PDA

View Full Version : ImgBurn - Dual Layer Burning


johnlennon696
2011-12-03, 04:35 PM
I have burned a Dual Layer files onto a DVD, it verified and completed successfully, but it did have two 'warning type signs' in the log file:

http://i43.tinypic.com/n3kqaa.jpg

Anyone know what this means?

direwolf-pgh
2011-12-03, 05:45 PM
yes. yes I do, cheers.

mooncusser
2011-12-03, 05:51 PM
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=l0+data+zone+capacity+miscompare

direwolf-pgh
2011-12-11, 08:18 AM
I have burned a Dual Layer files onto a DVD, it verified and completed successfully, but it did have two 'warning type signs' in the log file:

http://i43.tinypic.com/n3kqaa.jpg

Anyone know what this means?
A Dual Layer DVD has two 4.7GB layers.
The inner groove contains the Media Identification Code (MID). The MID contains pre-recorded information as to who manufactured the disc, the byte capacity and permitted burning speeds.
(dependent on both the recorder, or burner, as well as what the disc can handle).

Your dvd burner also contains information in its BIOS.
Basically, the bios info contains instruction on how to deal with different types of recordable media - how to read/write.

In your situation, there is/was a discrepancy between the recorders bios instruction and the MID info embedded on the dvd disc.
The bios in the burner was coded to expect the Dual Layer 'break' to occur at a certain point.. when the MID code on the disc said.. 'no, my dual layer break occurs at X'.
Fortunately, your burner is adaptable - it adjusted/calibrated to the MID code of the disc and the burn was successful.
Either ignore the error or update your burner to the latest bios.

johnlennon696
2011-12-11, 12:20 PM
Thanks very much for the help mate :cool:

johnlennon696
2012-01-12, 06:07 AM
Where would be the best place to put the break in this pic please?

http://i41.tinypic.com/zjxq2e.jpg

johnlennon696
2012-01-12, 09:17 AM
No worries, i picked one using the 'Preview Selected Cell' Option...

tgunn2760
2012-01-12, 01:04 PM
No worries, i picked one using the 'Preview Selected Cell' Option...

Mine shows different coloured stars on the left side, and tells you which is the best choice.

Unidecker
2012-01-12, 02:06 PM
any of those would be good

tgunn2760
2012-01-12, 02:46 PM
any of those would be good

Is there any way to tell if the break falls between songs or chapters?
Is there a way you can choose for the break to fall between chapters?

Drgiggles1
2012-01-12, 03:19 PM
Imgburn suggests breaks for you, lists them, and you can select each and preview before executing the burn. Haven't seen anything that you can place between chapters.

tgunn2760
2012-01-13, 11:44 AM
Imgburn suggests breaks for you, lists them, and you can select each and preview before executing the burn. Haven't seen anything that you can place between chapters.

Probably doesn't make a difference if it's between chapters or not.

xjsb125
2012-01-13, 10:10 PM
Use the preview to try and place it some place not so noticeable. When the disc is playing and hits the layer break, there is always that oh so slight pause. In the middle of a song, it gets annoying.

tgunn2760
2012-01-13, 10:12 PM
Use the preview to try and place it some place not so noticeable. When the disc is playing and hits the layer break, there is always that oh so slight pause. In the middle of a song, it gets annoying.

How do you use preview?

jabulon
2012-01-14, 03:38 AM
How do you use preview?

The ImgBurn Functions (http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=6392)

tgunn2760
2012-01-15, 02:38 AM
How do you use preview?

The ImgBurn Functions (http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=6392)

That's a lotta help.

tgunn2760
2012-01-15, 04:34 PM
Found the preview function.

Really cool!