The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-11-09, 12:45 PM
chewie420 chewie420 is offline
978.19 GB/866.57 GB/0.89
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
capturing screen shots????

does anybody know if there is there an easy way to capture screen shots/ single frames from dvds to use in making covers? if there are programs for this, is there any good free ones? i know you can do it in tmpge for making menus, but when i try to open vob files in tmpge, it says it doesn't recognize the formats. one more thing, is there a way to make a menu with nero? i can't seem to find any. thanks, chewie
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-11-09, 12:52 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
ense et aratro
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: capturing screen shots????

screen caprture progs: many free ones, for PC i like Gadwin PrintScreen http://www.gadwin.com/printscreen/

Nero will make a menu in theory, but they're pretty much shite IMO...very basic templates, and i don't think you can import a pic file and use it as yer base layer
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
Basics of EQing

"A man is none the less a slave because he is allowed to choose a new master once in a term of years."
- Lysander Spooner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-11-09, 12:54 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: capturing screen shots????

Media Player Classic is pretty good for spitting out single frames...
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-11-09, 04:59 PM
Roger Daltrey's Avatar
Roger Daltrey Roger Daltrey is offline
64.60 GB/42.60 GB/0.66
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: capturing screen shots????

I use my Nero 6 Ultra edition....that's the only way I know how to make them. I tried using the print screen button and pasting it on a Microsoft Paint document, but all it does is play the entire video on that file lol. If I cut the dvd off, the file will just be a black screen. On Nero, I just take the VOB file, and just add it like i'm making my own custom dvd, and go to edit it, and just click the capture frame button. Works fine for me.
__________________
My live recordings
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-11-10, 08:14 AM
quibbs0's Avatar
quibbs0 quibbs0 is offline
201.57 GB/503.56 GB/2.50
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Re: capturing screen shots????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Daltrey
I tried using the print screen button and pasting it on a Microsoft Paint document, but all it does is play the entire video on that file lol.
That's what I was gonna suggest. I never tried but I assumed it would work as it does with pretty much everything. You say it plays the video in Paint?

I'm quite sure I'm confused.

Those headies must be catching up to me.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-11-10, 09:12 AM
yeltzin_4
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: capturing screen shots????

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewie420
does anybody know if there is there an easy way to capture screen shots/ single frames from dvds to use in making covers? if there are programs for this, is there any good free ones?
PowerDVD allows you to capture screen shots as BMP files. You can download a trial version from http://www.cyberlink.com/ - it's not free though.

VideoLAN is an open source media player that also allows you to save a screen shot from your video. http://www.videolan.org/ It's free.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-11-10, 10:11 AM
lastepic's Avatar
lastepic lastepic is offline
256.15 GB/348.70 GB/1.36
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: capturing screen shots????

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewie420
does anybody know if there is there an easy way to capture screen shots/ single frames from dvds to use in making covers? if there are programs for this, is there any good free ones? i know you can do it in tmpge for making menus, but when i try to open vob files in tmpge, it says it doesn't recognize the formats. one more thing, is there a way to make a menu with nero? i can't seem to find any. thanks, chewie

Screengrabs off DVD-easiest way is use your software DVD player- most hace a screen capture function. I've got Power DVD as my player and you just get to the frame you want then hit the camera icon, then post it into your photo manipulation software (i.e. Paint Shop Pro/Photoshop..etc..etc..), then save it as a jpeg.

On the menu thing- you don't say which TMPGenc program you've got- I'm going to guess its the TMPGenc Plus program (i.e. the MPEG encoder) - that does not do any DVD authoring, for that, they do TMPGenc DVD Author- that makes good standard menus, but also allows you to get as creative as you want
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-11-11, 02:05 PM
Roger Daltrey's Avatar
Roger Daltrey Roger Daltrey is offline
64.60 GB/42.60 GB/0.66
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: capturing screen shots????

Quote:
Originally Posted by quibbs0
That's what I was gonna suggest. I never tried but I assumed it would work as it does with pretty much everything. You say it plays the video in Paint?

I'm quite sure I'm confused.

Those headies must be catching up to me.
Yeah, I used Print Screen while I was playing a dvd on Windows Media Player...then paused the dvd...went to Paint and pasted the picture there and saved the file. When I went to look at the file, it just shows the dvd like it's playing on Media Player. If you turn off the dvd, the file will just turn into a black screen. Kinda wierd haha
__________________
My live recordings
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2005-11-11, 02:24 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: capturing screen shots????

yeah, I think that's directshow or something... the black in the window is almost black, and anywhere that specific colour occurs the video will show thru. That's why I use mpc for screencaps.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
ISO: Blink 182 Pro-Shots - Melll ISO - In Search Of... 1 2008-01-10 12:33 AM
how to post screen shots... - bigwurock Technobabble 7 2006-03-18 01:17 PM
Taking screen shots - wss79 Technobabble 5 2006-02-01 04:43 PM
are these shots mp3?? - chunga1 Lossy or Lossless? 27 2005-10-18 02:38 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts