PDA

View Full Version : best setting for sony vegas 6


bigwurock
2005-11-05, 03:42 PM
what settings are the best for sony vegas 6...or does each video going to be different..i see people set the
resolution,aspect ratio, framework, bitrate ecy..all different...what would be the best..??
thanks..

mort
2005-11-05, 04:15 PM
what settings are the best for sony vegas 6...or does each video going to be different..i see people set the
resolution,aspect ratio, framework, bitrate ecy..all different...what would be the best..??
thanks..



WHAT DO YOU PLAN ON DOING WITH THE OUTPUT DVD AUTHORING

THEN YOU NEED TO USE THE DVD TEMPLATE

saltman
2005-11-05, 04:26 PM
aspect ratio - should be what you shot it in 4:3(full screen) or 16:9(widescreen)

bitrate - depends on the length of the recording. a dvd can use 9800 max which is about 1 hour of video and sound (DVD5) and 2 hours(dvd9). if your footage is longer it will either need to be split into more dvds or compressed. I would say anything below a bitrate of 7000 is not good. but that is personal preference.

make sure you render the video and audio seperately and render in vegas and not in DVDarchitect. use a loop region to render with. select render loop region checkbox. check save markers if you want them... I usually do my tracks in DVDarchitect so I don't use them from Vegas.

for a dvd9
video: file>render as>mpg-2>DVD architect NTSC video stream (full screen template or use Widescreen if filmed in 16:9)
project tab - video rendering qaulity>best
video tab - Variable Bit Rate - click 2 pass - max 9800 avg 9700 min 9600

audio:file>render as>microsoft wav (if you need to resample you can do it here or in DVDarchitect.

bigwurock
2005-11-05, 04:47 PM
aspect ratio - should be what you shot it in 4:3(full screen) or 16:9(widescreen)

bitrate - depends on the length of the recording. a dvd can use 9800 max which is about 1 hour of video and sound (DVD5) and 2 hours(dvd9). if your footage is longer it will either need to be split into more dvds or compressed. I would say anything below a bitrate of 7000 is not good. but that is personal preference.

make sure you render the video and audio seperately and render in vegas and not in DVDarchitect. use a loop region to render with. select render loop region checkbox. check save markers if you want them... I usually do my tracks in DVDarchitect so I don't use them from Vegas.

for a dvd9
video: file>render as>mpg-2>DVD architect NTSC video stream (full screen template or use Widescreen if filmed in 16:9)
project tab - video rendering qaulity>best
video tab - Variable Bit Rate - click 2 pass - max 9800 avg 9700 min 9600

audio:file>render as>microsoft wav (if you need to resample you can do it here or in DVDarchitect.

ok..i do render in vegas..how do i do the files seperate...is the loop render in the vegas or the architect...so when i make the dvd in architect...it does another render..render>process>burn dvd...so i dont want to render the same project 2 times..??..

mort
2005-11-05, 04:56 PM
ok..i do render in vegas..how do i do the files seperate...is the loop render in the vegas or the architect...so when i make the dvd in architect...it does another render..render>process>burn dvd...so i dont want to render the same project 2 times..??..



THATS WHY YOU NEED TO USE THE DEFAULT DVD TEMPLATE

ALSO FOR COMPATIBILITY

bigwurock
2005-11-05, 04:59 PM
how do i get to the default dvd template

mort
2005-11-05, 05:05 PM
how do i get to the default dvd template


WHEN YOU GO TO RENDER AS SELECT DVD

VEGAS IS ON MY OTHER COMPUTER IN MY STUDIO SO I CANT GIVE YOU STEP BY STEP

mort
2005-11-05, 05:06 PM
If You Still Need More Help I Can Jot Down Some Notes Tomorrow When Im In The Studio

bigwurock
2005-11-05, 05:18 PM
If You Still Need More Help I Can Jot Down Some Notes Tomorrow When Im In The Studio

yea that would be great if you can let me know...i will put the video on my HD tonight, then i can render it with some help...i did render it both togethor on vegas...then it got rendered again on dvd architect...what does happen when it gets rendered twice..??..i did this with my first video...??

mort
2005-11-05, 05:21 PM
yea that would be great if you can let me know...i will put the video on my HD tonight, then i can render it with some help...i did render it both togethor on vegas...then it got rendered again on dvd architect...what does happen when it gets rendered twice..??..i did this with my first video...??


ITS NOT GOOD

BUT I HATE DVD ARCHITECH

I RENDER WITH VEGAS AND BURN WITH

DVD FACTORY I FORGET WHO MAKES IT ULEAD I THINK

saltman
2005-11-05, 05:26 PM
ok..i do render in vegas..how do i do the files seperate...is the loop render in the vegas or the architect...so when i make the dvd in architect...it does another render..render>process>burn dvd...so i dont want to render the same project 2 times..??..

you render in vegas. you should render twice (once for audio, once for video). the steps are in my first post.

the loop region will allow you to select the same exact region to render for aud and vid. you could make markers at the beg. and end to snap to. use "m" for the marker when the cursor is where you want it.
when in vegas click on the grey area above your tracks and drag to the left and right to select you loop region. this will highlite the region.

the will generate two files a .mpg and a .wav. these are the streams you will combine in dvd architect. use dvd architect to author your menus selecting the two files above. select your chapters using markers.

when you prepare the dvd.... (generating the video_ts folder). it will compress the menu items and may try to compress your video, audio, etc... you can hit the optimize dvd button and control what is being compressed or not. don't let it render your video here (which would be twice).

saltman
2005-11-05, 05:28 PM
THATS WHY YOU NEED TO USE THE DEFAULT DVD TEMPLATE

ALSO FOR COMPATIBILITY

he asked for the best method. the easiest often isn't.

mort
2005-11-05, 05:43 PM
he asked for the best method. the easiest often isn't.



OK ITS ALL YOURS CHIEF


I WILL OFFER NO MORE ADVICE ON THE SUBJECT AND LET YOU WALK HIM INTO COASTER HEAVEN !

bigwurock
2005-11-05, 06:18 PM
i am looking for input from all..lets not start anything!!..just wanting to learn the full use of the vegas and dvd architect

Chachi420
2005-11-05, 08:30 PM
I'd listen to Saltman... :wave:
that's the way I do it too...

yeltzin_4
2005-11-05, 10:31 PM
for a dvd9
video: file>render as>mpg-2>DVD architect NTSC video stream (full screen template or use Widescreen if filmed in 16:9)
project tab - video rendering qaulity>best
video tab - Variable Bit Rate - click 2 pass - max 9800 avg 9700 min 9600

audio:file>render as>microsoft wav (if you need to resample you can do it here or in DVDarchitect.
If you're using a video bitrate of 9600 to 9800, you're going to need to compress the audio stream into AC3 or mp2 because the bitrate for PCM wav (microsoft wav) is 1536 kbit/sec which will exceed the DVD spec when combined with the video. Remember the maximim bitrate for DVD is 9800 kbit/sec - your audio, video, subtitles, headers etc. cannot exceed this figure. If you set your MAX video bitrate to 9300 and your audio bitrate to 448 then you won't exceed the limit.

Here's a link to a bitrate calculator which will help you set the correct bitrate depending on the length of your source material. It's designed for TMPGENc, but it is still applicable for Sony Vegas...
http://dvd-hq.info/Calculator.html

saltman
2005-11-06, 01:00 PM
yeltzin_4 - I've never heard that before but that makes sense. I'm going to do some more research into that. I and many others have made MANY dvds as posted above without problems.... other than the incompatibility with old dvd players with high video bitrates, which will also be a problem if made as you described. generally they can't handle video bitrates over 8000.

I think the Max total bitrate is 10.08 Mbps. but I'm gonna check into that.

mort
2005-11-06, 01:05 PM
If you're using a video bitrate of 9600 to 9800, you're going to need to compress the audio stream into AC3 or mp2 because the bitrate for PCM wav (microsoft wav) is 1536 kbit/sec which will exceed the DVD spec when combined with the video. Remember the maximim bitrate for DVD is 9800 kbit/sec - your audio, video, subtitles, headers etc. cannot exceed this figure. If you set your MAX video bitrate to 9300 and your audio bitrate to 448 then you won't exceed the limit.

Here's a link to a bitrate calculator which will help you set the correct bitrate depending on the length of your source material. It's designed for TMPGENc, but it is still applicable for Sony Vegas...
http://dvd-hq.info/Calculator.html




i hate to say i told you so


but

i told you so !

saltman
2005-11-06, 01:11 PM
learn something new each day... but use the steps I outlined above adjusting for the total to be under 10080. If you want maximum compatibility with older drives keep your video under 8000. so 8000 plus 1536 = ok.

However, I and many others on here have done as mentioned above and never run into troubles.. maybe many dvd players can read dvds out of spec. not that that's a good idea.

Limulus
2005-11-06, 01:51 PM
as a fact 9800kbps is dvd standard for maximum bitrate video combined with audio. as soon as you'll go/have more than 9800kbps your DVDR doesnt fit the dvd specification for compatibility. this "can" cause problems on stand alone dvd players.

bigwurock
2005-11-06, 01:56 PM
is there a way i can move my video on the vegas 6 without shrinking it...i have added the video and new audio...but i have about 1 min more audio at the beginning than the video..i move the video down, it just shrinks the video..try to shrink the audio at the end of the first track doesn't work also..so how can i line up the first track with the 1+ mins of more audio than video....

saltman
2005-11-06, 02:52 PM
as a fact 9800kbps is dvd standard for maximum bitrate video combined with audio. as soon as you'll go/have more than 9800kbps your DVDR doesnt fit the dvd specification for compatibility. this "can" cause problems on stand alone dvd players.

this is incorrect. the max total is 10.08 as stated above.

Up to 10.08Mb/s total combined bitrate. Up to 9.8Mb/s max video bit-rate. CBR, CVBR, or VBR

http://www.digitalfaq.com/dvdguides/authorburn/intro.htm#dvdspec

saltman
2005-11-06, 02:55 PM
is there a way i can move my video on the vegas 6 without shrinking it...i have added the video and new audio...but i have about 1 min more audio at the beginning than the video..i move the video down, it just shrinks the video..try to shrink the audio at the end of the first track doesn't work also..so how can i line up the first track with the 1+ mins of more audio than video....

not sure exactly what you're wanting... if you click in the middle of the video file and drag it... it will move without stretching (this would get your video out of synch of your audio if you have already lined them up...). if you hover over the beginning of the audio... the cursor will change. clicking and dragging with this cursor will cut the audio without stretching. (this method would cut the xtra audio while keeping the synch) maybe you could add a slideshow as filler if you want the extra audio?

Limulus
2005-11-06, 05:35 PM
this is incorrect. the max total is 10.08 as stated above.

Up to 10.08Mb/s total combined bitrate. Up to 9.8Mb/s max video bit-rate. CBR, CVBR, or VBR

http://www.digitalfaq.com/dvdguides/authorburn/intro.htm#dvdspec

- nope, final correct info here:

"The maximum bit rate is 9.8 Mb/s for video, audio and subpictures (the overall maximum, including control information, being 10.08 Mb/s)."


anyway using LPCM and videobitrates 9600-9800 you surely have authored some dvds out of the dvd specifications!

Chachi420
2005-11-06, 05:52 PM
is there a way i can move my video on the vegas 6 without shrinking it...i have added the video and new audio...but i have about 1 min more audio at the beginning than the video..i move the video down, it just shrinks the video..try to shrink the audio at the end of the first track doesn't work also..so how can i line up the first track with the 1+ mins of more audio than video....
you can also drag the edges of the video while simultaneously clicking on the ctrl, alt, or ctr+alt keys to gives different functionality...it is all outlined in the help page

saltman
2005-11-06, 05:59 PM
as a fact 9800kbps is dvd standard for maximum bitrate video combined with audio. as soon as you'll go/have more than 9800kbps your DVDR doesnt fit the dvd specification for compatibility. this "can" cause problems on stand alone dvd players.

- nope, final correct info here:

"The maximum bit rate is 9.8 Mb/s for video, audio and subpictures (the overall maximum, including control information, being 10.08 Mb/s)."


anyway using LPCM and videobitrates 9600-9800 you surely have authored some dvds out of the dvd specifications!


do you know how dumb you sound... you quoted something explainig the opposite of what your saying. and confirmimg my statement of 10.08 Mb/s.

and i am just trying to offer a step by step explanation... not just partial info.
yes my first entry was wrong. yes the info contained is still good. great thing factual discussion is..... everyone learns something.

saltman
2005-11-06, 06:11 PM
i did render it both togethor on vegas...then it got rendered again on dvd architect...what does happen when it gets rendered twice..??..i did this with my first video...??

each rendering introduces artifcats. rendering the same info twice can make these really noticeable. the encoders of typical consumer software is not really setup to render audio and video together with the highest quality. If you research online you will find it is common practice to render the audio and video separately. this is two sep. renders but not the same info. being rendered twice.

Limulus
2005-11-06, 07:11 PM
haha, true....i was wrong with 9800 combined with video/audio in my first post, also misread some part of your 10.08 post. yeah, "step by step" though thats a New Kids On the Block-song :lol

some little offtopic but it theoretical seems doing LPCM and 8544kbps CBR would totally quality-outmax a 60min(or less) show for a 4,37gb DVDR??

AAR.oner
2005-11-06, 07:34 PM
fwiw--most of the pro-editors i've worked with, when working with LPCM and a short enough video sequence to encode at highest quality, will choose 8.0Mbps...theory is great, but reality-wise, you won't gain much from encoding at 8.5 or 9.0Mbps...and as stated above, some SA's have problems dealing with a bit rate over 8.0Mbps