The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-04-17, 08:19 AM
jadg2 jadg2 is offline
62.44 GB/104.12 GB/1.67
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ireland + Scotland
Question standalone dvd burner info

I'm looking to learn about standalone burners and their impact on quality of dvds ie preserving or not. Been in touch with a few traders who have a standalone burner and don't know whether this impacts quality when copying dvds. Any info or guides appreciated.

Also what's the story about getting the best possible transfer from a master?
Guess it varies for master media yay?
When it's the blue screen menu, that means it's been standalone recorded to dvd yes? Is that an 'inferior' transfer then?

Cheers for the info and hope I don't spark off a minefield!
__________________
Putting the Good shit out since 2005 - http://db.etree.org/james_ramro
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-04-17, 07:26 PM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
369.86 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: standalone dvd burner info

The burner has to have an option to make a disc copy, and not only 'record' - such will pass DVD through analogue stage and/or recompress video and audio.
When it's the blue screen menu, that means it's been standalone recorded to dvd yes?
Yes but new models have also a bit more fancy.
Also what's the story about getting the best possible transfer from a master?
VHS master?: XP mode and LPCM for audio; or if you can setup bitrate: video between 6000 and 8000 Kbps, and LPCM for audio.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-04-19, 09:22 AM
jadg2 jadg2 is offline
62.44 GB/104.12 GB/1.67
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ireland + Scotland
Re: standalone dvd burner info

[quote=pawel]such will pass DVD through analogue stage and/or recompress video and audio .
QUOTE]

Cheers, thanks for that. So when you get dvds that are compressed (ie 1-2 gB, picture a bit more blocky and sound tinnier to put it unscientifically), that's from recording through a standalone player rather than copying identically? I've got a few discs like that in trades unfortunately...

Cheers again!
__________________
Putting the Good shit out since 2005 - http://db.etree.org/james_ramro
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-04-19, 12:18 PM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
369.86 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: standalone dvd burner info

Yes but not necessarily:
* if it is VHS transfer, it could be recorded in long play mode - low bitrate for video and audio
* if it is direct digital capture (DVB-x) then the original broadcast could be very compressed
* video can be sourced from VCD, DivX or it is poor conversion from PAL to NTSC (or vice versa).

Blocky artifacts usually point to poor conversion of AVI or VCD.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Re-authoring a Standalone DVD Recording - Tell Me How - forkstriker4 Technobabble 6 2007-05-29 12:44 AM
Standalone to Standalone DVD copying Yes or NO? - scoutthedoggie Technobabble 6 2007-05-08 02:52 PM
Standalone DVD/CDR Duplicator - ijwthstd Technobabble 0 2007-01-20 02:06 PM
G-Spot info vs. PowerDVD info - feralicious Technobabble 4 2005-06-14 01:43 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts