PDA

View Full Version : Boosting the audio signal for DVD


metsker
2006-07-23, 12:31 PM
I'm trying to get a small dvd together, and the audio is fairly quiet,
rather than release it & tell folks 'turn it up', i'd like to boost it in someway.
I've been using DVD Lab Pro for chapter & menus, so the audio is already demuxed into .ac3 without 're-encoding' is there any way to make the signal stronger? Thanks for the help

Five
2006-07-23, 12:59 PM
do you have access to the lpcm wav audio? if its only ac3 you have then boosting the volume will mean that you have to decompress to wav, boost, then re-encode to ac3 which would make it double-lossy.

metsker
2006-07-23, 01:17 PM
it was vhs > standalone burner,
dvd decrypter > vobs > DVD Lab Pro > AC3
if that makes any sense.
I could replay the vhs > standalone & send the audio through a mackie board & booste it there, I was just hoping to find an easier way. guessing not

AAR.oner
2006-07-23, 01:32 PM
will the standalone allow you to capture as LPCM wav instead of AC3, or AC3 yer only option?

if so, i'd recapture that way...then you can dump the wav into any audio editing program and boost the levels easily...

as Five said, you defintiely dont want to go AC3 > wav > boost level > AC3 again

metsker
2006-07-23, 01:46 PM
the standalone has minimal audio options, i extracted it as a set of vobs (which i still have), then the demuxing was with DVD Lab Pro, maybe not 1st choice, but it's easy. I think the best option is to re-encode the audio & send it through a preamp on it's way to the standalone. OR, can I extract the audio from VOB as wav ? sorry for the newb questions, I appreciate it

AAR.oner
2006-07-23, 01:53 PM
i would send it thru yer pre-amp and recapture...to extract the audio from the vob [which you said is AC3, i.e. "lossy"], convert to wav for editing, then re-encode would make it "double-lossy", kinda like taking an mp3, converting to wav, then back to mp3

DVD Lab Pro *might* allow you to adjust audio levels of AC3 files internally, but i've got no knowlege of that program, so...you might check their website or videohelp.com to research more

Five
2006-07-23, 02:13 PM
I could replay the vhs > standalone & send the audio through a mackie board & booste it there, I was just hoping to find an easier way. guessing not
that's your best option.