PDA

View Full Version : Using BitTorrant to Hack??

pmonk
2005-02-14, 04:45 PM
Is this possible???

Five
2005-02-14, 05:10 PM
It is my understanding that there would have to be something in the code of your client for an attack to be made this way. One in a Billion chance, and in the unlikely event you would probably see a thread about it very quickly.

pmonk
2005-02-14, 05:36 PM
I would imagine that! So it would be far-fetched that someone can use my BT client to be able to enter my office network and delete files!

Five
2005-02-14, 06:02 PM
I'm no programmer but I've seen this topic come up several times and the techsperts unanimously agree that bt is safe.

hopefully somebody will stop by and post a more detailed explanation than I'm capable of!

RainDawg
2005-02-15, 07:11 AM
I'm not really qualified to comment, but I'll say that I have heard from people who's opinions I respect that opening ports and using BT software is quite safe.

uhclem
2005-02-15, 02:10 PM
Perfectly safe you say? BitTorrent seems to have hacked my computer pretty bad. I started running it 18 months ago and in that time it has managed to flood my harddrive with SHN and FLAC files. :hmm:

Rider
2005-02-16, 10:58 AM
Nothing is 100% safe but like Five said, there would have to be something in the client. And considering how vocal the BT world is I think the second an exploit came out in one of the BT clients everyone would know about it.

It would also be a good idea to stick with the more well used clients.

pmonk
2005-02-16, 11:42 AM
Just BT clients officially endorsed by STG, R-O and TTD :)

Rider
2005-02-16, 12:17 PM
Just BT clients officially endorsed by STG, R-O and TTD :)

Also becarefull where you get the cleints from. There was a site that was hosting a version of Shadows that was full of spyware

irishcrazy2005
2005-02-16, 12:39 PM