The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2005-07-30, 07:09 AM
spacejam1 spacejam1 is offline
26.87 GB/18.55 GB/0.69
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Firefox

My puter crashed the other day and I finally got it back. I use Firefox and now my tabs are all on the bottom of the screen instead of at the top. How can I get them back up where I like them? I searched everywhere and can't seem to find how to move them. Might be that I am burnt on the massive hours that I've spent on fixing this puter. I appreciate any help. Tabs on the bottom of the screen annoy the shit outta me! LOL
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2005-07-30, 08:01 AM
Femputer
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Firefox

That Does Not Fempute.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2005-07-30, 10:45 AM
J.Phillips
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Firefox

in windows go to start>run then type firefox.exe -profilemanager to open the profile manager. Create a new profile or default profile and it will be back to normal. However the problem here is that it resets all your favorites and stuff also, but you can still get them back.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2005-07-30, 10:45 AM
J.Phillips
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Firefox

that was what i did when pictures stopped showing up in my firefox
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2005-07-30, 11:25 AM
tbtb's Avatar
tbtb tbtb is offline
257.72 GB/282.79 GB/1.10
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Firefox

Speaking of Firefox, does anyone know how to get rid of the Aurora pop-up windows that accompany the Firefox browser? I have tried blocking pop-ups and have used Ad-aware and Spybot to get rid of unwanted programs, but I really can't use Firefox due to the annoying Aurora ads.
Thanks for any help and sorry for hijacking the thread.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2005-07-30, 11:31 AM
Ted Ted is offline
You are TOO
2.08 GB/7.38 GB/3.55
 
Join Date: May 2005
Re: Firefox

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbtb
Speaking of Firefox, does anyone know how to get rid of the Aurora pop-up windows that accompany the Firefox browser? I have tried blocking pop-ups and have used Ad-aware and Spybot to get rid of unwanted programs, but I really can't use Firefox due to the annoying Aurora ads.
Thanks for any help and sorry for hijacking the thread.
I don't use Firefox so I may be wrong, but I thought it was ad-free. It's open source and I don't know any open source that contains ads. You may want to give Lavasoft's Ad-Aware or Spybot Search & Destroy (or both) a shot and see if you have spyware installed on your computer. I'll bet you do
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2005-07-30, 11:41 AM
tbtb's Avatar
tbtb tbtb is offline
257.72 GB/282.79 GB/1.10
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Firefox

I have used both Ad-Aware and Spybot before running Firefox so, somehow this Aurora eludes the "spyware radar." Now that I think about it, maybe I should just try to reinstall Firefox and see if that works.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2005-07-30, 12:39 PM
Ted Ted is offline
You are TOO
2.08 GB/7.38 GB/3.55
 
Join Date: May 2005
Re: Firefox

You could try, but if you're infected with spyware, then reinstalling Firefox won't remove it and if Firefox does indeed contain adware, then you'll simply be reinstalling it.

I just did a quick search for Aurora removal instructions. Try THIS PAGE.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2005-07-30, 12:45 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Firefox

I'm using ff never seen the aurora popups so I think Ted is right it must be some sneaky adware
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2005-07-30, 01:01 PM
Ted Ted is offline
You are TOO
2.08 GB/7.38 GB/3.55
 
Join Date: May 2005
Re: Firefox

Thanks Five. I meant to add that I know a few people who use FF and if they thought it contained adware, they'd be bitching up a storm.

BTW tbtb - follow those instructions TO THE LETTER or you may not be rid of Aurora.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2005-07-30, 03:02 PM
pjet0602's Avatar
pjet0602 pjet0602 is offline
22.16 MB/5.09 MB/0.23
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Re: Firefox

my firefox seems to have problems displaying animations, i.e., none of the dancing bananas, animated avatars, etc. work -- any ideas?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2005-07-30, 03:43 PM
Ted Ted is offline
You are TOO
2.08 GB/7.38 GB/3.55
 
Join Date: May 2005
Re: Firefox

Do you use a firewall of any kind? I use Zone Alarm and in the privacy section, I can enter a website whose options allow me to enable/disable animation (among other things) for that site.

Check FF for a similar option/setting and your firewall, if you use one. Also, maybe some pop-up blockers have the same capability. Check that too, if you use one.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #13  
Old 2005-07-30, 04:26 PM
altCountryGuy's Avatar
altCountryGuy altCountryGuy is offline
Cosmic American
1.52 GB/1.64 GB/1.08
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Re: Firefox

Here's a link showing how to change the preferences for image animation. http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firefox_:_...nimated_Images
__________________
"Everybody needs a little foregiveness" - Patty Griffin
http://www.last.fm/user/altCountryGuy/
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #14  
Old 2005-07-30, 05:40 PM
pjet0602's Avatar
pjet0602 pjet0602 is offline
22.16 MB/5.09 MB/0.23
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Re: Firefox

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted
Do you use a firewall of any kind? I use Zone Alarm and in the privacy section, I can enter a website whose options allow me to enable/disable animation (among other things) for that site.

Check FF for a similar option/setting and your firewall, if you use one. Also, maybe some pop-up blockers have the same capability. Check that too, if you use one.
Aha! Thanks Ted.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #15  
Old 2005-07-30, 06:42 PM
spontabmark
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Firefox

about aurora: its spyware, download ewido security suite (antispyware) and do the full scan, should get rid of it nicely
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
best adblock for firefox? - Five Technobabble 6 2008-07-14 02:35 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts