PDA

View Full Version : Dual-Core Processor for Encoding


Aimee Wilbury
2009-02-19, 05:38 PM
I'm planning to upgrade my computer sometime, and I'm gonna be getting a decent GPU (I'm a bit of a gamer -- no more crummy integrated thing!) and a spare hard drive.

Currently I have an AMD Athlon 64 3500+ which is which is 2200.0 MHz (no overclocking for me).

I've been considering replacing that with a dual-core processor, mainly for faster media encoding, I don't really have any problems with the current one in games. A quad-core is unnecessary right now, and a bit out of my budget. I'm gonna be sticking with an AMD.

Would a dual-core processor be worth the money?

Thank you.

ep620
2009-02-19, 09:49 PM
As long as it doesn't have a crummy integrated thing! :D

direwolf-pgh
2009-02-20, 09:57 AM
you should seduce someone into buying it for you. its cheaper that way.

AAR.oner
2009-02-20, 10:32 AM
yes, watch out for the integrated grahics cards on some "models"...but i'd say it'll be well worth the money when it comes to rendering/encoding times

ep620
2009-02-20, 11:11 AM
Start a thread in the lounge. Someone might have a used computer. :wave:

Aimee Wilbury
2009-02-20, 01:47 PM
Thank you.

paddington
2009-02-20, 02:59 PM
I'm planning to upgrade my computer sometime, and I'm gonna be getting a decent GPU (I'm a bit of a gamer -- no more crummy integrated thing!) and a spare hard drive.

Currently I have an AMD Athlon 64 3500+ which is which is 2200.0 MHz (no overclocking for me).

I've been considering replacing that with a dual-core processor, mainly for faster media encoding, I don't really have any problems with the current one in games. A quad-core is unnecessary right now, and a bit out of my budget. I'm gonna be sticking with an AMD.

Would a dual-core processor be worth the money?

Thank you.

I'd wait until you can get a quad-core and run a 64bit OS. They're getting cheap, and a new 32bit proc will be outdated in a couple years.

Aimee Wilbury
2009-02-21, 12:00 PM
Thank you again.

My current priority right now is to get another HDD, as my crappy Maxtor seems to be wearing out, and we all know MAXTORS SUCK. This is what I get for getting a prebuilt.

so|omonster
2009-02-21, 12:09 PM
I agree with JamesKG. It's not going to be that big of a difference to warrant the change to dual core. Quad core is pretty much the same price anyway. That would be worth doing.

Five
2009-02-25, 06:06 PM
imo design your computer around what you want to be able to do gaming-wise. FLAC will be happy with more horsepower any way you slice it.

Karst
2009-02-25, 06:36 PM
Get a Mac, sexy, sleek, no virus nonsense and fast as lightning.

Go to an Apple Store and talk to a Genius.

You will be amazed.

Aimee Wilbury
2009-02-25, 06:42 PM
Get a Mac, sexy, sleek, no virus nonsense and fast as lightning.

And EXPENSIVE AS HELL!!!!!

LeifH12345
2009-02-25, 06:44 PM
And EXPENSIVE AS HELL!!!!!

and in my experience, (though I don't mean to bash Apple) their products don't last as long.

SundayDriver
2009-02-25, 07:19 PM
no virus nonsense

Unfortunately, that's rapidly changing.

dude87
2009-02-25, 10:21 PM
imo design your computer around what you want to be able to do gaming-wise. FLAC will be happy with more horsepower any way you slice it.

Have to agree - audio processing is a pretty light load for most processors today. Also, newer AMD motherboards (based on the 780g and 790gx chipsets) actually have decent (not great, but decent) integrated graphics chips that will handle some degree of moderate gaming.

Aimee Wilbury
2009-04-07, 06:58 PM
My new computer has a dual-core processor. Using AutoGK, I encoded a 4-minute-or-so video in about 2 minutes (on my old one, it'd take maybe 10).