The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-08-07, 11:09 PM
Drewa311's Avatar
Drewa311 Drewa311 is offline
jack your body
379.68 GB/353.76 GB/0.93
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chicago at ashland
vhs to dvd

has anyone ever transfered vhs/vcr>videocamer rca imput>firewire output into computer. is there any easy way to do this?
__________________
"You don't work, you don't eat, you don't grind, you don't shine"
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2007-08-07, 11:38 PM
DanielG's Avatar
DanielG DanielG is offline
219.01 GB/266.08 GB/1.21
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Re: vhs to dvd

You could use something like a Canopus ADVC110 or ADVC55 to convert your VHS/videocamera source into DV-AVI.
http://www.canopus.com/products/ADVC110/index.php
http://www.canopus.com/products/ADVC55/index.php

Or you could purchase a miniDV video camera that has analog passthrough, which will do the same thing.

Last edited by DanielG; 2007-08-07 at 11:47 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2007-08-08, 05:51 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
ense et aratro
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: vhs to dvd

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewa311
has anyone ever transfered vhs/vcr>videocamer rca imput>firewire output into computer. is there any easy way to do this?
though not ideal, yes that'll work...as long as the camera can be used as a passthrough
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
Basics of EQing

"A man is none the less a slave because he is allowed to choose a new master once in a term of years."
- Lysander Spooner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2007-08-08, 05:56 AM
arkantos's Avatar
arkantos arkantos is offline
151.16 GB/157.43 GB/1.04
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Manila, Philippines
Re: vhs to dvd

try a capture card that you can transfer most players from vhs, v8, minidv or betamax etc. in which i use for transferring recorded files from various camcorders. it is always accompanied with a tv tuner.

*i hope i get what you mean
__________________
i am of the universe and you know what its worth...

Last edited by arkantos; 2007-08-08 at 06:04 AM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2007-08-18, 11:45 PM
chinajoe chinajoe is offline
49.69 GB/18.30 GB/0.37
 
Join Date: May 2007
Re: vhs to dvd

so whats the major diff between using one of those stand alone units to convert a tape to dvd vs using a tape to pc?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2007-08-18, 11:55 PM
vladsmythe's Avatar
vladsmythe vladsmythe is offline
TTD VIP
6.75 TB/3.86 TB/0.57
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: vhs to dvd

Everything of mine goes to standalone. I can't compare because it's the only way I've ever done it.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2007-08-19, 12:34 AM
rhinowing rhinowing is offline
116.52 GB/255.38 GB/2.19
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: vhs to dvd

According to my videophile friend, SA units tend to introduce blockiness during video with alot of motion in it.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2007-08-19, 12:48 AM
DanielG's Avatar
DanielG DanielG is offline
219.01 GB/266.08 GB/1.21
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Re: vhs to dvd

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhinowing
According to my videophile friend, SA units tend to introduce blockiness during video with alot of motion in it.
That's correct. If you're going to use a standalone to convert your video, make sure you use the XP mode [or equivalent]. This will allow you to put a maximum of 1 hour of footage on a DVD5 and blockiness during high motion scenes will be minimized. If you use the SP (2 hour) mode then compression artifacts will become evident.

The optimum way of encoding video is to get it onto your PC using the DV-AVI codec or a lossless codec such as HuffYUV (if you're coming from an analog source) and then using 2 (or more) pass variable bitrate encoding.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2007-08-25, 11:13 AM
Drewa311's Avatar
Drewa311 Drewa311 is offline
jack your body
379.68 GB/353.76 GB/0.93
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chicago at ashland
Re: vhs to dvd

heres the deal, a buddy of mine has like 50 skateboard video VHS's, most of these will sadly never make it to dvd, im broke but i have a video camera that ive heard can be a "passthrough", what im going to try and to is hook up my vcr to the camera and the camer to the pc via firewire. the camera doesnt and rca inputs for the vcr, but it does have an s-video i dont know if this is in/out-put. i just gotta figure all this out, any moire help would be great, tv tuners can be cheap right?
__________________
"You don't work, you don't eat, you don't grind, you don't shine"
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2007-08-25, 11:16 AM
Drewa311's Avatar
Drewa311 Drewa311 is offline
jack your body
379.68 GB/353.76 GB/0.93
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chicago at ashland
Re: vhs to dvd

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...731&CatId=1427

quality is not of the utmost importance-but i would like it to look decent

something like this will do?
__________________
"You don't work, you don't eat, you don't grind, you don't shine"
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2007-08-25, 06:20 PM
lbrow65's Avatar
lbrow65 lbrow65 is offline
86.08 GB/79.77 GB/0.93
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Re: vhs to dvd

read your camera info, it wont work unless it has analog coversion built into it. It takes the placeof a video capture card in your computer. You have to convert the video from analog to digital either in the camera or on the pc.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2007-08-26, 02:14 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
ense et aratro
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: vhs to dvd

what up drew

what make/model is the cam?

imo, since its just for personal viewing, "decent quality" will be acceptable...if the cam won't act as a A/D converter directly [i.e. as a "passthrough"], you can always transfer the VHS>miniDV [or whatever format the cam is] via the RCA ins on the cam...then capture the miniDV>comp via firewire...its an added step and will require some blank tapes, but will work just fine with a negligible amount of quality loss
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
Basics of EQing

"A man is none the less a slave because he is allowed to choose a new master once in a term of years."
- Lysander Spooner
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts