The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #76  
Old 2009-01-21, 10:43 AM
trustthex's Avatar
trustthex trustthex is offline
Trainwreckin' Fool
606.84 GB/3.05 TB/5.15
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Denton, TX
Re: tape transferring

on the topic of dithering... i did not at all like what dithering in audition did to my masters. it added noise or something, maybe it was the plugin i used, i don't know....


i only use r8brain, it just sounds so much better.
__________________
The critics of the Information Age see everything in the negative, as if the quantity of information can lead to a loss of meaning. They said the same thing about Gutenberg.
-Timothy Leary


Meatwad: I thought you said TV was bad.
Frylock: It is. But we fucking need it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by general eclectic
There's a big difference between getting trashed and disappearing.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #77  
Old 2009-01-22, 01:17 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: tape transferring

thanks zeek for the samples... I still have to pour over them in more detail & do some testing with r8brain vs audacity for resampling & dithering. main thing I'm realizing here is that the dither in Audacity is plain crap and that is at the root of my assumptions.

zeek, would it be possible for you to also share the source 24/48 file that you used to make your comparison? I'd like to try resampling and dithering it in audacity and see what a difference there is...

Aaron: did you know goldwave can do 64bit ? is there any hardware that can support it, I wonder?
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #78  
Old 2009-01-22, 02:06 PM
zeek's Avatar
zeek zeek is offline
197.82 GB/788.06 GB/3.98
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA
Re: tape transferring

Here ya go,

https://www.yousendit.com/download/W...NmM5RlpMWEE9PQ


Thats the 24/48.

A good rule of thumb for dithering/sample rate conversion software. if it's fast, it's not being done properly. Goldwave has one of the noisiest

Sample rate conversion is another beast all together. heres a cool comparison site if your interested in the mechanics of different software.

http://src.infinitewave.ca/
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #79  
Old 2009-01-22, 03:15 PM
dorrcoq's Avatar
dorrcoq dorrcoq is offline
Champion of the Silent
TTD VIP
624.37 GB/1.88 TB/3.08
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: tape transferring

I used Goldwave for dithering at one point, but it was crap.
__________________
how can I obey the rule about no sexually explicit posts after seeing Lynne's back?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rider
I think Gray has all these grand plans and I'm sorry to bring it up when it came down to it he couldn't even sell t-shirts without fucking it up.

"please mind your own fucking business, you Looney cocksucker" - Freezer, 7/12/06
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #80  
Old 2009-01-22, 09:15 PM
zeek's Avatar
zeek zeek is offline
197.82 GB/788.06 GB/3.98
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA
Re: tape transferring

If your serious about doing things to their most, this is a great deal

$400

http://losangeles.craigslist.org/lgb...003574252.html

I don't know the seller, it's just hit off an RSS feed so do your homework, but $400 for that card is a pretty good deal. They sell for $800 to $1200 nes, unopened
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #81  
Old 2009-01-23, 01:07 PM
trustthex's Avatar
trustthex trustthex is offline
Trainwreckin' Fool
606.84 GB/3.05 TB/5.15
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Denton, TX
Re: tape transferring

so this ableton live 7 program is the best then, its spectrals are off the map compared to anything else. r8brain looks pretty clean, if thats what we are going for?
__________________
The critics of the Information Age see everything in the negative, as if the quantity of information can lead to a loss of meaning. They said the same thing about Gutenberg.
-Timothy Leary


Meatwad: I thought you said TV was bad.
Frylock: It is. But we fucking need it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by general eclectic
There's a big difference between getting trashed and disappearing.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #82  
Old 2009-01-23, 02:05 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: tape transferring

I would guess that ableton live 7 is optimized for electronic sounds, thus it performs very well on things like sine waves and such but not necessarily for traditional music.

r8brain free appears to throw everything out of phase (see the 'pulse' test) I'll double-check that with my own tests later...

zeek, thanks for the original btw how to compare the original test sample with the results on that site? generate your own at 48kHz? any tips on reading those graphs is appreciated thx.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #83  
Old 2009-01-23, 02:12 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: tape transferring

i use ableton...although great for electronic music & live sequencing [which is what it is geared toward], i've never found it to be lacking when it comes to "traditional music" or multitrack recording...used it a few times to mix live recordings i've made, and i find its EQ/compression/etc to be more than satisfactory for the task

just a fwiw
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #84  
Old 2009-01-23, 02:12 PM
zeek's Avatar
zeek zeek is offline
197.82 GB/788.06 GB/3.98
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA
Re: tape transferring

If you go down to the "help" icon, it gives a good breakdown of the graphs. It gets a little complicated and they probably do a much better job than I would
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #85  
Old 2009-02-09, 05:43 PM
desiderus's Avatar
desiderus desiderus is offline
42.56 GB/40.83 GB/0.96
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: tape transferring

I've been trying out transferring some tapes lately, but I've ran into some problems. I'm getting very low peaks (~ -15dB) and I can't adjust my tape deck or soundcard to add more gain. My tape deck hasn't got an adjustable master level, and I've set the analog mixer completely open in my soundcard mixer. I can't adjust the soundvolume in my control panel for the recording equipment. For some reason it stays blank.

Any ideas how to solve this problem? I rather not add that much gain post transferring and I was hoping there could be some sollution to add gain while transferring. I'm using wavelab 5.0 right now and I don't think it has an option to add gain while transferring. Are there any programs available to add gain while transferring?

I hope someone is able to help me out!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #86  
Old 2009-02-10, 12:48 PM
zeek's Avatar
zeek zeek is offline
197.82 GB/788.06 GB/3.98
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA
Re: tape transferring

looking at your soundcard, not really familiar with it

here is the manual

ftp://ftp.steinberg.net/Download/Har...0_en_2463K.pdf

Look at page 9, it looks like there is a master volume control clear to the right, do you see that on your sc console?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #87  
Old 2009-02-10, 03:09 PM
showtaper's Avatar
showtaper showtaper is offline
304.10 GB/469.31 GB/1.54
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Re: tape transferring

Do you have onboard (motherboard) sound? If so, you may want to turn it
off (if possible) in BIOS.

After doing so, reinstall the software for your card, and then update from the
manufacturer's website, if available.......
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #88  
Old 2009-02-10, 04:38 PM
showtaper's Avatar
showtaper showtaper is offline
304.10 GB/469.31 GB/1.54
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Re: tape transferring

Quote:
Originally Posted by jameskg View Post
if you plan for it to be burned to CD, transfer at 2ch, 16bit, 44.1kHz, as that is what it will need to be before torrenting, etc..

unless you aim for an archival-grade transfer.. in which case you' aim for something higher. but then you'll need to downsample for anyone to want it... and the quality of the dithering can adversley affect your audio, making it less-natural than if you;d tranferred at 44.1k/16b/2ch to begin with.
Instead of downsampling, why don't you just capture it at several different rates??

Most consumer software sucks at sample rate conversion & dithering.......
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #89  
Old 2009-02-10, 04:54 PM
GRC's Avatar
GRC GRC is offline
Trader since 1980
1.86 TB/1.37 TB/0.73
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Re: tape transferring

Quote:
Originally Posted by showtaper View Post
Instead of downsampling, why don't you just capture it at several different rates??
Because it would eat at least double the hard drive space that a single capture would....?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #90  
Old 2009-02-10, 06:52 PM
showtaper's Avatar
showtaper showtaper is offline
304.10 GB/469.31 GB/1.54
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Re: tape transferring

Quote:
Originally Posted by GRC View Post
Because it would eat at least double the hard drive space that a single capture would....?
I thought we were talking quality here......

Storage is cheap. I'm slowly transferring several thousand analog masters
(audio and video) and am sampling at several rates and depths......
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Tags
much ado over nothing, throw the analog tapes away

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Transferring vinyl to digital - Scott Technobabble 11 2008-12-01 04:03 AM
Help with transferring/seeding/etc...! - dannyandamie Technobabble 14 2008-11-26 11:13 PM
Transferring Mini DV to DVD - bosscheech Technobabble 9 2008-09-15 11:00 AM
transferring cassettes to cdr - PEPPER Technobabble 20 2007-01-15 05:37 PM
Transferring analog videos - DanielG Technobabble 0 2006-11-15 07:33 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts