The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 2006-01-18, 08:37 PM
cleantone cleantone is offline
248.10 GB/154.50 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

Anyone kow the difference between (Mac OSX) setting your IPv4 with "DHCP with manual IP" and just "manual"? I used to have the DHCP "DHCP with manual IP" but this tutorial (which I have used before) says to pick manual.

It really isn't helping that there seems to be some local issue due to a big storm that came through. Something still is not right on the mac side, maybe it is the storm, but probably not.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #17  
Old 2006-01-18, 08:51 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
467.74 GB/2.01 TB/4.40
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

Well, we have five computers at home and all five I've given manual IPs. It's just easier. I *think* if you pick DHCP with manual IP, then certain IPs are open for you to set manually, but then a range is left just for the router to assign dynamically.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #18  
Old 2006-01-18, 08:55 PM
Unidecker's Avatar
Unidecker Unidecker is offline
TTD VIP
2.02 TB/19.07 TB/9.43
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: on the dancefloor
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

ipv6 is best imho also Cleantone...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #19  
Old 2006-01-18, 08:59 PM
cleantone cleantone is offline
248.10 GB/154.50 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

"port between the 49152 - 65535 range. On each computer."

Any reason these numbers as apposed to the 6881 range? I should just pick one number per computer (or two to run two torrents?). Does it matter what number?

This intermittent connection problem is pissing me off, espessially trying to get this shit done.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #20  
Old 2006-01-18, 09:08 PM
livedead13's Avatar
livedead13 livedead13 is offline
37.97 GB/36.00 GB/0.95
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

Well, if you are suspicious that your isp may be throttling your bandwidth, the first ports they are going to cap are 6881-6889, the original bt ports. By picking a random number to use as your port, it is much less likely that they will be able to cap it. It does not have any affect in terms of connecting to other peers as to what port you use. Ports between 49152 - 65535 are not assigned by IANA, so opening up a port within that range will not disrupt anything. (at least thats what I've read, and it seems to be working out for me.)

Make sure you get a client that uses only one port to run all torrents, and put that on both of your computers. Then you must use a different port for each computer. It does'nt matter which one, just make sure they are open in your router and software firewall.

Last edited by livedead13; 2006-01-18 at 09:13 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #21  
Old 2006-01-18, 09:25 PM
cleantone cleantone is offline
248.10 GB/154.50 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

That makes sense. I am probably gonna have to drop this till the local problem is fixed. The internet keeps cutting out everyone couple minutes. I assume it was the storm cause when I called Verizon to have the test the line the automated message said New York and Amherst folks might have trouble connecting and I live 20 miles from Amherst. I'm just getting too frustrated waiting for it to come back so I can post or try something.

I changed the ports on my Mac forwarding to 49152 and on both Tomato and Azureas but still showed up RED here. For some reason my login name didn't show up on the torrent I tried to connect to. My IP did but the "cleantone" was missing.

A big thanks for trying to help once again. I hope to hell I can figure this stuff out again. It worked fine in the past, thats one thing that sucks the most.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #22  
Old 2006-01-18, 11:55 PM
Racerx2004's Avatar
Racerx2004 Racerx2004 is offline
118.31 GB/269.09 GB/2.27
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

I'm in the same situation as cleantone is ,I have tried to forward my ports but my port still shows red.
My set up is : WINDOWS XP PRO (SP2 ) , WESTTELL VERSALINK 327, DSL (verizon),BITCOMET 0.60, Norton av (ports config to allow bitcomet).
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #23  
Old 2006-01-19, 10:57 AM
cleantone cleantone is offline
248.10 GB/154.50 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

I'm am so bent. I seem to have gotten the PC fixed. I tested by connecting to a torrent here and my 6881 was black. I let it run for a few minutes and the speed never got above a couple k/B. The part that is really getting me bent is I can't seem to connect to the torrent I really want, that TV show. I set the PC to connect to 6881 and 6882. The only thing I am not 100% sure about is the DNS server numbers for the static IP. I plugged in the numbers that ipconfig showed me but it was 192.168.1.1 so that doesn't seem right. Would this be hanging me up? Do I need to call verizon to get the DNS numbers? If not is there a way to?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #24  
Old 2006-01-19, 11:28 AM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
467.74 GB/2.01 TB/4.40
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

192.168.1.1 is usually the IP you put into your browser to get to your router configuration. When you do ipconfig, it will tell you your IP addy (usually 192.168.1.xxx), your subnet mask (255.255.255.0 or similar) and your default gateway (192.168.1.1).

To get the IP addy for your Mac, go to System Preferences > Network It should say what your IP is right next to the Built-in Ethernet heading.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #25  
Old 2006-01-19, 11:47 AM
cleantone cleantone is offline
248.10 GB/154.50 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

Quote:
192.168.1.1 is usually the IP you put into your browser to get to your router configuration. When you do ipconfig, it will tell you your IP addy (usually 192.168.1.xxx), your subnet mask (255.255.255.0 or similar) and your default gateway (192.168.1.1).
Yeah, I do know that. That is why it seems weird that when I did ipconfig /all it told me the DNS numbers where also 192.168.1.1.

Would this be the hangup? I had called verizon before to get DNS numbers and still had them plugged into my mac. Would I want to use taht number on the PC? All I know is now that shit should be configured right I can't even connect on my mac and the PC doesn't seem right either.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #26  
Old 2006-01-19, 12:01 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
467.74 GB/2.01 TB/4.40
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

Well, the IP addy you see in ipconfig is something that you manually set on your PC, so it sounds like you set it wrong when you manually set it.

You want to use the same DNS entries (this is separate from your IP addys and not really related) on all your computers.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #27  
Old 2006-01-19, 01:11 PM
cleantone cleantone is offline
248.10 GB/154.50 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

I just got off the phone with verizon tech to figure out why after the storm the connection was dropping out. We reset the modem. So I have a bit of a blank slate. I did find out that in my network connections the DNS numbers were not right and have plugged in the correct ones. Now she told me that the account I have "non buisness" is not set up for a static IP. Or does not support a static IP. Is this just BS? I am damn posotive that I had a static IP setup when this was all configured properly with the old PC and the old OS. She said it needs to be dynamic for the IP changing.

I can't remember where, when, or how I got the IP numbers I got but I think they are right. The PC is 192.168.1.## and the mac is the smae but one digit higher.

Should I try the static IP again now that we have reset configurations? The connection hasn't dropped out so I guess there was (and maybe still is) a modem issue after last nights storm. Seems fine so far though.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #28  
Old 2006-01-19, 01:33 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
467.74 GB/2.01 TB/4.40
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

You do not need a static IP. I don't have one. When you read things like portforward.com and they talk about having a static IP, usually they are talking about having a static *local* IP which is the one that looks like 192.168.1.xxx. So, if you are giving your computers static local IPs, then you need to turn off DHCP in your router. If DHCP is turned on, then it will give your computers a local IP and it may be different everytime you turn on your computer.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #29  
Old 2006-01-19, 01:36 PM
cleantone cleantone is offline
248.10 GB/154.50 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

Thanks (yet again) so I should go to my network connection properties and switch "use the following IP address:" and go back to "obtain automatically"?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #30  
Old 2006-01-19, 02:04 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
467.74 GB/2.01 TB/4.40
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: port forwarding help (WinXP/Versalink327W) PLEASE?

For your Mac, in your Network configuration, you should have Configure set to Manually, your IP Address set to 192.168.1.###, Subnet Mask set to 255.255.255.0, Router set to 192.168.1.1, DNS Servers set to whatever your ISP told you. Then, in your router, forward your ports for your mac to 192.168.1.###
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Port Forwarding - James Reed Technobabble 1 2007-06-28 12:47 PM
Port forwarding help please - deadone Technobabble 9 2007-06-07 10:23 AM
Help with Port Forwarding.... - kILLURIDOL Technobabble 2 2007-05-20 11:31 AM
I'm sorry: Another thread about port forwarding on a Mac - reece Technobabble 8 2006-12-21 10:49 PM
Help with Port Forwarding... - undeath Technobabble 65 2005-06-17 08:33 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts