PDA

View Full Version : firewall problem


Bieke2be
2005-03-09, 02:42 AM
I had to re-install the pc.
And now Iím having trouble with the firewall. The light is yellow and the download is slow.
os: windows XP pro, service pack 2, virusscanner: Norton, router: Develo
Windows firewall, turned off
Norton virusscanner: just the part for the email scanning is on.
The router: ports 6881-6889 are forwarded. (This was already ok before the re-install, and I didnít touched the configuration.)

I believe I did everything correct to get the green light.
(I had this before the re-install.)
Does someone have any ideas? Every help is appreciated.
Bieke

jcrab66
2005-03-09, 07:05 AM
i believe you also need to open port 6969 so your client can talk to tracker...

Bieke2be
2005-03-09, 08:41 AM
no opening port 6969 is not working.

I feel so frustrated, i tried a lot of things, but nothing is giving the green light.
Bieke

U2Lynne
2005-03-09, 11:13 AM
You don't need to open port 6969.

Have you tried restarting your router (usually power it off for about 30 seconds and then start it again)? Try a very well seeded torrent and see if you can get a green light there (not every torrent rates a green light). Check your local IP for your computer (terminal, ipconfig I believe) and make sure it is the same number that you forwarded the ports to in your router software.

uhclem
2005-03-09, 11:38 AM
I had to re-install the pc.
And now Iím having trouble with the firewall. The light is yellow and the download is slow.
os: windows XP pro, service pack 2, virusscanner: Norton, router: Develo
Windows firewall, turned off
Norton virusscanner: just the part for the email scanning is on.
The router: ports 6881-6889 are forwarded. (This was already ok before the re-install, and I didnít touched the configuration.)

I believe I did everything correct to get the green light.
(I had this before the re-install.)
Does someone have any ideas? Every help is appreciated.
Bieke
It would help to know what client you are using. You don't need to forward all of ports 6881-6889 with most clients, and it appears that the latest official client (v.4) can work with only one port now too.

Bieke2be
2005-03-09, 12:57 PM
I restarted the router, deleted all the forwarded ports, and forwarded them again. Checked if they were the right ports, ip adress.

I use Bit Tornado 0.3.10.

Even with the windows firewall off, i forwarded the ports, made the exceptions, I know this isn't needed.

There must be an other reason i stay behind this firewall.

U2Lynne
2005-03-09, 01:25 PM
Is this for only this site or all sites?

Bieke2be
2005-03-09, 01:52 PM
It's on all the sites.
And the trouble isn't only for Bit torrent.
I'm a frequent user of Direct Connect, here i've the same firewall problems,
i can't use that prog as an active user, only as a passive user, what means i'm behind a firewall.

Bieke

uhclem
2005-03-09, 05:47 PM
I would bet money that you haven't configured your firewall properly. Maybe you could post a screen shot of the set up window and we could take a look at it.

Bieke2be
2005-03-11, 02:30 PM
:redface: Found the solution! Have the green light!

And what a mistake I made!
Making sure everything was ok, I forgot to correct a setting in the router,
the ip of the host...that changes with a new installation.

Thanks anyway, for the help.
Bieke