PDA

View Full Version : Lossy? or just MD?


ry13
2008-06-22, 12:18 AM
Hi there, I've got a recording with unstated lineage, other than that it was originally recorded on a MD in 2004. The frequencies look a bit low, but hey, it could have been a Net-MD.

Also, each track has a .02 gap at the beginning and end. My guess is that it went through lossy compression in addition to the original ATRAC. Any thoughts on this?

Thanks in advance.

RY13

ameyer17
2008-06-22, 01:28 AM
I think MD usually cuts off around 13 kHz, and I think that shows the "lego parapet" pattern in the FA.
I'd guess it's MD.

LeifH12345
2008-06-22, 02:09 AM
I'd guess it's MD.

I'd guess you're wrong. Looks like mp3.

AAR.oner
2008-06-22, 08:43 AM
i'm with Leif, doesn't look like just ATRAC compression on this one

the little micro gaps between tracks are probably sector boundary errors...you can run the files thru xACT or TLH and fix those

Five
2008-06-22, 01:47 PM
I think he means the gaps are right in the tracks, aaron... which could be burned-in sbes but based on the other evidence probably mp3. doesn't look like any atrac (md) codec here (http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/showthread.php?t=8003), its even cutting off lower than an average mp3 as well. I'd say don't trade this one.

ry13
2008-06-22, 05:38 PM
Yes, I meant that the gaps are right in the tracks.

Anyways, I'm pretty sure this went through some lossy compression. Ugh. Just wanted some more opinions on it. Thanks for your help.

ameyer17
2008-06-22, 07:42 PM
I'd guess you're wrong. Looks like mp3.
And you'd be right. I guess I misunderstood the "lego parapet" effect.