PDA

View Full Version : FLAC and SHN to mp3


aegert
2005-12-15, 06:20 AM
Couldn't fing a thread regarding this...

Let me first state I would never post or trade MP3's.....

As most of us I have an iPod. I would like to go directly from lossless to lossy ala ACC or MP3 so I can skip the wav step. Has anyone heard of an app to do this or is there a 'codec' for diskwriting these lossy files for foobar?

thanks

a

'Some... call me Tim'

TheMamba
2005-12-15, 07:06 AM
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/showthread.php?t=1751

Shawn=)
2005-12-15, 08:01 AM
i'm using the dbPower Amp program to convert shn flac etc to wav or mp3.. it wasn't freeware, but has worked nicely. I also used to rip cd direct to mp3 as well... i rip to 256 kps or 320 kps for higher quality.

for standard CD rip to wav, I use exact audio copy

shawn

aegert
2005-12-15, 09:01 AM
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/showthread.php?t=1751

I would like to use Foobar as in 5's post but as in my post there is no selection on 'make a new' discwriting conversion for MP3... Is there a codec for MP3 that needs to be included or is there another on the list of choices that is MP3 but I am not realizing it?

thanks

a

brimstone
2005-12-15, 10:06 AM
Get LAME and set up a commandline encoder in foobar. There should be some there by default so just open one and set the correct path, parameters, and display name. What parameters to use depends on the quality you want and what version of LAME you've got. Look over at hydrogen audio for tips on what to use:

http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=LAME#Recommended_Encoder_Settings

aegert
2005-12-16, 10:28 AM
Get LAME and set up a commandline encoder in foobar. There should be some there by default so just open one and set the correct path, parameters, and display name. What parameters to use depends on the quality you want and what version of LAME you've got. Look over at hydrogen audio for tips on what to use:

http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=LAME#Recommended_Encoder_Settings


Thanks
That did it Down loaded lame and I am a go... thanks

a :clap: