The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-04-05, 12:04 PM
willyp523's Avatar
willyp523 willyp523 is offline
7.10 GB/6.83 GB/0.96
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
CF for MicroTrack?

MicroTrack has just arrived and I'm looking for a 4gb CF card. Is a standard Sandisk card sufficient or should I spend more for an Ultra II?

TIA

Will
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-04-05, 12:48 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: CF for MicroTrack?

i've used the standard CF card for the past 6 months or so with no problems
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-04-05, 12:59 PM
pmonk's Avatar
pmonk pmonk is offline
510.95 GB/621.08 GB/1.22
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: CF for MicroTrack?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AAR.oner
i've used the standard CF card for the past 6 months or so with no problems
Same here! I would advise to avoid spending serious money on a CF card because nothing worse when you get that dreaded "unformat" error
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-04-05, 01:00 PM
pmonk's Avatar
pmonk pmonk is offline
510.95 GB/621.08 GB/1.22
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: CF for MicroTrack?

Quote:
Originally Posted by willyp523
MicroTrack has just arrived

Cool beans The 24/96??
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-04-05, 01:35 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: CF for MicroTrack?

if i remeber correct, Doug Oade actually told me NOT to use the UltraII cards with the PMD671...can't remember why right now, but just a fwiw

my two 2GB Sandisk standards have performed perfectly willyp...
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-04-05, 09:41 PM
willyp523's Avatar
willyp523 willyp523 is offline
7.10 GB/6.83 GB/0.96
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: CF for MicroTrack?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmonk66
Cool beans The 24/96??

Yessir

A Sharp DR7 MD, with SP-CMC-8 mics, has served me well...actually recorded a few with stunning results. But figured it was time for an upgrade and I look forward to not having to swap discs. And with the few shows I actually go to, couldn't justify spending much more.

Thanks for the replies....looks like a standard card will be the one. Cool...saves me about $50.

I've read enough around here to know I have to charge the battery full the first couple times. I'd be open to any other tips.

Thanks again,

Will
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-04-10, 07:03 PM
pigebear's Avatar
pigebear pigebear is offline
1.42 TB/2.12 TB/1.49
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Re: CF for MicroTrack?

You do not need the faster cards the reg sandisc works perfect.
I found this to help fully charge before using.(beware that it will charge every time you plug in the usb) try to use it till it gets really low
after charged insert card but format it from your pc(told to me by e-mu) because I had some trouble when i formatted the 4 gig card.now that i reformatted using my pc no trouble.
Now for more stuff if you use it at 24/96 you will almost get 2 hours of time on 4 gig,But you or the unit have to stop the file at 2 gigs and start another file
Updated firmware starts a new file but you miss about 3 sec of audio while it starts the new file.
If you do 24/48 you get almost 4 hours but again at 2 gis you have to start another file 1 hour 54 min each file.
battey life if you shut off the backlite and do not use the menu too much is over 6 hours .But my sales person told me they already have had 3 out of 10 come back with dead batteries ,then you have to send it back to e-mu . no response to how much it would cost
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2006-04-10, 07:09 PM
jcrab66's Avatar
jcrab66 jcrab66 is offline
We all walk the Long Road....
75.63 GB/483.42 GB/6.39
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Bootleg
Re: CF for MicroTrack?

make sure you get at least a 45 X card if your gonna do 24 bit. I recently purchased a 100X 4 gig card for 130 bux shipped that works fine in the microtrack at 24/96. My ultraII also will do 24/96 with no probs. Remember, different cards work differently in different units, ie...what works in one of the marantz units may not work in the MT and vice versa...
__________________
If you want to see a damn good live show check out THIS band.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts