The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 2006-05-17, 03:48 PM
cmaz's Avatar
cmaz cmaz is offline
Now he's just a bag of garbage
324.22 GB/818.20 GB/2.52
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere in time
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

i have a question regarding the difference between verifying and testing with TLH. If i verify the files, do i also need to test them? If the files verify, won't they neccessarily decode properly? And what about the check box "full ffp vrf"? When, where, and why do i choose each of these options?

When do i verify, test, and/or choose "full ffp"?

Thanks!
__________________
--
chris

----------Nothing is Real!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #17  
Old 2007-05-16, 01:07 PM
aristote's Avatar
aristote aristote is offline
81.41 GB/62.54 GB/0.77
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #18  
Old 2007-05-16, 09:23 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmaz
i have a question regarding the difference between verifying and testing with TLH. If i verify the files, do i also need to test them? If the files verify, won't they neccessarily decode properly? And what about the check box "full ffp vrf"? When, where, and why do i choose each of these options?

When do i verify, test, and/or choose "full ffp"?

Thanks!
since this tutorial was written there have been some new features added to TLH... if you test with the "full" feature enabled (as it is by default) TLH will check the files every way possible and only that one test/verification is necessary.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #19  
Old 2008-04-05, 01:19 PM
shovelhead's Avatar
shovelhead shovelhead is offline
434.74 GB/576.44 GB/1.33
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

WAY COOL!!!! THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH FOR YOUR TIME IN POSTING & GENEROSITY IN SHARING!!! WAY COOL!!!! THANKS AGAIN!!!!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #20  
Old 2012-06-27, 10:53 PM
salmonella's Avatar
salmonella salmonella is offline
salmonella
98.63 GB/80.96 GB/0.82
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Skamokawa, WA
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

Is there any chance of updating the initial post in this thread? I'm trying to make a SHNTOOL md5 with xACT, however, the interface looks completely different. The example given is not helpful 6 years later.

I sincerely hope nobody takes this as complaining on my part. I know you all want this to be as helpful as possible.

Thank you.
__________________
I must be a mushroom. They keep me in the dark and feed me horseshit all day.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #21  
Old 2012-07-01, 01:27 PM
scb scb is offline
3.75 GB/515.51 GB/137.39
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

in xACT 2.x, on the Checksum tab, click "Create Checksum File" and choose the "St5" option
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #22  
Old 2012-07-01, 03:48 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

what scb said ^^


select the files you wanna include in Finder, drag to the window on left in xACT [screen below], then select the options circled in red...click "Checksum" button and let it do its thing
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2012-07-01 at 4.42.23 PM.png
( 51.4 KB, 86 views)
 
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #23  
Old 2012-07-09, 02:13 AM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by salmonella View Post
Is there any chance of updating the initial post in this thread? I'm trying to make a SHNTOOL md5 with xACT, however, the interface looks completely different. The example given is not helpful 6 years later.

I sincerely hope nobody takes this as complaining on my part. I know you all want this to be as helpful as possible.

Thank you.
wow, 6yrs... I will d/l the new TLH sometime in coming months and update
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #24  
Old 2015-08-11, 12:56 AM
SteelStage SteelStage is offline
10.55 GB/3.26 GB/0.31
 
Join Date: May 2011
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

hey, read the FAQ's and having issues creating uploaded torrent

Have created ffp and st5 with TLH, can't figure out the shntool nor how to get it working

Getting this

The fingerprints provided are not shntool st5s or flac fingerprints

any more help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #25  
Old 2015-08-11, 03:18 AM
jabulon's Avatar
jabulon jabulon is offline
IC Elvis & hear God on my iPod
TTD Staff
603.39 GB/2.21 TB/3.75
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Latitude: 52,3500, Longitude: 4,9167, Altitude: High
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteelStage View Post
hey, read the FAQ's and having issues creating uploaded torrent

Have created ffp and st5 with TLH, can't figure out the shntool nor how to get it working

Getting this

The fingerprints provided are not shntool st5s or flac fingerprints

any more help would be appreciated.
Are you talking about audio or video? I assume audio, because you talk about flac. Windows?


ps edit: forget about the shntool, when creating the torrent file just add the ffp and/or st5 that is good enough.
__________________
Dubbin' is a must. Strictly add music!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #26  
Old 2015-08-11, 07:59 AM
SteelStage SteelStage is offline
10.55 GB/3.26 GB/0.31
 
Join Date: May 2011
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

yes audio, flac and yes windows.

when i create the torrent (with utorrent engine), then attach and load it tells me the message i tried above. Maybe my torrent is bad, when i create the torrent, i direct the folder with all files, do i need to add all the files?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #27  
Old 2015-08-11, 09:24 AM
jabulon's Avatar
jabulon jabulon is offline
IC Elvis & hear God on my iPod
TTD Staff
603.39 GB/2.21 TB/3.75
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Latitude: 52,3500, Longitude: 4,9167, Altitude: High
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

Try this: Make the torrent file with TLH as well.

open Torrent select create torrent file.
add directory
check private torrent
tracker/announce (select ttd tracker)
save torrent file (set the torrent location)
create
__________________
Dubbin' is a must. Strictly add music!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #28  
Old 2015-08-11, 09:26 AM
SteelStage SteelStage is offline
10.55 GB/3.26 GB/0.31
 
Join Date: May 2011
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

THanks I'll def try that and let u know
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #29  
Old 2015-08-11, 11:54 AM
SteelStage SteelStage is offline
10.55 GB/3.26 GB/0.31
 
Join Date: May 2011
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

Tried TLH for torrent,

getting this error upon upload now: "Forget something? How about some fingerprints, please."

In the file directory i have ffp and st5 files, is that correct?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #30  
Old 2015-08-11, 12:02 PM
jabulon's Avatar
jabulon jabulon is offline
IC Elvis & hear God on my iPod
TTD Staff
603.39 GB/2.21 TB/3.75
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Latitude: 52,3500, Longitude: 4,9167, Altitude: High
Re: Checksums Demystified (.st5, .ffp and .md5)

You have to copy and past the ffp (the text - open the ffp-file with text editor /notepad) in the second big box on the upload page
__________________
Dubbin' is a must. Strictly add music!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Where to download checksums? - popeye Technobabble 1 2006-12-03 11:24 AM
creating checksums - Music 2 My Ears Technobabble 2 2006-07-05 12:24 AM
How do I get Checksums? - Scott Technobabble 7 2005-09-09 04:54 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts