The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-11-02, 11:42 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Computer suddenly has a cut in internet speed.

About a month ago, I was browsing on the internet and I lost the connection. That was on my iMac. My PC was fine. I thought that was weird but unplugged the cable and plugged it back in and I was fine. That happened about five or six times in the last month until today. Today, when I went to unplug/plug it back in, it wouldn't come back.

For the last couple of days, when I've been been downloading (on the mac), I've noticed that my upload/download has suddenly reduced. I've especially noticed it when trying to just seed - there will be several people needing to download, but even though I have the computer set to upload at max, it is only uploading at about 1/10 of what I know it can. And, that is at max, it goes from 0 to max and back again.

Anyway, when it wouldn't come back today until I rebooted, I finally did a speed test and was told I was downloading at 280 kb/s and uploading at 180 kb/s. I did the same test (right after) on my PC and got a download of 2.5 Mb/s and an upload of 480 kb/s. I can also see on my hub that I am not 'connecting'.

Yes, I've tried other (manual) IPs. Yes, I've tried plugging directly into the internet (without the hub). Yes, I've repaired permissions (hardly any had to be done). Yes, I've tried Safari and IE, too (I normally use firefox). I've done everything except a clean install, which is what I will do tomorrow.

I've just never heard of something like this before and I'm baffled.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-11-03, 07:07 AM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: Computer suddenly has a cut in internet speed.

Have you tried a Virus Scan and/or Adware scan on the Mac?

That's the only other thing I can think of. Had similar problems a couple of years ago - my connection would really slow down when I was doing any online gaming. Downloaded and ran Adaware on my PC and that cleaned up a lot of crap and seemed to alleviate the problem.
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-11-03, 08:59 AM
Neilyboy Neilyboy is offline
604.27 GB/3.69 TB/6.26
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Computer suddenly has a cut in internet speed.

Since its a rare beast to pickup a virus on your MAC (not impossible however) but my guess is (if you have a windows based PC in the house\on the same network) your winblows pc has the virus. Which, is causing (in a sense) a DoS attack on your own network (Denial of Service). Eating up your bandwidth and at times totally dropping your connection.

just my two cents and im probably wrong but its my best guess.

Neil
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-11-03, 01:11 PM
ffooky ffooky is offline
14.55 GB/14.61 GB/1.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Computer suddenly has a cut in internet speed.

Next time you have the connection problem, I'd open up the Console and look for anything suspicious there. Try removing and reinserting your ethernet cable with Console open (I'm presuming you connect to your hub via that) and then see what the Console logs as your connection is restored.

Google any phrases that look evil...I've found this pretty useful in the past.
__________________
Two tracks for a desert island:

Black Keys - I Got Mine
Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-11-04, 01:42 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: Computer suddenly has a cut in internet speed.

Have you considered that this might be a hardware problem? Maybe switching your ethernet card will do the trick...
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-11-04, 02:14 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Computer suddenly has a cut in internet speed.

Actually, I do believe it is a hardware problem -> the hub I was plugged into! I'm now plugged directly into the router and I'm running just fine. My son had a LAN party last weekend and they borrowed the hub and when we got it back, it didn't work at first. So, lots of changing this, changing that, finally brought it back to life but it appears to not be too crazy about my Mac. It doesn't mind the PC at all, but is prejudice against my Mac. So, this weekend (perhaps today) I will be getting a new hub.

(Meanwhile, my Mac is running so nicely since I did a total clean install yesterday. I'm reinstalling the applications that I know I need and getting things back to normal. The first thing I installed was firefox, the second thing was Azureus. I've got my priorities straight!)
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-11-04, 02:53 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: Computer suddenly has a cut in internet speed.



Cool.
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Suddenly I can't edit my thread title - Salva Veritate Site Announcements & Suggestions 9 2009-12-20 04:59 PM
What computer hardware/software to use to get cassete to computer? - mauserman Technobabble 52 2009-01-07 09:45 PM
suddenly cannot connect from home, still can from work - aikox2 Site Announcements & Suggestions 19 2007-11-29 09:30 PM
Suddenly I am FIREWALLED: What gives? HELP! - dancolostate Technobabble 12 2006-05-03 09:02 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts