The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2015-05-03, 08:51 PM
Jerseyguy1957's Avatar
Jerseyguy1957 Jerseyguy1957 is offline
99.68 GB/50.44 GB/0.51
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Splitting a File

I have several shows that are 1 large file. What is a good easy to use program to split these into separate tracks? Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2015-05-03, 09:17 PM
dasmueller's Avatar
dasmueller dasmueller is offline
For cryin' out loud !
221.01 GB/434.60 GB/1.97
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: 3162nd Signal Airborne Mess Kit Repair Battalion
Re: Splitting a File

Most folks say to use CDWave I have never tried it. I use Audacity. First and foremost, whatever you use make a copy/copies and play w them to learn how the software works.
__________________
"Whither goest all of us huh ? ... for cryin' out loud !!" Jean Shepherd
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

jr.

But what if the one guy is right and the 10,000 is wrong
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2015-05-04, 01:10 AM
rspencer's Avatar
rspencer rspencer is offline
TTD Hoarder
TTD Staff
262.05 GB/271.31 GB/1.04
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: the outer limits
Re: Splitting a File

Any DAW software should do it. As mentioned, CDWave & Audacity. I use Soundforge.
Also, excellent advice from das in regards to working on a copy. Always edit a copy of the raw file. That way, should you make a irreversible error, you haven't lost the show.
__________________
My main list .... My masters

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
Sometimes im dense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
I hate not being a real man.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2015-05-23, 01:34 PM
Eyke's Avatar
Eyke Eyke is offline
I'm just queer that way...
200.18 GB/559.20 GB/2.79
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Laurel Highlands, Pennsyltucky
Re: Splitting a File

Another thing, remember to Quantize for CD Audio, this moves your markers to the next block. It might be called aligning, depending your preferred software, I use Diamond Cut for editing, but just me.

Good luck.

__________________
...so long and thanks for all the fish -Douglas Adams 1952 - 2001
Via satellite, port open 12a-5a ET, more times than not.

(\__/)
(='.'=) ASCII art is kewl
(")_(")
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2015-05-23, 09:55 PM
Audioarchivist's Avatar
Audioarchivist Audioarchivist is offline
Recording/Mastering Engineer
560.16 GB/1.94 TB/3.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Re: Splitting a File

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eyke View Post
Another thing, remember to Quantize for CD Audio, this moves your markers to the next block. It might be called aligning, depending your preferred software, I use Diamond Cut for editing, but just me.

Good luck.

yeah, that's important to make sure that your split files won't have sector boundary errors if your files will be burned to CD. That's not necessarily as important if files are only played back on the computer or a digital media device. You can cut anywhere, but there are 75 frames per second or blocks or sectors, whatever you wanna call it, to align to. I try and cut to make files that have no fractions - whole seconds with no decimals. That always makes files with no sector boundary errors...


I use Wavelab for the most part for my mastering and editing. While it does automatically split to sector boundaries for those fractional cuts, it only seems to work on 16/44.1 files. I work mostly with 24/96 files so I do it manually in hi res, and then downsample and dither the split files to 16/44.1, and those files are always error free...
__________________
"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side."
- Dr. Hunter S. Thompson (1937-2005)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2015-05-24, 03:14 PM
firemt66 firemt66 is online now
799.85 GB/463.18 GB/0.58
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Re: Splitting a File

What does cds sound like with sector boundries sound like,and if ur just listening to the show on a hard drive,same as cd?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2015-05-24, 06:22 PM
Audioarchivist's Avatar
Audioarchivist Audioarchivist is offline
Recording/Mastering Engineer
560.16 GB/1.94 TB/3.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Re: Splitting a File

Quote:
Originally Posted by firemt66 View Post
What does cds sound like with sector boundries sound like,and if ur just listening to the show on a hard drive,same as cd?
A show with SBE's has clicks or small hesitations between tracks when burned to a disc - files would still be seamless on a gapless media player. If you were to rip a CD burned with SBE's, there would be some small gaps in the ripped files...
__________________
"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side."
- Dr. Hunter S. Thompson (1937-2005)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2015-05-26, 03:44 PM
firemt66 firemt66 is online now
799.85 GB/463.18 GB/0.58
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Re: Splitting a File

with traders little helper should one use pad or fix with align on sector boundries?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2015-05-26, 09:20 PM
zootype zootype is offline
30.02 GB/52.03 GB/1.73
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Re: Splitting a File

Quote:
Originally Posted by firemt66 View Post
with traders little helper should one use pad or fix with align on sector boundries?
I just use "fix' and the other defaults and save the fixed files to a new folder...seems to work.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2015-05-27, 12:31 AM
rspencer's Avatar
rspencer rspencer is offline
TTD Hoarder
TTD Staff
262.05 GB/271.31 GB/1.04
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: the outer limits
Re: Splitting a File

Yes, use "fix and align." Pad will just add empty space to make the sectors align, creating bigger gaps.
__________________
My main list .... My masters

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
Sometimes im dense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
I hate not being a real man.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2015-05-27, 10:05 AM
firemt66 firemt66 is online now
799.85 GB/463.18 GB/0.58
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Re: Splitting a File

ok, now ive uploaded a bunch of masters recordings without aligning the sector boundries cause ive read that its not always needed with digital recordings,can i assume that if there were sector boundry errors that i would be told there errors?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2015-05-27, 10:52 AM
mdshrk1's Avatar
mdshrk1 mdshrk1 is offline
Purveyor of the Eclectic
TTD VIP
23.95 GB/5.62 TB/240.42
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: In the middle of the Land of Disillusionment
Re: Splitting a File

If you use CD Wave Editor, it automatically splits on the boundary. But, I think you would get some kind of error message.
__________________
Democracy is the theory that the common people know what they want, and deserve to get it good and hard.
H.L. Mencken

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cock View Post
People suck. I'd rather look at memes and gifs of people doing stupid shit that confirms my misanthropic views than actually deal with their shit face to face.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2015-05-27, 12:46 PM
firemt66 firemt66 is online now
799.85 GB/463.18 GB/0.58
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Re: Splitting a File

cool,thats what i always use... thats proberly where i read that info
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2015-05-28, 01:34 AM
Jay Jay is offline
277.90 GB/294.28 GB/1.06
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Re: Splitting a File

Quote:
Originally Posted by firemt66 View Post
cool,thats what i always use... thats proberly where i read that info
Probably not proberly.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2015-05-28, 06:51 PM
firemt66 firemt66 is online now
799.85 GB/463.18 GB/0.58
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Re: Splitting a File

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay View Post
Probably not proberly.
Dam,cool u caught a tiepoe..heres another one
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot copy file: cannot read from the source file or disk - Gaston Technobabble 7 2012-03-15 02:48 PM
Splitting one .wav file into tracks - ScUmFoX Technobabble 8 2010-07-08 08:49 AM
splitting an APE - daddyray Technobabble 12 2010-01-14 01:25 PM
Ripping and Splitting - FeX- Technobabble 2 2007-05-24 01:29 AM
Splitting A DVD? - COmishawaka Technobabble 4 2007-05-21 05:45 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts