The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-11-30, 03:39 AM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Putting a VCD on a DVD?

How can I go about doing this in the simplest way?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-11-30, 07:08 AM
ffooky ffooky is offline
10.91 GB/10.56 GB/0.97
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Putting a VCD on a DVD?

I'm presuming you have at least one Mac as you were asking about defragging recently.

The easiest way if you have Toast 7.* is to pop your VCD in the drive and either drag out the AVSEQ**.DAT files (found in the MPEGAV folder) and rename them to .mpg or fire up Toast and hit cmd-I. In the bottom partition (Details), the track(s) with the QuickTime icon are the MPEG1 files on your VCD. Select the Tracks you want and hit Save As. The drag & rename method will only work with VCD's, you have to use the Toast extraction with the files within SVCD's.

Once you have enough tracks/movies to make a fullish DVD, you can name them appropriately, go to the Video tab, select DVD-Video and drag 'em all in. You can create a menu, edit the titles and then either allow Toast to encode to DVD spec with its default settings or choose your own parameters by selecting the Custom button and hitting More. I suggest you try a few settings and create a disc image which you can then view with DVD Player so you can get a disc space/quality balance you're happy with.
__________________
Two tracks for a desert island:

Black Keys - I Got Mine
Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-11-30, 03:28 PM
SundayDriver's Avatar
SundayDriver SundayDriver is offline
72826
76.06 GB/132.69 GB/1.74
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the swamps of Jersey
Re: Putting a VCD on a DVD?

I hope this is for personal enjoyment and not for trading.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-12-01, 12:23 PM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Putting a VCD on a DVD?

thanks for ur help
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-12-01, 01:21 PM
lingusmiles's Avatar
lingusmiles lingusmiles is offline
180.51 GB/357.95 GB/1.98
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: frederick, md
Re: Putting a VCD on a DVD?

actually, mpeg-1 files do not need to be reencoded to put on dvd.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-12-01, 01:33 PM
hiding
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Putting a VCD on a DVD?

Yeah, don't trade DVDs from VCD. That's like turning an mp3 into flac.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-12-01, 03:02 PM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: Putting a VCD on a DVD?

This info is useful if your DVD player doesn't play vcds. ffooky's info was very helpful to me because that was something that I wanted to do a long time ago but forgot; I hope I can find that disc now....

Toto wouldn't trade anything VCD > DVD without making a note of it. I got your back bro.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-12-01, 03:31 PM
p_k's Avatar
p_k p_k is offline
Rebel_Scum
1.08 TB/317.23 GB/0.29
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lake County , CA
Re: Putting a VCD on a DVD?

try... for windows

bin/cue -> mpeg
http://www.vcdgear.com/download.html

then render that mpeg1 to mpeg2
then make yur dvd.....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2005-12-01, 03:32 PM
cmaz's Avatar
cmaz cmaz is offline
Now he's just a bag of garbage
324.22 GB/816.62 GB/2.52
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere in time
Re: Putting a VCD on a DVD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lingusmiles
actually, mpeg-1 files do not need to be reencoded to put on dvd.
If no reencoding is necessary, how does one go about burning it on a dvd so that it will play on a dvd player? Do you just burn the mpg file and it will play?
__________________
--
chris

----------Nothing is Real!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2005-12-01, 04:03 PM
lingusmiles's Avatar
lingusmiles lingusmiles is offline
180.51 GB/357.95 GB/1.98
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: frederick, md
Re: Putting a VCD on a DVD?

you just need authoring software, dvd architect for example. if the mpeg 1 file is 352x480 it should not need to be rendered to mpeg 2. i used to do this with television shows that i had in vcd format. you can fit like 6 hours or so of vcd footage on a dvd.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2005-12-01, 05:27 PM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Putting a VCD on a DVD?

lingus, I was asking becuase there are 2 phish shows that I have that are on vcd (your probably know which ones ) and I just wanted to put them onto a DVD just for my own viewing.


ie 4.15.04.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2005-12-01, 08:46 PM
spacejam1 spacejam1 is offline
26.87 GB/18.55 GB/0.69
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Putting a VCD on a DVD?

Maybe someone can help me here. I converted a vcd to svcd. Everything went fine except I couldn't tell any difference in the quality at all! I figured that the svcd would have a better pic then the vcd. Did I do something wrong or what.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2005-12-02, 12:08 AM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: Putting a VCD on a DVD?

If you have a VCD you can't "upgrade" to SVCD by converting. That's like trying to go mp3 > FLAC. With these kind of conversions you can only go "down" in quality and not "up".
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2005-12-02, 12:20 AM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Putting a VCD on a DVD?

Would I be able to do this in a less crazy program (ie DVD Architect) and somethign more simpler like Toast or another mac program?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2005-12-02, 12:29 AM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: Putting a VCD on a DVD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thisistoto
Would I be able to do this in a less crazy program (ie DVD Architect) and somethign more simpler like Toast or another mac program?
ffooky's post only uses Toast. Lay off the pipe man.

I'll probably try that this weekend if I can find the VCD.

Oh that pipe comment is a joke in case you don't get my humor.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
? About Putting DVDs on iPod - rherron Technobabble 11 2007-01-02 11:43 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts