PDA

View Full Version : Firefox text inputs maxing CPU


oldbrokentapes
2005-05-23, 05:56 AM
OK, this might well be my own fault - I went on a bit of a programs cleanup yesterday and could have uninstalled something I shouldn't have - but if that's the case then hopefully it may be easy to figure out what I need to put back. When using Firefox (IE is fine), typing into a standard text box on a standard form, like this one I'm typing into now, is taking my CPU usage as high as 100% and as such the text input is absolutely crawling across the screen and taking some time to catch up with my fingers. I tried re-installing Firefox but this did not help (though would I need to uninstall first? and if so is there a way to back up my settings?)

Any clues??

Neilyboy
2005-05-23, 08:24 AM
as for backing stuff up in mozilla "C:\Documents and Settings\(Whatever your windows login is)\Application Data\Mozilla"

but i would probably try re-installing java or something.. hehe i dunno what type of script the board is but it sounds like its a plugin missing or corrupted..

neil

oldbrokentapes
2005-05-23, 11:12 AM
Just re-installed Java and that hasn't worked. Shall look at uninstalling Firefox and then starting again!

oldbrokentapes
2005-05-23, 12:10 PM
urgh, tried reinstalling everything, tried a few system restore points, no luck. Any more ideas? System is two years old so maybe a full refresh after exams could have some advantages... :confused: :(

U2Lynne
2005-05-23, 12:19 PM
Can you go back a version of firefox and see if you still have the problem? Also, have you tried looking at their forums (http://forums.mozillazine.org/index.php?c=4) to see if anyone else is having problems?

oldbrokentapes
2005-05-23, 01:17 PM
Can you go back a version of firefox and see if you still have the problem? Also, have you tried looking at their forums (http://forums.mozillazine.org/index.php?c=4) to see if anyone else is having problems?Thanks Lynne, and actually apologies too for not looking in the right places in the first instance! It was the Tabbedbrowser extension that was causing the trouble, as it was incompatible with the newest version of Firefox. Seems it's been buggy for some time too as my whole browsing experience has just sped up dramatically. For anyone with the same problem and seeking a replacement extension, Tab Mix is the way forward.

Thanks again.

(and now I can go back to stressing about revision having spent the whole day wasting my time with computers!)