The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 2009-12-12, 04:50 PM
billsweeps's Avatar
billsweeps billsweeps is offline
103.47 GB/62.40 GB/0.60
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

here is what the site error said.


Error: I could not see your service on 98.193.xx.xx on port (19571)
Reason: Connection timed out

Background

Most residential ISP's block ports to combat viruses and spam. The most commonly blocked ports are port 80 and port 25.

Port 80 is the default port for http traffic. With blocked port 80 you will need to run your web server on a non-standard port in conjunction with a port 80/web redirect from No-IP.com.

Port 25 is the default port for sending and receiving mail. ISPs block this port to reduce the amount of spam generated by worms on infected machines within their network. If you need to send legitimate email and your ISP blocks port 25. Consider the solutions from No-IP.com.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #17  
Old 2009-12-12, 04:54 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

** IP info in previous post changed for your privacy**

Quote:
Originally Posted by billsweeps View Post
here is what the site error said.


Error: I could not see your service on 98.193.xx.xx on port (19571)
Reason: Connection timed out
This is the only important info - forget all that other stuff.
Timed out = blocked = port closed

1. verify your computer IP / Vuse port
2. verify IP/port in Linksys
3. check port at www.canyouseeme.org

if blocked > check for software firewall programs like Symantec Internet Security, Windows firewall...etc..etc.

wash, rinse, repeat

+++++++

question: is your Linksys an access point or a router..seems to me Comcast would give you a separate/different router.
which in short means: You may have two routers = screwed

solution test: plug your laptop directly into the Comcast router with cable

Last edited by direwolf-pgh; 2009-12-12 at 05:04 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #18  
Old 2009-12-12, 07:19 PM
billsweeps's Avatar
billsweeps billsweeps is offline
103.47 GB/62.40 GB/0.60
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

comcast gave me a modem and I hooked up my linksys wireless router. I cant plug right into the modem because the rest of the house (ie; kids) wouldnt be able to use there laptops. i guess I am screwed.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #19  
Old 2009-12-12, 07:43 PM
direwolf-pgh's Avatar
direwolf-pgh direwolf-pgh is offline
On the Beach
666.18 GB/1.29 TB/1.99
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: down in the basement
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

yeah, that is a double router config.
I'm sorry, but I wont try and walk you through that - too many variables.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #20  
Old 2009-12-12, 09:08 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: Firewall, ratio not accurate

It is OK to be firewalled - it seems about 30% of users are. The problem with being firewalled is that you may only connect to non-firewalled users. This isn't a big issue if you are on a very active torrent. But, it can be a problem is there are only a couple of users on a torrent and you are firewalled. Actually, if you are all firewalled, it's a huge problem because no one will connect to anyone else.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Tags
firewalled, ratio

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
no firewall = no firewall - Bar Technobabble 8 2009-12-13 07:43 AM
Firewall help please - Orn Technobabble 0 2007-08-25 07:10 PM
Firewall - AfroCuban Technobabble 2 2007-08-18 09:03 PM
firewall ? - willipie Technobabble 1 2006-12-13 12:25 PM
Firewall? - blaznphish Technobabble 3 2006-04-06 02:00 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts