The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-02-21, 09:18 AM
johnryanbowman's Avatar
johnryanbowman johnryanbowman is offline
1.14 TB/1.01 TB/0.88
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Question Firewalled?

According to Dimeadozen.org I'm not firewalled, but according to thetradersden.org I am firewalled. I use BitTorrent, Windows Firewall, and a Linksys router. I forward port 10500, and I use a static IP address. I'm tired of looking at that red port number. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-02-23, 04:01 AM
STLBlues's Avatar
STLBlues STLBlues is offline
Seiwa-en
TTD VIP
515.69 GB/744.37 GB/1.44
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ozarks
Re: Firewalled?

I've got the same problem. In all the years I've been downloading, I've never had my Computer firewalled. Last Saturday, out of the blue, TTD started to show me in the red, along w/ my BitTorrent client (BitTornado) being yellow. No other sites have me as firewalled....any mods know what's up w/ this? Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-02-23, 05:37 AM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: Firewalled?

What does your cltmt say?

Green lights all the time for TTD torrents?
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-02-23, 01:23 PM
johnryanbowman's Avatar
johnryanbowman johnryanbowman is offline
1.14 TB/1.01 TB/0.88
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Question Re: Firewalled?

cltmt?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-02-23, 02:30 PM
johnryanbowman's Avatar
johnryanbowman johnryanbowman is offline
1.14 TB/1.01 TB/0.88
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Question Re: Firewalled?

Most TTD torrents run slowly in BitTorrent and it says that I'm probably firewalled (yellow). However, very few of them will show green.

I just did a test and I connected my modem directly to my computer, without using the router, and I turned off Windows Firewall. BitTorrent was still yellow, and my TTD port number was still red.

I've already done the NAT test and passed. So what's up with that red port number? Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-02-23, 02:56 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: Firewalled?

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnryanbowman
cltmt?
Meant client. Was feeding my daughter and typing with one hand...in the dark!
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-02-23, 02:58 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewalled?

What client are you guys using? And, if you are using one that allows you to go through just one port, do you have that enabled?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2006-02-23, 03:00 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: Firewalled?

Edit: Nevermind, here's Lynne!
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2006-02-23, 03:30 PM
johnryanbowman's Avatar
johnryanbowman johnryanbowman is offline
1.14 TB/1.01 TB/0.88
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Re: Firewalled?

I use BitTorrent. The port that it is using is the same port that I have forwarded. I don't think I can set it up to use only one port, but there is a checkbox that says "Enable Automatic Port Mapping (UPnP)." I don't know what that means.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2006-02-23, 04:25 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewalled?

So, you have forwarded a series of ports in your router and XP firewall (maybe five or so?) and you never have more than that amount of torrents running at once, right?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2006-02-23, 04:45 PM
johnryanbowman's Avatar
johnryanbowman johnryanbowman is offline
1.14 TB/1.01 TB/0.88
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Re: Firewalled?

I only run one torrent at a time, always.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2006-02-23, 05:54 PM
STLBlues's Avatar
STLBlues STLBlues is offline
Seiwa-en
TTD VIP
515.69 GB/744.37 GB/1.44
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ozarks
Re: Firewalled?

U2Lynne, I've always used BitTornado v0.3.9. My client has been yellow (only on TTD) since last Saturday. My speeds are fluctuating more now too.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2006-02-23, 07:08 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewalled?

This is getting even weirder if someone is saying that for them it has only been since Saturday. I know I haven't changed a thing tracker-wise (or even otherwise) on the site since Saturday. STLBlues, are you getting yellows on any torrent from this site, even well established ones? And are you showing up as firewalled here and not on other sites also?

For those of you having problems only showing up firewalled on TTD, what happens when you do a NAT check with a TTD torrent and then with a DIME (or other tracker) torrent? NAT check: http://btfaq.com/natcheck.pl Do you pass for a torrent from each site or only for the non-TTD site?
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2006-02-23, 07:56 PM
Simon's Avatar
Simon Simon is offline
C. Crows Seeder / Mp3 Hunter
6.50 GB/3.99 GB/0.61
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Malta (Europe)
Re: Firewalled?

Lynne,

I know this is not the right place for it but i didn't feel to open a new thread for it.

Ratios are not updating well also. Usually this happens when Username is not shown on top of IP but now sometimes ratios will not update even if Username is shown.


Regards
__________________
Simon
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2006-02-23, 07:58 PM
STLBlues's Avatar
STLBlues STLBlues is offline
Seiwa-en
TTD VIP
515.69 GB/744.37 GB/1.44
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ozarks
Re: Firewalled?

I'm getting the yellow light no matter what torrent I download from TTD. Even when I uploaded a torrent on Sunday. On any other site, including DIME, I have green lights and no red numbers. I tried that NAT check (I think I did it right) and it failed for a torrent from TTD, and from DIME. I don't know, pretty confusing. I guess I'll have to do more investiagating. Thanks so much for your help U2Lynne. I'm up for any more suggestions.

Also, as just stated above, I was also having problems w/ my ratio not moving.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
FIREWALLED - Buckeyedog Technobabble 19 2009-03-12 12:37 AM
Firewalled - canon Technobabble 1 2007-02-04 12:07 PM
Firewalled??? - dannyandamie Technobabble 1 2007-01-31 07:01 PM
there is no way i am firewalled.... - trip4life Technobabble 2 2007-01-25 04:08 PM
Firewalled? - wbaetz Technobabble 8 2007-01-11 05:33 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts