The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 2010-04-27, 10:51 AM
Thulani's Avatar
Thulani Thulani is offline
172.31 GB/208.97 GB/1.21
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Romania
Re: OK I've done everything but still Firewalled on Comcast

Simple Port Forwarding. Try this tool. It has a lot of routers in the list and if it doesn't have yours it offers a tool on their website to record your router screen. The guy who's in charge of this program is very quick with the rooter updates.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baloo
They'll ruin him. They'll make a man out of him.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #32  
Old 2010-08-28, 05:08 PM
wolfsblade's Avatar
wolfsblade wolfsblade is offline
98.04 GB/260.15 GB/2.65
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anywhere i can rest my head
Icon4 Re: OK I've done everything but still Firewalled on Comcast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachary Taylor View Post
thanks mrpete if you have any ideas, I went through the steps on the port forwarding links a while back and had no success, but I'm willing to look back into it if there are any ideas or suggestions.

Toshiba DAZ8821F

Level One WBR-6001

pretty sure this isn't static

utorrent clicked enable UPnP port mapping ?

utorrent test says I'm good right now, and my check mark is green.

uTorrent 2.0.1 (build 18833)

I'm about to pick a torrent to run and see if I'm listed as firewalled or not before I continue.

Now trying to seed
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ad.php?t=30355

I'm firewalled. A couple of days ago, I wasn't for a while.

Any of you experts have any ideas other than I've configured wrong or Comcast is screwing with me, I'm willing to go through the steps again (tomorrow though, it is late )
get off comcast residential svces period. xfinity is comcasts way of screwing us all so get off of that too while you're at it. were on comcast business class here so if you want to go that route, do it. hmm, 45 a month to be throttled by comcast and xfinity offers the same speed and throttling for half that. pay 10-15 bucks more a month and get a comcast biz class pipe. you dont need a static ip unless you host a site. the dhcp from them would be just fine. anyways food for thought folks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #33  
Old 2010-08-28, 05:11 PM
wolfsblade's Avatar
wolfsblade wolfsblade is offline
98.04 GB/260.15 GB/2.65
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anywhere i can rest my head
Lightbulb Re: OK I've done everything but still Firewalled on Comcast

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfsblade View Post
get off comcast residential svces period. xfinity is comcasts way of screwing us all so get off of that too while you're at it. were on comcast business class here so if you want to go that route, do it. hmm, 45 a month to be throttled by comcast and xfinity offers the same speed and throttling for half that. pay 10-15 bucks more a month and get a comcast biz class pipe. you dont need a static ip unless you host a site. the dhcp from them would be just fine. anyways food for thought folks.
best part of the cc biz class pipe. no throttling, no limits, no cap, no bullshit, period!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #34  
Old 2010-08-29, 08:25 PM
Billyki's Avatar
Billyki Billyki is offline
1.41 GB/2.90 GB/2.06
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Re: OK I've done everything but still Firewalled on Comcast

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfsblade View Post
best part of the cc biz class pipe. no throttling, no limits, no cap, no bullshit, period!
No doubt cc biz is a good deal. The only shortcoming I have come across is the SMC Modem/Router. You really cannot do enough with it to make torrent NOT drain your connection. The ability to set the number of ports and timeout settings for TCP and UDP like DD-WRT allows for is sorely missed. These settings made a huge difference and now without them torrents are bogging down the network again. Working on the issue though, will see what I can do.
Just an FYI
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #35  
Old 2010-08-30, 06:13 AM
showtaper's Avatar
showtaper showtaper is offline
304.10 GB/469.31 GB/1.54
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Re: OK I've done everything but still Firewalled on Comcast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billyki View Post
No doubt cc biz is a good deal. The only shortcoming I have come across is the SMC Modem/Router. You really cannot do enough with it to make torrent NOT drain your connection. The ability to set the number of ports and timeout settings for TCP and UDP like DD-WRT allows for is sorely missed. These settings made a huge difference and now without them torrents are bogging down the network again. Working on the issue though, will see what I can do.
Just an FYI
Use a client that allows setting upload / download limits. I'm currently using
utorrent which allows setting limits for each torrent. I'm sure others do as well.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #36  
Old 2010-08-30, 12:41 PM
Billyki's Avatar
Billyki Billyki is offline
1.41 GB/2.90 GB/2.06
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Re: OK I've done everything but still Firewalled on Comcast

Thanks, I was referring to the massive amount of connections that can over run your router as stated here in a DD-WRT wiki:
Quote:
Usually the culprits are heavy P2P software like Emule, Bittorrent, uTorrent, Azureus, Shareaza or something similar. These programs, by default, can require a lot of connections which could cause the routers' ip_conntrack table to get full.

* Especially BitTorrent's DHT feature sends thousands of UDP packets that quickly overflow this table.
I already use connection controls and I use the scheduler to balance traffic usage so most of my torrenting goes on when folks are not using the network for surfing or watching TV shows! I am also exploring limiting connections within utorrent.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #37  
Old 2010-08-30, 11:22 PM
showtaper's Avatar
showtaper showtaper is offline
304.10 GB/469.31 GB/1.54
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Re: OK I've done everything but still Firewalled on Comcast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billyki View Post
Thanks, I was referring to the massive amount of connections that can over run your router as stated here in a DD-WRT wiki:

I already use connection controls and I use the scheduler to balance traffic usage so most of my torrenting goes on when folks are not using the network for surfing or watching TV shows! I am also exploring limiting connections within utorrent.
Never ran into that problem with comcast or my router (Linksys). After comcast
got popped for forging disconnect packets they then moved on to port blocking.
About every two to three weeks of heavy use I'd find my ability to d/l or seed
to be almost gone. Change the port assignment in utorrent, change the setting
in the router - back in business.

Between that and issues with their cable service - I've moved on. Not perfectly
thrilled with AT&T U-Verse, but the internet is much better in my area.....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #38  
Old 2010-08-31, 09:10 PM
mdshrk1's Avatar
mdshrk1 mdshrk1 is offline
Purveyor of the Eclectic
TTD VIP
23.95 GB/5.62 TB/240.42
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: In the middle of the Land of Disillusionment
Re: OK I've done everything but still Firewalled on Comcast

Every fucking month, cc adds some kind of bs charge that ups the bill. blech!
__________________
Democracy is the theory that the common people know what they want, and deserve to get it good and hard.
H.L. Mencken

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cock View Post
People suck. I'd rather look at memes and gifs of people doing stupid shit that confirms my misanthropic views than actually deal with their shit face to face.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #39  
Old 2011-04-19, 10:57 PM
teamhood's Avatar
teamhood teamhood is offline
TTD VIP
843.74 GB/890.16 GB/1.06
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: OK I've done everything but still Firewalled on Comcast

Any advice on comcast biz class > linksys router? I can't seem to get decent torrent speeds. I've got the smc3g from comcast have it in dmz to my linksys. Torrent speeds horrible....
__________________
jewel of Wilson's foul domain
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone else getting 100 KB/sec upload with Comcast? - Lou Technobabble 9 2008-06-16 10:39 PM
Got the call from Comcast ! - Paul56 Technobabble 50 2008-01-24 03:22 AM
Hooking up a Comcast HD box to a MAC - cr8ed Technobabble 3 2007-10-25 06:34 AM
Comcast IP Problems - myron Technobabble 5 2006-03-31 06:25 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts