The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2014-03-19, 03:34 PM
karmakat's Avatar
karmakat karmakat is offline
fade on the downbeat
56.75 GB/125.05 GB/2.20
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 508 Park Avenue
The Red Frame

I have been doing some video editing in Sony Vegas 7. On occasion when I open the stream file in Vegas, the first frame is red and blank. We have not been able to determine what causes it or even how to fix it at that point. When I renderer the video, it causes a slight skip at the marker where the red frame appears. Any ideas, suggestions or solutions?

I have attached a screen shot to illustrate.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg STATUS.jpg
( 410.2 KB, 80 views)
 
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by uni-fi View Post
guitar was not a choice...I was playing by the rules for once.
Above all, recognize that everything you know is a flat-out lie or is only relatively true in certain restricted and unpleasant situations. ~ Robert Hunter
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2014-03-19, 08:52 PM
xjsb125 xjsb125 is offline
78.22 GB/159.27 GB/2.04
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bristol, VA
Re: The Red Frame

What file format is the original video in? Does the red frame show up every single time?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2014-03-20, 06:19 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: The Red Frame

is yer camera memory based, and is the red frame always at the beginning of a file?

mine does something similar...details:
http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/canon-xa...ip-length.html

basically, its cuz the cam's internal memory is FAT32 & has a 4GB file size limit...supposedly if you use the import utility that came with camera when transferring .mts files to comp, it'll "stitch" em back together and there won't be any loss of frames...haven't tried it tho, since that'd require me to get a Windows comp or run Parallel/Fusion, and for my purposes its rare the "skip" is at a point that makes it to the final cut

another workaround i've read [but haven't tried] is to not use the internal mem, instead use SD cards formatted to exFAT [instead of FAT32]
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2014-03-20, 10:44 AM
jabulon's Avatar
jabulon jabulon is offline
IC Elvis & hear God on my iPod
TTD Staff
704.58 GB/2.33 TB/3.39
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Latitude: 52,3500, Longitude: 4,9167, Altitude: High
Re: The Red Frame

Not using Vegas myself, but I have read some posts on a couple of boards and it looks like Sony Vegas is to be known for having this issue, among others. Some versions of Vegas more than others. You could try to set the dynamic ram preview to 0 in your settings (read a couple of times this worked). My other advice would be: update! I mean Vegas 12 is been out for a couple of months now.
__________________
Dubbin' is a must. Strictly add music!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2014-03-21, 10:47 AM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: The Red Frame

I've never had that happen in Vegas. I would cut that frame out. Copy the one before or after and place it in the spot of the red frame. It will be completely undetectable to the human eye when it plays.

play with the tools>quantize to frames (alt f8) to get it on the exact part if it doesn't land exactly on a frame mark. hit "m" for a marker on either side to cut it out precisely and place the new one back in the same.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts