The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2015-08-16, 09:50 AM
boobylops boobylops is offline
572.81 GB/0.99 TB/1.77
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Struggling to remove firewall

Hi,
I have followed all the instructions in the posts I have seen on here but am still firewalled.
I am using windows xp, utorrent 2.2.1 and bt home hub3.McAfee Virus Protection.
Could somebody offer any advice please ?

Last edited by boobylops; 2015-08-16 at 09:55 AM. Reason: missed out anti-virus
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2015-08-16, 10:49 AM
JackDog's Avatar
JackDog JackDog is offline
World-Class Slack-Ass
663.34 GB/915.97 GB/1.38
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kansas
Re: Struggling to remove firewall

Have you forwarded the ports on your computer and on your router? Here are some links that the admins here suggest:

Windows XP firewall: http://portforward.com/help/personal...owssp2port.htm

router port forwarding: http://portforward.com/english/route...outerindex.htm

Your firewall and torrent software need to use the same numbered port. To check, type http://192.168.1.1 into your browser's address bar (sometimes the last two numbers are different depending on your router) and click on the Settings tab, then the Firewall tab and make sure that your torrent software is allowed through the firewall and see what port it's using. Then check the settings in your torrent software to make sure that its using the same numbered port.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2015-08-16, 11:52 AM
boobylops boobylops is offline
572.81 GB/0.99 TB/1.77
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Re: Struggling to remove firewall

Thanks for the reply Jackdog, I had already tried all those links with no result.
I did try inspecting McAffee and found a setting to tweak and although I am still showing as firewalled my upload speed has suddenly doubled!
Unless anybody else can help I will have to remain in this state which is a pity as I really want to help the community by sharing as much as possible.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2015-08-16, 04:33 PM
jabulon's Avatar
jabulon jabulon is offline
IC Elvis & hear God on my iPod
TTD Staff
704.58 GB/2.33 TB/3.39
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Latitude: 52,3500, Longitude: 4,9167, Altitude: High
Re: Struggling to remove firewall

What does canyouseeme.org say. Fill in the port number utorrent (this should be a static port number) is using and make sure utorrent is running when you do this test. If it says it can see you you're good.

If it says it can't see you at port number blabla try turning off McAfee Virus Protection for a short period of time. If you are not firewalled then it has something to do with your firewall settings. If you're still firewalled it means that your portforwarding is not configured right.
__________________
Dubbin' is a must. Strictly add music!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2015-08-16, 05:04 PM
TimJ's Avatar
TimJ TimJ is offline
Maddy's Grampy :D
39.18 GB/237.00 GB/6.05
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Midwest
Re: Struggling to remove firewall

If the hub is BT's you might not have password to get access to it, so can't do port forwarding
lot of companies set passwords whenm they put in routers
__________________

"If ever the Time should come, when vain & aspiring Men shall possess the highest Seats in Government,
our Country will stand in Need of it's experienced Patriots to prevent it's Ruin"

Samuel Adams
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2015-08-16, 10:04 PM
boobylops boobylops is offline
572.81 GB/0.99 TB/1.77
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Re: Struggling to remove firewall

with or without mcafee running i get the can't see you timed out message from canyouseeme. I followed the guide in port forward.com and can't see anything wrong ?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2015-08-18, 04:10 PM
boobylops boobylops is offline
572.81 GB/0.99 TB/1.77
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Re: Struggling to remove firewall

I have now tried everything I can think of, including all posts on Google.
Suspect it may be down to the make/model of router.

If I change my router does this mess up my stats/ ability of others to continue d/l from me ?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2015-08-19, 05:08 AM
jabulon's Avatar
jabulon jabulon is offline
IC Elvis & hear God on my iPod
TTD Staff
704.58 GB/2.33 TB/3.39
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Latitude: 52,3500, Longitude: 4,9167, Altitude: High
Re: Struggling to remove firewall

Changing or replacing your router doesn't influence your stats at sites. The only thing that might change is your DHCP (dynamic host configuration protocol) or 'the local address' your PC gets from the modem/router. Most times the default ip-address of your modem is 192.168.2.1 and the ip-address of your pc is within the range of 192.168.2.2 -192.168.2.255 (this should be a static ip).

But before you run out the door and buy a new router, is there a possibility you could borrow someone else's router, configure it properly (DHCP portforwarding) and see what happens then? Sometimes ISP's block torrent traffic. If your are firewalled again it's due to your ISP and changing a router won't help in this case.

Ps what is the model router you're using? Home network?
__________________
Dubbin' is a must. Strictly add music!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2015-08-19, 10:00 AM
boobylops boobylops is offline
572.81 GB/0.99 TB/1.77
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Re: Struggling to remove firewall

Quote:
is there a possibility you could borrow someone else's router, configure it properly (DHCP portforwarding) and see what happens then? Sometimes ISP's block torrent traffic. If your are firewalled again it's due to your ISP and changing a router won't help in this case.

Ps what is the model router you're using? Home network?
I had a BT HOMEHUB 3 running with McAfee anti virus. ISP=BT.

I had kept my old BT Hub 2 and installed that, configured port forwarding etc but still no joy. Then I removed the McAfee firewall , lo and behold now good to go.

Some further research on BT forums tells me that the Homehub 3 does not support port forwarding properly without a downgrade of the firmware and the McAfee thing was compounding the problem.

Advice to all ...... if you have a home hub 3 bin it!

Thanks everybody for the assistance.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2017-11-08, 07:15 PM
JackDog's Avatar
JackDog JackDog is offline
World-Class Slack-Ass
663.34 GB/915.97 GB/1.38
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kansas
Re: Struggling to remove firewall

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackDog View Post
I had to get a new modem today so I was forced to search my comments to remind myself how to forward my ports. Portforward.com is still a great resource and the way that The Trader's Den tells you if you're firewalled is still the best and easiest way for me to see if I'm hooked up right. It's amazing how angry I get when I see those little red letters and how quickly I'm relieved when they go away.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
How do i remove a dvd menu? - thenygroove Technobabble 1 2008-05-29 11:24 PM
how to remove a link? - serjon Site Announcements & Suggestions 4 2008-03-21 04:37 AM
Remove Torrent? - acov Technobabble 6 2007-05-05 06:17 PM
How do I remove silence - docrupard Technobabble 3 2005-07-07 04:01 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts