The Traders' Den  

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Old 2008-05-13, 02:15 PM
136.27 GB/88.59 GB/0.65

upload help

I have tried and tried to upload at this an other sites..Have NO LUCK at all in doing this...I Need some help...
thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Old 2008-05-13, 02:46 PM
TTD Staff
474.39 GB/2.01 TB/4.34

Re: upload help

Quote:
Originally Posted by bodhibill View Post
I have tried and tried to upload at this an other sites..Have NO LUCK at all in doing this...I Need some help...
thanks.
Do you mean upload a show to the tracker or just seed a show after you finished a download? Let us know what bittorrent client you are using also.

Old 2008-05-17, 02:21 AM
"Stone Free to Do as I Please"
407.09 GB/299.83 GB/0.74

I'm new at this, too. I started out downloading shows but would delete them after burning them to disc. I'm making quite a few mistakes. I just spent a week-and-a-half downloading a full show (two discs) on dial-up and have had it in the seed mode but I dont (and haven't) seen any activity. I'm downloading another show right now and have the zep show in 'seed' mode. The current dl hasn't uploaded a single kb and the show is over 25 percent complete. I have utorrent 1.7.7 (and the newest beta addition) with crappy dial-up. What gives?
Also, a friend at work who is a purported pc geek, says that since I have dial-up I dont have a 'router', if this is true, how can I forward my ports (other than just using random ones all the time). I think I read somewhere (probably here) that it's best to use ports 6881-6889 for best results. Does this mean to have all of those open all the time, and if so, how?