The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-03-14, 06:48 PM
chewie420 chewie420 is offline
978.19 GB/866.57 GB/0.89
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
how do i know if my drive is dual layer capable?

i have a teac dvd+rw dv-w58e dvd burner, which is only about 2 years old. i looked it up on the net and in the descriptions i found don't mention anything about dual layer. is there any other way to tell? i bought a 3 pack to try and burn some longer shows on (11/16/95 phish) but i don't to open them and waste them if i can't use them....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-03-14, 07:06 PM
Chachi420's Avatar
Chachi420 Chachi420 is offline
db.etree.org/chachi420
TTD VIP
206.73 GB/1.15 TB/5.72
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: how do i know if my drive is dual layer capable?

nero info tool
__________________
"dance to Jah music, dance....forget your sorrows and dance...forget your troubles and dance....forget your sickness and dance....forget your weakness and dance..." ~B.Marley

"If your share ratio is less than 1.0, then please offer b&ps and/or freebies to give back to the TTD community" ~Chachi
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-03-14, 07:38 PM
chewie420 chewie420 is offline
978.19 GB/866.57 GB/0.89
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Re: how do i know if my drive is dual layer capable?

when i try that, it gives me a list of things it can read or write, but i don't see dual layer as an option anywhere. is it called something else?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-03-14, 07:56 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: how do i know if my drive is dual layer capable?

from what i found googling it, looks to be only a single layer burner...it'll still read DL layer discs tho
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-03-14, 08:21 PM
Chachi420's Avatar
Chachi420 Chachi420 is offline
db.etree.org/chachi420
TTD VIP
206.73 GB/1.15 TB/5.72
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: how do i know if my drive is dual layer capable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewie420
when i try that, it gives me a list of things it can read or write, but i don't see dual layer as an option anywhere. is it called something else?
I think you may need an updated version of nero that recognizes DL discs?
__________________
"dance to Jah music, dance....forget your sorrows and dance...forget your troubles and dance....forget your sickness and dance....forget your weakness and dance..." ~B.Marley

"If your share ratio is less than 1.0, then please offer b&ps and/or freebies to give back to the TTD community" ~Chachi
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-03-14, 08:22 PM
Chachi420's Avatar
Chachi420 Chachi420 is offline
db.etree.org/chachi420
TTD VIP
206.73 GB/1.15 TB/5.72
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: how do i know if my drive is dual layer capable?

http://tdb.rpc1.org/

^Good site for firmwares to change your dvd drive to DL capable
__________________
"dance to Jah music, dance....forget your sorrows and dance...forget your troubles and dance....forget your sickness and dance....forget your weakness and dance..." ~B.Marley

"If your share ratio is less than 1.0, then please offer b&ps and/or freebies to give back to the TTD community" ~Chachi
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-03-14, 08:39 PM
chewie420 chewie420 is offline
978.19 GB/866.57 GB/0.89
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Re: how do i know if my drive is dual layer capable?

that's a pretty cool site, but it's a little above my know how. i was reading the thread from that show (11/16/95) and i think i'll try to split it, or if worst comes to worst i'll shrink it 2x. thanks for all the help, chewie
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2006-03-15, 01:54 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: how do i know if my drive is dual layer capable?

when I got my dual layer burner Nero detected it and shows 9GB available even if I insert a normal dvd-r

hope this helps
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2006-03-15, 08:04 AM
ssamadhi97's Avatar
ssamadhi97 ssamadhi97 is offline
meow.
87.81 GB/69.41 GB/0.79
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Old Europe
Re: how do i know if my drive is dual layer capable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewie420
that's a pretty cool site, but it's a little above my know how. i was reading the thread from that show (11/16/95) and i think i'll try to split it, or if worst comes to worst i'll shrink it 2x. thanks for all the help, chewie
Just keep in mind that when shrinking it to 50% you're really going to sacrifice a metric fuckload of quality. Splitting would really be preferable - good luck with that!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
question about dual layer authoring/layer break - datdork Technobabble 24 2008-09-12 04:10 PM
Dual layer DVD to 2 SIngle layer DVD,s - bob francais Technobabble 1 2008-02-03 03:25 AM
Help with new dual layer DVD burner - keo72467 Technobabble 2 2007-05-13 10:51 AM
Dual-Layer DVD-R Reccomendations? - Walrus Technobabble 8 2007-03-30 10:59 AM
Break up dual layer for mac? - Jobiwan24 Technobabble 1 2006-09-05 08:21 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts