The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-01-07, 01:20 AM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
What Router Do You Use With What Torrent Program?

Im search of a new wireless router that wont freakin drop my connection when I run Azerues


Im using a Belkin right now, and all my ports are forwarded, static IP, blah blah blah and it still drops my connection.

I know the Linksys router was doing the same thing for NetYuppie.


Any ideas? Help?


How bout them Netgears?


Thanks
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-01-07, 02:37 AM
Chachi420's Avatar
Chachi420 Chachi420 is offline
db.etree.org/chachi420
TTD VIP
206.73 GB/1.15 TB/5.72
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: What Router Do You Use With What Torrent Program?

I've been using linksys wrt54g ver 4.20.7 (upgraded firmware) and absolutely no problems whatsoever....took a little while to get the securtiy setup, but now that I know how to do it it's pretty easy to do. Works great, and wireless is the only way to go with a laptop....
__________________
"dance to Jah music, dance....forget your sorrows and dance...forget your troubles and dance....forget your sickness and dance....forget your weakness and dance..." ~B.Marley

"If your share ratio is less than 1.0, then please offer b&ps and/or freebies to give back to the TTD community" ~Chachi
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-01-07, 02:50 AM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: What Router Do You Use With What Torrent Program?

What client are u using?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-01-07, 02:52 AM
Chachi420's Avatar
Chachi420 Chachi420 is offline
db.etree.org/chachi420
TTD VIP
206.73 GB/1.15 TB/5.72
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: What Router Do You Use With What Torrent Program?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisistoto
What client are u using?
azureus 2.3.0.6
I wouldn't use anything else since it kicks so much ass!
__________________
"dance to Jah music, dance....forget your sorrows and dance...forget your troubles and dance....forget your sickness and dance....forget your weakness and dance..." ~B.Marley

"If your share ratio is less than 1.0, then please offer b&ps and/or freebies to give back to the TTD community" ~Chachi
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-01-07, 07:48 AM
PyRo UK
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: What Router Do You Use With What Torrent Program?

I'm using Linksys with BitLord. No problems at all.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-01-07, 10:55 AM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: What Router Do You Use With What Torrent Program?

I use Azureus (2.3.0.6) and Airport as my router.

Airport is so easy to use it's ridiculous.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-01-07, 02:04 PM
shopkin's Avatar
shopkin shopkin is offline
The Happy Guy
558.64 GB/1.09 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SJC SO-CAL
Re: What Router Do You Use With What Torrent Program?

i had a diconnecting problem awhile back......
i use bit torrent OSX and i NOW have a 2wire router...everything works great...now. BUT awhile back, after about6-8 months of belkin router use, i started to loose connection everynight....i would get up in the morning and all my torrents would be stopped and i would have to restart the computer to surf the net and restart the torrents... i went round and round with belkin,who said it was my ISP, and my ISP who said it was my router
so i ended up caving in and spending another 180.00 to get the 2wire router that my ISP was offering so when it didnt work i could tell them to come out and fix it...since they would not do anything since i was using a third party
router..... well i got it hooked up and sure enough it worked for awhile then started to drop connection again..... so long story even longer...it turned out to be my DSL line out on the telephone pole outside the house..
so some guy in a yahoo DSL truck came out the next day, said my lines on the pole were all f'd up but should be fine now.
havent had a problem since....but i did go thru a couple of belkin routers...
that were perfectly fine owell

thought i would share my story....hope it helps someone....

__________________
Kill Your Ego!!
Catch The K-Waves

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2006-01-07, 03:57 PM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: What Router Do You Use With What Torrent Program?

Hm, there used to be problems with my SBC DSL line outside, but it sshould be fixed now.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2006-01-08, 12:19 AM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: What Router Do You Use With What Torrent Program?

ok i got the LinkSys wrt54G......all seems to be well so far. thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2006-01-08, 04:26 PM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: What Router Do You Use With What Torrent Program?

woot! I have it made it through the night with no lost connection



But even with my ports forwarded, static ips, im still yella with azereus.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2006-01-08, 04:57 PM
livedead13's Avatar
livedead13 livedead13 is offline
37.97 GB/36.00 GB/0.95
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: What Router Do You Use With What Torrent Program?

I use a Linksys WRT54G, and for the most part it works fine. Every once in a while it will just disappear and my laptop won't see it. Once that happens, it will continue to happen for anywhere from 10 minutes to 24 hours, before it starts behaving normally again. It only happens periodicly, and it's quite annoying.

I use ABC as my client and really dig it. I have tried several others that were not to my liking. I did like Azeureus, but my laptop is too slow for it.

thisistoto, sorry you still can't get your torrents to work. Maybe you have not done everything just right? It took me a while to figure out that the static ip had to be outside the "Maximum Number of DHCP Users" range, so that might be the problem.

The default starting ip address on the Linksys is 192.168.1.100 and the default "Maximum Number of DHCP Users" is 50. Just make your static ip 192.168.1.151 and your good to go.

If thats not the problem, well then good luck to ya.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2006-01-08, 05:10 PM
feralicious's Avatar
feralicious feralicious is offline
dare to discover
63.44 GB/133.90 GB/2.11
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: occasionally
Re: What Router Do You Use With What Torrent Program?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shopkin
i had a diconnecting problem awhile back......
i use bit torrent OSX and i NOW have a 2wire router...everything works great...now. BUT awhile back, after about6-8 months of belkin router use, i started to loose connection everynight....i would get up in the morning and all my torrents would be stopped and i would have to restart the computer to surf the net and restart the torrents... i went round and round with belkin,who said it was my ISP, and my ISP who said it was my router
so i ended up caving in and spending another 180.00 to get the 2wire router that my ISP was offering so when it didnt work i could tell them to come out and fix it...since they would not do anything since i was using a third party
router..... well i got it hooked up and sure enough it worked for awhile then started to drop connection again..... so long story even longer...it turned out to be my DSL line out on the telephone pole outside the house..
so some guy in a yahoo DSL truck came out the next day, said my lines on the pole were all f'd up but should be fine now.
havent had a problem since....but i did go thru a couple of belkin routers...
that were perfectly fine owell

thought i would share my story....hope it helps someone....

Thanks for the story. It was very nice.
__________________
feralicious goodies
Don't get even.
Get odd.

....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2006-01-10, 07:04 PM
sadu sadu is offline
789.83 GB/484.60 GB/0.61
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Re: What Router Do You Use With What Torrent Program?

Are you using 100% of your upload bandwith? I have had this problem when using 100%.

Right click on the bottom right corner @ the "U:" and you can set your global up.

email sent as well
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2006-01-10, 07:50 PM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: What Router Do You Use With What Torrent Program?

Im seeing green!



No dropped connections, im green across the board. Im so fucking happy now, espically dealing with that shit Belkin. Not only would that thing drop connections CONSTANTLY, but I could NEVER get my ports forwarded right.

I opened it up as it just felt like a piece of shit, and sure enough, inside it was. Compared to the linksys that I have now, which feels like a tank, that belkin was child's toy.


sadu email sent as well too.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
lan card or router? - ep620 Technobabble 1 2007-11-22 06:32 AM
Bit Torrent Program - hebrew assassin Technobabble 2 2007-07-08 11:56 PM
"Converting" A Regular Router Into A Wirless Router? - thisistoto Technobabble 1 2005-10-11 04:08 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts