PDA

View Full Version : why do I get "pops" between tracks on CDRs?


asdf29
2009-08-25, 02:53 AM
I have a problem with small "pops" between tracks on burned cdr's.

At first I thought it was my freeware burning program. Then I upgraded to Roxio. I still get the pops.

I am aware of "padding" causing pops, but Roxio doesn't mention that.

Is it possible TradersLittleHelper is doing this in the decoding
from FLAC to WAV?
I have used TLH to check for SBE's. It says it's all good.

This is happening on virtually every live CDR I burn >from FLAC to WAV to CDR.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

sanpablobay
2009-08-25, 09:48 AM
are your burning Disc At Once or Track At Once? if you burn using TAO it will cause pops. always burn DAO.

asdf29
2009-08-25, 01:43 PM
Oh yes, of course DAO.

I am suspecting the problem is occuring at the decoding phase.

I tried importing tracks into a music editor program, and the pops are present there.

I will uninstall/reinstall TLH, see if that changes anything.

It is possible that the original FLAC's had SBE's....but I am even getting pops on things I transferred from tape to WAV.

Karst
2009-08-25, 03:39 PM
Maybe put in in Audacity and take a screenshot of it. A MP3 might help as well..

Everything you flag up is possible.

Horace
2009-08-26, 09:27 PM
I have used EAC to analyze .wav files for gaps and "pops". It is easy to use and can correct the pop quite easily if it is in the original wav file.
Horace

asdf29
2009-08-27, 02:36 AM
Thanks.

I will download & try EAC.

I will also upload a sample if I can't figure it out.

This is NOT a "gap," it's a tiny, tiny "pop" where tracks join....if you watch your CD display, you hear them when a new track starts. Not every track, but here and there.

obviously this ruins a live recording listening experience, makes me feel like my burns are corrupted.

syncursor
2009-08-27, 02:43 AM
I used to have this problem a lot, also and I found the easiest way to remove the "pop" was to burn Disc-At-Once and crossfade all tracks by 1 frame. You can do this with Nero. I haven't had this problem happen again ever. Good luck !

dorrcoq
2009-08-27, 03:21 PM
Thanks.

I will download & try EAC.

I will also upload a sample if I can't figure it out.

This is NOT a "gap," it's a tiny, tiny "pop" where tracks join....if you watch your CD display, you hear them when a new track starts. Not every track, but here and there.

obviously this ruins a live recording listening experience, makes me feel like my burns are corrupted.

Are you burning MP3 files? Or maybe MP3 files converted back to WAV? MP3 files will always have the click.

asdf29
2009-08-28, 03:01 AM
Definately NOT Mp3.

Just FLAC>TLH>WAV>CDR.

I am trying some re-installations tricks this weekend.

roann
2009-08-28, 05:33 PM
I have a problem with small "pops" between tracks on burned cdr's.

At first I thought it was my freeware burning program. Then I upgraded to Roxio. I still get the pops.

I am aware of "padding" causing pops, but Roxio doesn't mention that.

Is it possible TradersLittleHelper is doing this in the decoding
from FLAC to WAV? ...TLH never did/does this when decoding from flac to wav. It just acts as a frontend for the official flac.exe release that encodes/decodes flawlessly. (Note that replacing any of the console applications installed by the TLH setup with older or newer releases might cause Trader's Little Helper to malfunction.)

... I have used TLH to check for SBE's. It says it's all good. ...Not necessarily. If there aren't any SBEs your audio files have the proper length so your burning application will not add silence to the end of a track (that might be audible as gap/"pop"). But SBE free does not tell you anything about the audio data itself (that already may contain gaps or pops).


Try to rip a CD-R with EAC and compare the original wav file(s) with the ripped one(s). If they are not identical something is wrong with the burning process (there might be a problem with your CD drive but this is just a guess).

Five
2010-01-11, 06:03 PM
just to nitpick a little the files will be almost exactly the same, aside from a sample slide of a few dozen to a few thousand samples (fraction of a second) unless you're burning with corrected offsets using a program like EAC.

but that's nothing much to do with the problem...

hey asdf29, could you try it with burrrn? http://www.burrrn.net/?page_id=4

roxio is not really an upgrade, it has a poor reputation besides the fact that it is included with XP (probably vista & 7 as well) you access it with a right-click option :redface:

why they sell that prog to windows users is beyond me, they basically ripped you off! :mad: certain freeware progs are actually superior to the ones available for purchase in this case.

roann
2010-01-12, 03:10 AM
just to nitpick a little the files will be almost exactly the same, aside from a sample slide of a few dozen to a few thousand samples (fraction of a second) unless you're burning with corrected offsets using a program like EAC. ...From my own experience, not necessarily. In one of my machines I had an older LG and a Plextor CD burner, and I used Nero to burn audio CDs. Nero does not burn with corrected offsets, nevertheless ripping with EAC using zero read offset on both drives did result in _exactly_ the same wav files as used for burning.

saltman
2010-01-12, 08:54 AM
roxio is not really an upgrade, it has a poor reputation besides the fact that it is included with XP (probably vista & 7 as well) you access it with a right-click option :redface:I believe this is inaccurate. Roxio does not come with any form of Windows. Yes windows has its own cd burning function built-in with XP forward. But I don't believe it has anything to do with Roxio.

artisgilmore
2010-01-12, 09:53 AM
roxio used to come with dell desktops in the early 2000s. maybe thats what he was talking about... :hmm: