The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2012-03-11, 05:08 AM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
32GB IN EDIROL

In a few weeks im going to a local rock fest and there are 11 bands playing.It starts at 1pm and ends at 11 pm,and really want all the bands recording.Is it possible to use a 32gb card in the r09-hr,or will it mean using multiple smaller( 8gb ) cards.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #2  
Old 2012-03-11, 08:25 AM
tonebloke's Avatar
tonebloke tonebloke is offline
335.89 GB/306.64 GB/0.91
 
Join Date: May 2009
Re: 32GB IN EDIROL

I've recently gone from an 8gb to a 16gb in my HR. Don't know if it will handle a 32gb.

FYI: If you set your HR to 24/48 it will record for 15hrs 17min (half that time for 24/96). BUT you'll have to change batteries every 3.5 hrs - not longer (as long as you have fully charged batteries to use!).
__________________
" Your tin cup and string "recorder" is worse than a Zoom, which is saying a lot".
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #3  
Old 2012-03-11, 08:30 AM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: 32GB IN EDIROL

Is that 15hrs with a 16 gb card?,obviously plenty of spare batteries too.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #4  
Old 2012-03-11, 08:31 AM
tonebloke's Avatar
tonebloke tonebloke is offline
335.89 GB/306.64 GB/0.91
 
Join Date: May 2009
Re: 32GB IN EDIROL

Quote:
Originally Posted by PEPPER View Post
Is that 15hrs with a 16 gb card?.
Yes - with your recorder set to 24/48!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Don't forget what I said about your batteries!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
" Your tin cup and string "recorder" is worse than a Zoom, which is saying a lot".
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #5  
Old 2012-03-11, 09:01 AM
PEPPER PEPPER is offline
46.96 GB/23.05 GB/0.49
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: 32GB IN EDIROL

Cheers tonebloke.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #6  
Old 2012-03-11, 02:24 PM
LeifH12345's Avatar
LeifH12345 LeifH12345 is offline
359.41 GB/1.49 TB/4.25
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kelowna
Re: 32GB IN EDIROL

Most mini devices take up to and no more than a 32GB card. It will tell you in the manual whether you can go higher but mostly just semi-pro and pro cameras take 64GB cards and higher.

In my opinion its safer to use a couple smaller cards like 8 or 16 and then switch if need be.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #7  
Old 2012-03-11, 04:56 PM
lintoni
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: 32GB IN EDIROL

Make sure you have the latest firmware for your model. Update if necessary. I have a R-09 (NOT hr) and that is now capable of using 32GB cards now that the firmware has been updated. I imagine that the same will apply for the hr variant, though I'm not stating this as a fact.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #8  
Old 2012-04-11, 10:55 AM
rolechange rolechange is offline
825.67 MB/9.20 MB/0.01
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Re: 32GB IN EDIROL

Yes, the HR will support 32GB. It has since version 1.04 of the firmware, which was released about 4 years ago. Just make sure its an SDHC card and not SDXC.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #9  
Old 2012-04-11, 03:46 PM
trustthex's Avatar
trustthex trustthex is offline
Trainwreckin' Fool
566.69 GB/2.95 TB/5.32
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Denton, TX
Re: 32GB IN EDIROL

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonebloke View Post
I've recently gone from an 8gb to a 16gb in my HR. Don't know if it will handle a 32gb.

FYI: If you set your HR to 24/48 it will record for 15hrs 17min (half that time for 24/96). BUT you'll have to change batteries every 3.5 hrs - not longer (as long as you have fully charged batteries to use!).
Only 3.5 hrs on the HR? I've gotten 7+ from some AAs (duracell, always (unless it's procell which will give you longer)) on my original R09.
__________________
The critics of the Information Age see everything in the negative, as if the quantity of information can lead to a loss of meaning. They said the same thing about Gutenberg.
-Timothy Leary


Meatwad: I thought you said TV was bad.
Frylock: It is. But we fucking need it.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #10  
Old 2012-04-12, 10:47 PM
becks dark's Avatar
becks dark becks dark is offline
Drink only good beer!
448.89 GB/675.31 GB/1.50
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Detroit
Re: 32GB IN EDIROL

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeifH12345 View Post
Most mini devices take up to and no more than a 32GB card. It will tell you in the manual whether you can go higher but mostly just semi-pro and pro cameras take 64GB cards and higher.

In my opinion its safer to use a couple smaller cards like 8 or 16 and then switch if need be.
I agree 100%. You're much better off with 16 GB instead of the 32.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #11  
Old 2012-04-16, 04:08 PM
rspencer's Avatar
rspencer rspencer is offline
TTD Hoarder
TTD Staff
178.57 GB/225.72 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: the outer limits
Re: 32GB IN EDIROL

Quote:
Originally Posted by trustthex View Post
Only 3.5 hrs on the HR? I've gotten 7+ from some AAs (duracell, always (unless it's procell which will give you longer)) on my original R09.
Same here. I buy big packs of Energizer or RayoVac.
Change them every show anyway, but I've run for about 8 hours on 1 pair at a longer event.
__________________
My main list .... My masters

Quote:
Originally Posted by PCMAN101 View Post
Sorry. I'm busy not partying at college.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbullet View Post
I hate not being a real man.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #12  
Old 2012-04-17, 03:05 AM
tonebloke's Avatar
tonebloke tonebloke is offline
335.89 GB/306.64 GB/0.91
 
Join Date: May 2009
Re: 32GB IN EDIROL

Quote:
Originally Posted by rspencer View Post
Same here. I buy big packs of Energizer or RayoVac.
Change them every show anyway, but I've run for about 8 hours on 1 pair at a longer event.

My Eneloop rechargables will last longer than 3.5 hrs but I've been bitten a few times as to remembering what they have left on them. I change them after every show, whether it's 1 or 6hrs. I use 3.5 as a guide (warm-up act and headliner).
__________________
" Your tin cup and string "recorder" is worse than a Zoom, which is saying a lot".
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts