The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2004-12-20, 11:00 PM
Kush's Avatar
Kush Kush is offline
active taper
198.79 GB/239.51 GB/1.20
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost in the Pocono Mtns.
EAC burning question

I've been using EAC to burn audio cdr's. I have successfully set it up correctly. I haven't had any problems until a couple of days ago. When I used to burn cdr's the buffer almost always stayed full. Well, now its acting wacky. It seems to start burning full and then it keeps moving almost all the way down and then back to full and the process continues all the way through the entire burn of the disc. I've tried to slow down the burning speed, I tried 16x, 8x, 4x, etc... all with the same results. The buffer keeps moving in waves. My question is about buffer under-run. Is this considered buffer under-run? If so, I should turn it off, but how? I'm running Windows XP and I'm using EAC v0.95. Thanx in advance for the help.
__________________
The Grateful Dead... Rock 'n Roll for madmen.

Catch you on the flipside!

AKG SE 300 b (CK91/CK93) > Segue Dogstar Silver-Clad XLRs > Busman Transparency mod Tascam HD-P2 (24 bit 48 kHz)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2004-12-21, 12:20 AM
dorrcoq's Avatar
dorrcoq dorrcoq is offline
Champion of the Silent
TTD VIP
686.49 GB/4.56 TB/6.81
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: EAC burning question

even the EAC board on Yahoo suggests that EAC isn't the best for burning - use Nero or Feurio
__________________
DON'T MESSAGE ME FOR RE-SEEDS. I DO NOT DO THEM!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2004-12-21, 01:13 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
189.30 GB/594.78 GB/3.14
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York City
Re: EAC burning question

hmm... then you're stuck with using the combined read/write offset values which means that if you set up for ripping with EAC and burning exact copies with Nero or whatever then other people who attempt to burn exact copies (99% most likely) won't get them. Seems strange that EAC is acting up on you, I know that a lot of people have trouble burning with it but it works great on my two burners. Check the link to the coaster factory in my sig too.
__________________
Checksums Demystified | ask for help in Technobabble

thetradersden.org | ttd recommended free software/freeware webring
shntool tlh eac foobar2000 spek audacity cdwave vlc

Quote:
Originally posted by Franklin D. Roosevelt
So, first of all, let me assert my firm belief that the only thing we have to fear is...fear itself nameless, unreasoning, unjustified terror which paralyzes needed efforts to convert retreat into advance. In every dark hour of our national life a leadership of frankness and of vigor has met with that understanding and support of the people themselves which is essential to victory. And I am convinced that you will again give that support to leadership in these critical days.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2004-12-21, 02:26 AM
Kush's Avatar
Kush Kush is offline
active taper
198.79 GB/239.51 GB/1.20
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost in the Pocono Mtns.
Re: EAC burning question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Five
hmm... then you're stuck with using the combined read/write offset values which means that if you set up for ripping with EAC and burning exact copies with Nero or whatever then other people who attempt to burn exact copies (99% most likely) won't get them. Seems strange that EAC is acting up on you, I know that a lot of people have trouble burning with it but it works great on my two burners. Check the link to the coaster factory in my sig too.
It has been working fine since I downloaded it and configured EAC. I know that coaster factory link well, its in my favorites. Like I stated, I haven't changed anything since it was working properly. But now it seems to be acting up on me. Could it be a CDR burning drive issue. Mine has been overworked in the past 2 years, maybe its crapping out on me. How do I know when its time to get a new one?
__________________
The Grateful Dead... Rock 'n Roll for madmen.

Catch you on the flipside!

AKG SE 300 b (CK91/CK93) > Segue Dogstar Silver-Clad XLRs > Busman Transparency mod Tascam HD-P2 (24 bit 48 kHz)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2004-12-21, 02:34 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
189.30 GB/594.78 GB/3.14
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York City
Re: EAC burning question

I've only had one crap out on me and I could tell because all the audio cdr burns were full of clicks and pops. A new one couldn't hurt... I just got a CDR/RW burner for $50 CDN, the DVDR/RW+CDR/RW drive is $100 here. Maybe double-check that EAC likes it before you buy.
__________________
Checksums Demystified | ask for help in Technobabble

thetradersden.org | ttd recommended free software/freeware webring
shntool tlh eac foobar2000 spek audacity cdwave vlc

Quote:
Originally posted by Franklin D. Roosevelt
So, first of all, let me assert my firm belief that the only thing we have to fear is...fear itself nameless, unreasoning, unjustified terror which paralyzes needed efforts to convert retreat into advance. In every dark hour of our national life a leadership of frankness and of vigor has met with that understanding and support of the people themselves which is essential to victory. And I am convinced that you will again give that support to leadership in these critical days.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2004-12-21, 05:07 AM
Andy L Andy L is offline
13.48 GB/17.19 GB/1.27
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: EAC burning question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kush
I've been using EAC to burn audio cdr's. I have successfully set it up correctly. I haven't had any problems until a couple of days ago. When I used to burn cdr's the buffer almost always stayed full. Well, now its acting wacky. It seems to start burning full and then it keeps moving almost all the way down and then back to full and the process continues all the way through the entire burn of the disc. I've tried to slow down the burning speed, I tried 16x, 8x, 4x, etc... all with the same results. The buffer keeps moving in waves. My question is about buffer under-run. Is this considered buffer under-run? If so, I should turn it off, but how? I'm running Windows XP and I'm using EAC v0.95. Thanx in advance for the help.
Mine does that too.. it depends on what file format you're burning. If I burn APEs directly to CD-R, then the buffer will move in waves. If I burn WAVs, then it won't. I haven't tried any other formats. On my drive, it's not buffer under-run and the discs sound fine, but I'd give them a listen just to make sure.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2004-12-21, 02:32 PM
Kush's Avatar
Kush Kush is offline
active taper
198.79 GB/239.51 GB/1.20
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost in the Pocono Mtns.
Re: EAC burning question

Crap... I just talked to my buddy who I gave a batch of CDR's to and he told me that they were full of clicks/pops. This was the batch that the trouble started with. I guess I'm in the market for a new burner.
__________________
The Grateful Dead... Rock 'n Roll for madmen.

Catch you on the flipside!

AKG SE 300 b (CK91/CK93) > Segue Dogstar Silver-Clad XLRs > Busman Transparency mod Tascam HD-P2 (24 bit 48 kHz)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2004-12-22, 03:22 AM
Karst's Avatar
Karst Karst is offline
Utterly Bastard Groovy
73.05 GB/91.89 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Belfast
Re: EAC burning question

Could it possibly be the discs that you are using?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2004-12-22, 02:31 PM
Kush's Avatar
Kush Kush is offline
active taper
198.79 GB/239.51 GB/1.20
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost in the Pocono Mtns.
Re: EAC burning question

I doubt it. They are Fujifilm 80 minute CD-R's made in Japan.
__________________
The Grateful Dead... Rock 'n Roll for madmen.

Catch you on the flipside!

AKG SE 300 b (CK91/CK93) > Segue Dogstar Silver-Clad XLRs > Busman Transparency mod Tascam HD-P2 (24 bit 48 kHz)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2004-12-22, 08:34 PM
jcrab66's Avatar
jcrab66 jcrab66 is offline
We all walk the Long Road....
75.63 GB/483.42 GB/6.39
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Earth
Re: EAC burning question

I cant even burn with EAC anymore due to some stupid cue sheet error that started popping up on me when i would go to start the burn. I just use it for ripping now, Nero for burning...
__________________
If you want to see a damn good live show check out THIS band.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2004-12-26, 01:13 PM
hirsute's Avatar
hirsute hirsute is offline
The Hirsute Swine
38.68 GB/68.25 GB/1.76
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: EAC burning question

I've had a similar problem twice. Both times it turned out to be Windows changing my IDE channel from DMA mode to PIO. Microsoft has pretty much admitted this is a windows problem and issued a hot fix. This has been rolled into XP SP2 also.

Basically what happens is you get a few drive errors and Windows downgrades your IDE channel to PIO. Of course PIO is to slow to keep up with your burning software so you get buffer under-runs.

You can check to see if this is your problem by:

1. Right click My Computer
2. Select Manage
3. Double click "Device Manager"
4. Double click "IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers"
5. Double click "Secondary IDE Channel" (and/or Primary Channel)
6. Select the "Advanced Settings" tab

If your Transfer Mode is set to PIO only or you Current Transfer type is PIO Mode you have some work to do.

Here's a couple links:
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=817472
http://www.michna.com/kb/WxDMA.htm
or you can simply do a Google search for "PIO Only", you'll get lots of hits.

Both times I've had this problem I've had to uninstall the IDE channel. Worked fine for me but your mileage my vary!
__________________
The Hirsute Swine
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2004-12-26, 03:34 PM
OU812's Avatar
OU812 OU812 is offline
11.71 GB/19.88 GB/1.70
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: EAC burning question

Memory....shut everything down that is running in the background
and try burning again...If the buffer stays up then the you found your problem.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Kush
I've been using EAC to burn audio cdr's. I have successfully set it up correctly. I haven't had any problems until a couple of days ago. When I used to burn cdr's the buffer almost always stayed full. Well, now its acting wacky. It seems to start burning full and then it keeps moving almost all the way down and then back to full and the process continues all the way through the entire burn of the disc. I've tried to slow down the burning speed, I tried 16x, 8x, 4x, etc... all with the same results. The buffer keeps moving in waves. My question is about buffer under-run. Is this considered buffer under-run? If so, I should turn it off, but how? I'm running Windows XP and I'm using EAC v0.95. Thanx in advance for the help.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2004-12-26, 05:03 PM
Kush's Avatar
Kush Kush is offline
active taper
198.79 GB/239.51 GB/1.20
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost in the Pocono Mtns.
Re: EAC burning question

I never burn with anything else running in the background. I just ordered 512mb more of memory for my system; its on the way. I will wait until I install more memory before I try burning again. Thanx for the suggestion.
__________________
The Grateful Dead... Rock 'n Roll for madmen.

Catch you on the flipside!

AKG SE 300 b (CK91/CK93) > Segue Dogstar Silver-Clad XLRs > Busman Transparency mod Tascam HD-P2 (24 bit 48 kHz)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2004-12-26, 05:35 PM
OU812's Avatar
OU812 OU812 is offline
11.71 GB/19.88 GB/1.70
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: EAC burning question

What is your CPU % usage??



Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
dvd region burning question - gregman05 Technobabble 2 2008-09-29 04:26 PM
Burning software question - europhan Technobabble 3 2008-04-28 10:37 AM
question on burning .flac's - tyskater Technobabble 6 2005-08-20 01:04 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts