCP plus manual". Then it will usually ask what range to assign the DHCP IPs from. So, you might put in 192.168.1.200. Then, you are allowed to assign manual (static) IPs in the 192.168.1.100-192.168.1.199 range and if someone tries to connect that doesn't have static set up, they will be given a random one above 192.168.1.200.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-05-10, 03:23 AM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Do all computers need to be setup with a static IP w/ forwarding?

Thanks Lynne, doesnt seem like I have that option.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-05-13, 12:29 AM
gratefulad
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Do all computers need to be setup with a static IP w/ forwarding?

what is the downside of having a static ip, i change mine to be static when i originnally forwarded my ports, and i havent noticed much of a difference (browser seems to be running a bit slower, but i think that's cause i got torrents downloading and uploading constantly). anyone know?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-05-13, 04:39 AM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Do all computers need to be setup with a static IP w/ forwarding?

there is no real downside, and it wont affect your speed. running torrents will.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Port Forwarding and Mobile Computers - fowler Technobabble 1 2006-02-28 10:36 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts