The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-08-08, 12:18 AM
PintOfGuinness2 PintOfGuinness2 is offline
1.03 TB/1.07 TB/1.03
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Just bought Plextor PX-716UF EXT need Advice

After 16 months of Screwing with my POS SOny DRX-700UL thinking it was my computers fault that half of my burns skipped and coasterd, Ive concluded that it's the burner. So I just ordered one of these based on many good reviews. My question now is when it arrives what software should I use for burning? From what I've heard the roxio software packaged with it is junk.. So will NERO suffice? any other suggestions for urns that are compatable with the most DVD players, DVD-ROMS etc>>. Thanks in advance.. I can't wait to get this thing and really hope it solves my problems
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-08-08, 12:29 AM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Just bought Plextor PX-716UF EXT need Advice

Roxio Media Suite aint all that bad, but a lot of peeps around here prefer Nero.


Iv used Roxio for a while and never had problems.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-08-08, 03:03 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Just bought Plextor PX-716UF EXT need Advice

i like nero myself...occasional problem, but that's what md5s are for
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-08-08, 07:35 AM
PintOfGuinness2 PintOfGuinness2 is offline
1.03 TB/1.07 TB/1.03
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Just bought Plextor PX-716UF EXT need Advice

Question can you run the md5 on the disc? i was under the impression that to run the md5 it had to exist in the same directory or root as the files you were checking...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-08-08, 09:30 AM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: Just bought Plextor PX-716UF EXT need Advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by PintOfGuinness2
Question can you run the md5 on the disc? i was under the impression that to run the md5 it had to exist in the same directory or root as the files you were checking...
On a Mac (with Toast) you can do a complete compare between the burned disc and the original file. If the md5 checks, that checks out fine as well. What I used to do was make an md5 of the burned disc and visually compare them. That was kind of a pain.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.

Last edited by gsmyth79; 2005-08-08 at 09:35 AM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-08-09, 02:21 PM
spiritinaphoto
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Just bought Plextor PX-716UF EXT need Advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by PintOfGuinness2
Question can you run the md5 on the disc? i was under the impression that to run the md5 it had to exist in the same directory or root as the files you were checking...
I like using etree's scripts, because they have this lovely command-line md5check utility--it'll do both md5s and FLAC fingerprints, all you have to do is point it towards the directory with the files. It's so much more pleasant if you have a disc with FLACs and SHNs because you don't have to go to one program to check the md5s and another to check the fingerprints. Simply type md5check /mnt/cdrom in the command-line and watch the output (replace /mnt/cdrom with whatever your CD drive's designation is on your OS).
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-08-09, 11:20 PM
cityofdreams's Avatar
cityofdreams cityofdreams is offline
300.00 GB/630.85 GB/2.10
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Just bought Plextor PX-716UF EXT need Advice

i have a plexotr px-716a ...and ussually the only problem i sometimes get is a cl-13 error when tryin to play it. I havent been able to fix it yet either I use Nero as well
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
EAC Configuration - Plextor PX-716UF - USB 2.0 - dactylus Technobabble 3 2006-04-28 01:06 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts