PDA

View Full Version : Do all computers need to be setup with a static IP w/ forwarding?


thisistoto
2006-05-09, 04:07 PM
I have 3 computers behind a router, and they are all setup for a static ip in order to get all my ports forwarded. Only two of them run any sort of torrents.

My question is do all computers that want to connect to the router have to have a static ip? I ask because sometimes if people come over and want to connect they can't without setting up a static ip.

Thaaaaaaanks.



btw whats going on five?

Chachi420
2006-05-09, 04:54 PM
they should be able to connect without static ip

thisistoto
2006-05-09, 10:48 PM
alright, thanks chach.

U2Lynne
2006-05-09, 10:56 PM
Toto,

Some routers allow to to have a setting of "DHCP plus manual". Then it will usually ask what range to assign the DHCP IPs from. So, you might put in 192.168.1.200. Then, you are allowed to assign manual (static) IPs in the 192.168.1.100-192.168.1.199 range and if someone tries to connect that doesn't have static set up, they will be given a random one above 192.168.1.200.

thisistoto
2006-05-10, 03:23 AM
Thanks Lynne, doesnt seem like I have that option.

gratefulad
2006-05-13, 12:29 AM
what is the downside of having a static ip, i change mine to be static when i originnally forwarded my ports, and i havent noticed much of a difference (browser seems to be running a bit slower, but i think that's cause i got torrents downloading and uploading constantly). anyone know?

thisistoto
2006-05-13, 04:39 AM
there is no real downside, and it wont affect your speed. running torrents will.