PDA

View Full Version : Port Forwarding On A Wireless Computer?


sanpablobay
2010-09-16, 01:57 PM
I just got a new computer that is wireless and so far I have only been to get my port open once. I was having trouble getting utorrent to work yesterday and then last night when I looked at windows firewall exceptions I saw it only had these exceptions for utorrent "utorrent tcp in" and "utorrent udp in" so i created an exception for just "utorrent" as a whole. this worked. however, when i got up this morning my computer had restarted because of updates and now I can't get my port open again. I retried what I did before and that did not work again.

I've never had this much trouble forwarding my ports on a wired computer so I'm wondering if there is some trick to getting it to work with wireless that I don't know about.

any suggestions?

Thulani
2010-09-16, 02:39 PM
The reason why you had only rules for inbound connections is because Windows Firewall allows outbound connection by default. Did you port forward your router? Is the port in utorrent the same with the one in your router?

sanpablobay
2010-09-16, 03:02 PM
Did you port forward your router? Is the port in utorrent the same with the one in your router?

i've done all that and more. i'm not a noob at this, that's why it's frustrating me.

saltman
2010-09-16, 04:45 PM
do you have a green check mark or an exclamation point triangle in utorrent?

It could be related to the availability of the torrent you are connecting to if there are not a lot of people on it.

sanpablobay
2010-09-16, 05:00 PM
do you have a green check mark or an exclamation point triangle in utorrent?

It could be related to the availability of the torrent you are connecting to if there are not a lot of people on it.

i've seen both the green check mark & the exclamation point. canyouseeme says i'm firewalled. i was just uploading a torrent over at dime and i was listed as firewalled there even though i was uploading at my usual speed. i don't get it.

jabulon
2010-09-17, 10:07 AM
Have you tried another client?

sanpablobay
2010-09-17, 11:10 AM
Have you tried another client?

yes, no difference.

Drgiggles1
2010-09-17, 11:30 AM
When you reboot, does your computer's IP address change ?

sanpablobay
2010-09-17, 11:52 AM
I don't think so. But, I'll check that out in a bit.

sanpablobay
2010-09-17, 12:52 PM
i think i figured it out even though it's says i'm firewalled here, utorrent and canyouseeme say i'm good to go.

i just had to turn off all the computers and reset the modem and router. doh!

direwolf-pgh
2010-09-17, 02:40 PM
is it a true wireless access point or another router on your local network?

if its a second router.. thats why you're firewalled (most of the time)
double router config = bad idea