The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-03-06, 05:03 PM
Leper_Messiah069's Avatar
Leper_Messiah069 Leper_Messiah069 is offline
108.84 GB/166.91 GB/1.53
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sacto,CA
Is this possible

Hey, I was wondering if it was possible to switch your bittorrent client if you had unfinished downloads, and start the downloads again, around 60%. i want to switch from Azureus to an older client of uTorrent. Azureus is really pissing me off. any reply would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
This post edited by Leper_Messiah's Keyboard Monkey.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-03-06, 05:18 PM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Is this possible

im sure it would be fine, just point the new client to the same folder and it shouuld just check the exisiting data and go from there.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-03-06, 05:35 PM
Leper_Messiah069's Avatar
Leper_Messiah069 Leper_Messiah069 is offline
108.84 GB/166.91 GB/1.53
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sacto,CA
Re: Is this possible

Hey yeah! it freekin works, no more Azureus for me. Fuck that Frog. Thanks Man
__________________
This post edited by Leper_Messiah's Keyboard Monkey.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-03-06, 05:50 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Is this possible

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leper_Messiah069
Hey yeah! it freekin works, no more Azureus for me. Fuck that Frog. Thanks Man

You have chosen wisely.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-03-06, 05:52 PM
Leper_Messiah069's Avatar
Leper_Messiah069 Leper_Messiah069 is offline
108.84 GB/166.91 GB/1.53
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sacto,CA
Re: Is this possible

Huh, still cant dl faster than 5/k... i know i am unfirewalled. does choosing the wrong port sometimes limit your d/l speed? or is it just the people im trying to d/l from? im trying to d/l a few files off dimessdozen.org. only one seed on each torrent. and a few leeches, it seems like i am the only one not getting data.. my uploads are at a pretty normal speed, cant dl anything though. any help would be much appreciated. http://www.dimeadozen.org/torrents-details.php?id=79335
http://www.dimeadozen.org/torrents-details.php?id=72099
Thanks much again.
__________________
This post edited by Leper_Messiah's Keyboard Monkey.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-03-06, 06:02 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Is this possible

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leper_Messiah069
i know i am unfirewalled. does choosing the wrong port sometimes limit your d/l speed?
Nope. Shouldn't matter what port you use assuming its not one being used by another program.... the low ones.

If your upload rate is at normal rates its probably just the way those torrents are running/ seeders uploading. I doubt it has anything to do with your client.

Just for kicks you should try one on etree or some site that has a lot of seeders as a test.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-03-06, 07:40 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: Is this possible

The Tool torrent has no seed....so you won't be downloading much.

The Claypool only has one seed...again, not much speed.

Speed is not only dependant on you being unfirewalled, but also dependant on the upload speed of the seeder(s) you're connected to. For instance, I typically upload at around 25...if you're connected to me only, that's the best you can hope for on your end too.
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2006-03-07, 01:57 AM
Leper_Messiah069's Avatar
Leper_Messiah069 Leper_Messiah069 is offline
108.84 GB/166.91 GB/1.53
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sacto,CA
Re: Is this possible

after further investigation i also found that these two torrents only allow you to download 512Kb a packet, and 256Kb a packet... instead of the normal (of what ive seen) as 2.00Mb a packet. Im on another torrent, just audio and thats going at about 400Kb/s. So im just stuck. Thanks again for your help guys. Im trying to suck up as much knowledge as possible about all this stuff and your anwsers and help are awesome. feel free to kill this thread, or keep it open for others.
__________________
This post edited by Leper_Messiah's Keyboard Monkey.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts