The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-05-03, 02:59 PM
phishhead123
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
why does it say im firewalled????

when im uploading at 45k a second, have uploaded 3.74gig on the DL im working on, and have a 1.18 ratio??????
im really confused.
Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2006-05-03, 03:40 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: why does it say im firewalled????

because you are firewalled

when you're firewalled it means that you can't connect to other ppl that are firewalled. so if everybody is firewalled then the torrent stops completely. if not everybody is firewalled, the people who are slow things down a ton since they can't connect to each other.

portforward.com
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2006-05-03, 06:42 PM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: why does it say im firewalled????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Five
because you are firewalled



awesome five.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2006-05-03, 06:42 PM
dancolostate dancolostate is offline
440.53 GB/572.85 GB/1.30
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Re: why does it say im firewalled????

YO.

I've done my port forwarding and IP setup and I get great speeds, but I am still trying to figure out how to get out from behind my Linksys completely. I always thought that doing to forwarding and getting the SHADOW torrent light to go from yellow to green meant I was golden. The "FIREWALLED" status thing under the username is evidently a new thing from a few days ago.

Please see my thread from yesterday for some answers...

-Thanks again to U2Lynne

http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ad.php?t=21071
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2006-05-03, 06:52 PM
dancolostate dancolostate is offline
440.53 GB/572.85 GB/1.30
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Re: why does it say im firewalled????

However,

If your upload is capped at 45kbps and you're uploading at that capacity, aren't you sharing as much as possible, firewalled or not?

OR: ...is the answer to that question:

Your download rate would be higher if you weren't firewalled, REGARDLESS of if your upload is maxed or not?

***SORRY, but I just crossposted this to my other thread***
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2006-05-03, 07:05 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: why does it say im firewalled????

we just added the little "firewalled" warning to help motivate more ppl to forward their ports. when you forward your ports it helps everybody out but most of all you are helping yourself out.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2006-05-03, 08:57 PM
TheMamba's Avatar
TheMamba TheMamba is offline
I love them redheads!
70.51 GB/140.66 GB/1.99
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Florida
Re: why does it say im firewalled????

Quote:
Originally Posted by dancolostate
However,

If your upload is capped at 45kbps and you're uploading at that capacity, aren't you sharing as much as possible, firewalled or not?

OR: ...is the answer to that question:

Your download rate would be higher if you weren't firewalled, REGARDLESS of if your upload is maxed or not?

***SORRY, but I just crossposted this to my other thread***

Being firewalled doesn't directly have anything to do with your speed.

Being firewalled means just what Five said, you can't connect to other firewalled people.

Now...if there is a big swarm with relatively few firewalled people, you probably won't notice anything - hence, firewalled has nothing to do with speed.

But...if you're in a swarm, big or little, and the majority of people are firewalled, you will see a big difference in your speed as it takes a gigantic nose dive.
__________________
Audio List

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpermaLopez
Sorry, I'm still a n00b.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
FIREWALLED - Buckeyedog Technobabble 19 2009-03-12 12:37 AM
Firewalled - canon Technobabble 1 2007-02-04 12:07 PM
Firewalled??? - dannyandamie Technobabble 1 2007-01-31 07:01 PM
there is no way i am firewalled.... - trip4life Technobabble 2 2007-01-25 04:08 PM
Firewalled? - wbaetz Technobabble 8 2007-01-11 05:33 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts