The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-12-15, 06:20 AM
aegert's Avatar
aegert aegert is offline
Take what you want
220.17 GB/720.13 GB/3.27
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ny
Question FLAC and SHN to mp3

Couldn't fing a thread regarding this...

Let me first state I would never post or trade MP3's.....

As most of us I have an iPod. I would like to go directly from lossless to lossy ala ACC or MP3 so I can skip the wav step. Has anyone heard of an app to do this or is there a 'codec' for diskwriting these lossy files for foobar?

thanks

a

'Some... call me Tim'
__________________
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-12-15, 07:06 AM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: FLAC and SHN to mp3

http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ead.php?t=1751
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-12-15, 08:01 AM
Shawn=)'s Avatar
Shawn=) Shawn=) is offline
235.83 GB/133.57 GB/0.57
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: IL
Re: FLAC and SHN to mp3

i'm using the dbPower Amp program to convert shn flac etc to wav or mp3.. it wasn't freeware, but has worked nicely. I also used to rip cd direct to mp3 as well... i rip to 256 kps or 320 kps for higher quality.

for standard CD rip to wav, I use exact audio copy

shawn
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-12-15, 09:01 AM
aegert's Avatar
aegert aegert is offline
Take what you want
220.17 GB/720.13 GB/3.27
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ny
Red face Re: FLAC and SHN to mp3

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMamba
I would like to use Foobar as in 5's post but as in my post there is no selection on 'make a new' discwriting conversion for MP3... Is there a codec for MP3 that needs to be included or is there another on the list of choices that is MP3 but I am not realizing it?

thanks

a
__________________
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-12-15, 10:06 AM
brimstone brimstone is offline
60.99 GB/384.40 GB/6.30
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: FLAC and SHN to mp3

Get LAME and set up a commandline encoder in foobar. There should be some there by default so just open one and set the correct path, parameters, and display name. What parameters to use depends on the quality you want and what version of LAME you've got. Look over at hydrogen audio for tips on what to use:

http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index....coder_Settings
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-12-16, 10:28 AM
aegert's Avatar
aegert aegert is offline
Take what you want
220.17 GB/720.13 GB/3.27
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ny
Re: FLAC and SHN to mp3

Quote:
Originally Posted by brimstone
Get LAME and set up a commandline encoder in foobar. There should be some there by default so just open one and set the correct path, parameters, and display name. What parameters to use depends on the quality you want and what version of LAME you've got. Look over at hydrogen audio for tips on what to use:

http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index....coder_Settings

Thanks
That did it Down loaded lame and I am a go... thanks

a
__________________
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts