The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-12-28, 03:27 PM
cotis's Avatar
cotis cotis is offline
THE PROSTITUTE
TTD VIP
619.63 GB/14.06 TB/23.23
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NJ
Icon4 playing PAL BD-R with PS3...

recently got two BD-R's from a friend, a 25GB PAL and a 50GB NTSC. The NTSC one plays fine on my PS3 with the latest firmware update, 2.53. The PAL one is read by my PS3, and shows on the video section of the main start up menu listed as "BDMV -- BD-R" and then when I click to play it, the little disc spins in the upper right hand corner and goes to a black screen, as if it were to play, then just stays on the black screen and nothing happens.

any suggestions?


thanks!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2008-12-28, 03:47 PM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
368.77 GB/672.13 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: playing PAL BD-R with PS3...

Post info how video and audio is encoded. You can check it with MediaInfo > .m2t file(s) in \BDMV\STREAM\ folder.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2008-12-28, 11:35 PM
dcbullet's Avatar
dcbullet dcbullet is offline
Anti-Temperance League
TTD Staff
68.39 GB/422.37 GB/6.18
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Re: playing PAL BD-R with PS3...

I didn't think that PS3 could play PAL (that is, it was blocked).
__________________

Audio Seeding Policy - If your show has been pulled - check the Seeding Policy to learn why
Audio Seeding Guide - How to seed an audio show at TTD

Checksums are important: Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
If you are Firewalled, learn How to Set Up Your Router (so you aren't firewalled) and How to Port Forward on Windows XP


Audio Trade List - Video Trade List

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2008-12-29, 02:32 AM
dj rogue dj rogue is offline
Artist Frmrly Knwn As Rogue588
21.85 GB/58.47 GB/2.68
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Just around the corner...
Re: playing PAL BD-R with PS3...

You sir, are correct.

HD DVD was the format that was region free.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2008-12-29, 03:08 AM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
368.77 GB/672.13 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: playing PAL BD-R with PS3...

EDIT/changed: I see that Sony disables specific frame rates, depending on country/region. That's shit.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2009-01-11, 06:38 AM
Frenchie's Avatar
Frenchie Frenchie is offline
112.40 GB/69.25 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Re: playing PAL BD-R with PS3...

first of all, there is no PAL/NTSC for Blu-Ray

second of all, SONY (on standalone players and PS3) only allow region/framerate from the area where you bought the device

so you can only play US DVD/BR with your PS3 (even region free PAL DVD's won't be working)
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2009-01-11, 08:10 AM
GNROSAS GNROSAS is offline
43.88 GB/80.51 GB/1.83
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Re: playing PAL BD-R with PS3...

On my UK PS3 I can play both 60i & 50i for HD and 25 & 29.9 for DVDs Fine.

So the limitation seems to apply only on the USA (Ntsc) Models
NOT the Pal Ones.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2009-01-11, 09:30 AM
Frenchie's Avatar
Frenchie Frenchie is offline
112.40 GB/69.25 GB/0.62
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Re: playing PAL BD-R with PS3...

Quote:
Originally Posted by GNROSAS View Post
On my UK PS3 I can play both 60i & 50i for HD and 25 & 29.9 for DVDs Fine.

So the limitation seems to apply only on the USA (Ntsc) Models
NOT the Pal Ones.
what!!!
Have you modded it? changed firmware?

PAL PS3's are locked to PAL normally
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2009-01-11, 10:39 AM
GNROSAS GNROSAS is offline
43.88 GB/80.51 GB/1.83
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Re: playing PAL BD-R with PS3...

no modding....so it seems PAL PS3s are not Locked.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
dvd burning/ dvd playing - mike mcauliffe Technobabble 3 2007-10-10 05:04 PM
playing dvds on my pc - newtdecay Technobabble 3 2007-08-11 06:32 PM
PLaying Video_ts - wokyft31188 Technobabble 4 2006-03-24 12:22 AM
Playing a DVD without sound - rendogski Technobabble 7 2004-11-26 01:07 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts