PDA

View Full Version : Firewalled?


johnryanbowman
2006-02-21, 09:18 AM
According to Dimeadozen.org I'm not firewalled, but according to thetradersden.org I am firewalled. I use BitTorrent, Windows Firewall, and a Linksys router. I forward port 10500, and I use a static IP address. I'm tired of looking at that red port number. Any ideas? :hmm:

STLBlues
2006-02-23, 04:01 AM
I've got the same problem. In all the years I've been downloading, I've never had my Computer firewalled. Last Saturday, out of the blue, TTD started to show me in the red, along w/ my BitTorrent client (BitTornado) being yellow. No other sites have me as firewalled....any mods know what's up w/ this? Thanks.

TheMamba
2006-02-23, 05:37 AM
What does your cltmt say?

Green lights all the time for TTD torrents?

johnryanbowman
2006-02-23, 01:23 PM
cltmt? :wtf:

johnryanbowman
2006-02-23, 02:30 PM
Most TTD torrents run slowly in BitTorrent and it says that I'm probably firewalled (yellow). However, very few of them will show green.

I just did a test and I connected my modem directly to my computer, without using the router, and I turned off Windows Firewall. BitTorrent was still yellow, and my TTD port number was still red. :down:

I've already done the NAT test and passed. So what's up with that red port number? Thanks.

TheMamba
2006-02-23, 02:56 PM
cltmt? :wtf:

Meant client. Was feeding my daughter and typing with one hand...in the dark! :roflol:

U2Lynne
2006-02-23, 02:58 PM
What client are you guys using? And, if you are using one that allows you to go through just one port, do you have that enabled?

TheMamba
2006-02-23, 03:00 PM
Edit: Nevermind, here's Lynne!

johnryanbowman
2006-02-23, 03:30 PM
I use BitTorrent. The port that it is using is the same port that I have forwarded. I don't think I can set it up to use only one port, but there is a checkbox that says "Enable Automatic Port Mapping (UPnP)." I don't know what that means. :(

U2Lynne
2006-02-23, 04:25 PM
So, you have forwarded a series of ports in your router and XP firewall (maybe five or so?) and you never have more than that amount of torrents running at once, right?

johnryanbowman
2006-02-23, 04:45 PM
I only run one torrent at a time, always.

STLBlues
2006-02-23, 05:54 PM
U2Lynne, I've always used BitTornado v0.3.9. My client has been yellow (only on TTD) since last Saturday. My speeds are fluctuating more now too.

U2Lynne
2006-02-23, 07:08 PM
This is getting even weirder if someone is saying that for them it has only been since Saturday. I know I haven't changed a thing tracker-wise (or even otherwise) on the site since Saturday. STLBlues, are you getting yellows on any torrent from this site, even well established ones? And are you showing up as firewalled here and not on other sites also?

For those of you having problems only showing up firewalled on TTD, what happens when you do a NAT check with a TTD torrent and then with a DIME (or other tracker) torrent? NAT check: http://btfaq.com/natcheck.pl Do you pass for a torrent from each site or only for the non-TTD site?

Simon
2006-02-23, 07:56 PM
Lynne,

I know this is not the right place for it but i didn't feel to open a new thread for it.

Ratios are not updating well also. Usually this happens when Username is not shown on top of IP but now sometimes ratios will not update even if Username is shown.


Regards

STLBlues
2006-02-23, 07:58 PM
I'm getting the yellow light no matter what torrent I download from TTD. Even when I uploaded a torrent on Sunday. On any other site, including DIME, I have green lights and no red numbers. I tried that NAT check (I think I did it right) and it failed for a torrent from TTD, and from DIME. I don't know, pretty confusing. I guess I'll have to do more investiagating. Thanks so much for your help U2Lynne. I'm up for any more suggestions.

Also, as just stated above, I was also having problems w/ my ratio not moving.

U2Lynne
2006-02-24, 12:51 PM
Well, I'm pretty puzzled over both of these.

Regarding it only giving credit when you are downloading, not just seeding.... I wrote down my ul/dl last night before going to bed. I set Azureus up to seed a show and my stats came out just fine this morning (only an addition to my ul stat, not my dl stat), so this must be something that only happens with some people. So, I guess I'm wondering what bt client is being used. This is going to be a weird one to track down. Any information I can get on it would be useful.

As for the firewall issue, I can't think of why you would get the yellow lights here all the time, but not DIME. We use different trackers, I do know that. Do you get yellow lights all the time at bootcity or metallifukinca or metalbootlegdatabase (we all use the same tracker)?

johnryanbowman
2006-02-24, 03:12 PM
NAT check passed on both Dime and TTD.

U2Lynne
2006-02-24, 10:13 PM
Hey guys, I wanted to let you know that I really want to figure this out, it's just real hard for me since I don't experience these problems. If things change at all for you, or you notice anything that might help me track this down, PLEASE post about it.

I've been going over our tracker code as it exists today versus a week ago (for STL who said things changed for him a week ago) and versus last July when we first changed over to this tracker. I'm just not seeing anything that really stands out to me that would cause these problems. I also took a look at the announce code from two other trackers and they figure out the red/black code in the same way that this tracker does and so I can't figure out why ours is 'red' and other sites are 'black'. I'm going to see if I can track down DIME's code and compare that also.

johnryanbowman
2006-02-25, 08:07 AM
I'll let you know if I start getting green lights again, or if anything changes at all. I love this site, and I think this is a minor issue, but a problem none the less. Thanks for the help. :)

Chachi420
2006-02-25, 08:12 AM
try azureus...it's the best client!

U2Lynne
2006-02-26, 07:48 PM
OK, update. I've looked at DIMEs method of determining if someone is 'connectable' or not and it is a bit more complicated than ours. It also uses more resources. However, all our check does is make an entry in the Peers table saying whether or not you are connectable or not and thus allows me to use the variable to write your port in red (if connectable=no) or black (if connectable=yes). That is all that variable is used for. It won't help or hinder your chances of connecting with others - your bittorrent client makes it's own determination on whether you may connect to others or not.

One thing I seem to notice in looking back over this is that stats don't seem to continue to be kept once the downloading is completed for that 'session'. Meaning, if you stopped your torrent after completing and then hit start again, the stats will then update again. Is that true? That would explain why I am fine if I just set myself to seed overnight (my stats update fine when I do that). If you guys are noticing that this is either true or false, holler. It will help me narrow down the problem.