PDA

View Full Version : Fixing SBE's correctly


Drgiggles1
2010-09-30, 09:53 AM
What is the correct way to assure that no micro gaps or pops exist. When using TLH to fix SBE's does it remove these gaps and pops or do you have to literally convert the flacs to wav, import all wav files into lets say Audacity and creating one big wav file than re-track with CDWAV ????

paddington
2010-09-30, 10:11 AM
if the pops are IN the audio, no.

sometimes the gaps (with abrupt cuts) in the data (audio) between tracks on a badly-tracked (not on boundaries) CD will cause the PLAYER to pop a bit when dropping to dead silence and back again. If THAT is the case, removing all those zeros might allow you to wind up with seamless audio.


The right way to use "gap removal" or "align on sector boundaries" is to do it BEFORE the audio is burned to disc. Once it is burned to CD, there usually isn't going to be a good way of removing the pops / clicks without doing it manually - but you're changing the audio when you do. Once the clicks are there, the audio has been destroyed and really shouldn't be traded.


If you cut the tracks wherever you want in something like cool edit, then, when encoding with FLAC Frontend, using "align on sector boundaries", that option will do a very good job of sliding the splits to the proper spots to be sure each sector is filled with audio data and not trailing zeros.

When you burn to CD, the sectors that are not full WILL fill with zeros, so when you rip it back, you have a bunch of bullshit there to clip out and you cannot do a perfect job - the audio has been compromised.



Better to just pay attention the first time. There is lots of info here to help with aligning CD tracks cuts on sector boundaries.

roann
2010-09-30, 10:18 AM
What is the correct way to assure that no micro gaps or pops exist. When using TLH to fix SBE's does it remove these gaps and pops or do you have to literally convert the flacs to wav, import all wav files into lets say Audacity and creating one big wav file than re-track with CDWAV ????TLH will fix the SBEs if the micro gaps were introduced by burning audio data of incorrect length to audio cd. You don't need to convert the format before fixing, the conversion (flac>wav>flac, for example) is done in the background.

If the micro gaps are not introduced by burning audio data of incorrect length to CD (but by erroneous ripping of an audio CD, for example) you have to _manually_ remove the gaps using an audio editor. This requires decoding to wav format as a first step.

Drgiggles1
2010-09-30, 11:06 AM
Thanks. Two more questions. If files have not been burned to CD but are just on the HDD the fix SBE option in TLH will be sufficient ? Can any issues arise after the fix sbe's option in TLH and than burning to cd ? These shows are not gonna be traded. These are the Nazareth shows which turned out to have issues. For personal use only.