The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2020-11-15, 08:24 PM
dupree1226 dupree1226 is offline
683.48 GB/118.55 GB/0.17
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
DVD Capacity

I am seeing that many of the DVDs I try to burn tell me that my disc does not have enough room to burn the DVD. I am using high quality DVD-Rs but they are old. Are they making newer DVD-Rs with more capacity or do I need to use a blu-ray disc? These are def DVDs not blu-rays but maybe people are burning everything to blu rays now? Sorry, I've gotten a little out of touch
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2020-11-16, 09:19 AM
joujoujou's Avatar
joujoujou joujoujou is offline
Damned
97.16 GB/787.97 GB/8.11
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location:
You may need dual layer for larger files.

Have a read:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVD_recordable#Capacities

and

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVD#Capacity and scroll down to "Capacity differences of writable DVD formats" table.
__________________
I'm here.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2020-11-17, 09:50 AM
dupree1226 dupree1226 is offline
683.48 GB/118.55 GB/0.17
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Re: DVD Capacity

Quote:
Originally Posted by joujoujou View Post
You may need dual layer for larger files.

Have a read:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVD_recordable#Capacities

and

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVD#Capacity and scroll down to "Capacity differences of writable DVD formats" table.

Thank you. It looks like I need dual layer discs but they are difficult to burn without problems
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2020-11-17, 10:39 AM
LeifH12345's Avatar
LeifH12345 LeifH12345 is offline
550.91 GB/2.50 TB/4.65
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver
Re: DVD Capacity

Yes dual layers can have problems with the transition to the second layer, and you can end up throwing away a lot of discs, which of course cost more than single layers. I stopped authoring dual layer discs a while back after realizing this. Better to just split things into single layer format.
__________________
YouTube | PayPal | Instagram | FaceBook | Bandcamp
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2020-11-17, 12:32 PM
firemt66 firemt66 is offline
1.74 TB/804.00 GB/0.45
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Re: DVD Capacity

When I burn dual layer disks I use the slowest speed and do nothing else on the computer while it's burning..and never wind up with a coaster
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2020-11-17, 04:15 PM
sjmike's Avatar
sjmike sjmike is offline
Metallica Trader
550.58 GB/1.03 TB/1.91
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Re: DVD Capacity

I highly recommend to only use Verbatim dual layer dvds. They're very high quality and I almost never have any issues with them. In the past 3 months I've burned over 50 DL-DVDs for trades and only had 5 bad discs, mainly because I set the incorrect burn speed.

With all other brands I end up with coasters.
__________________
Interested in trading Metallica Videos? If so check out my trading site: https://www.sjmike.com/
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts