The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble > Lossy or Lossless?
 

Notices

Lossy or Lossless? Please use this forum to post spectral and frequency analysis posts about shows you have your doubts about.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 2007-08-10, 08:34 PM
paddington's Avatar
paddington paddington is offline
please look after this bear
TTD Staff
83.17 GB/882.10 GB/10.61
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Re: Is decompressed AC3 lossy?

I really wish all these lossy codecs weren't suddenly available as lossless, too (AC3, WM9 (WMA), AAC, etc) it REALLY is going to confuse a lot of people soon, once stuff starts spreading that way... makes it much harder to tell what is crap and what is not without having to analyze each file
__________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring, and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007 / JUL / 26
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #17  
Old 2007-08-10, 08:47 PM
KoolKat's Avatar
KoolKat KoolKat is offline
Video Guru
49.89 GB/89.01 GB/1.78
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: On A Shelf Near You
Re: Is decompressed AC3 lossy?

Yeah i know what you mean & why call these sudden lossless ones the same bloody name.That's a boggler too

____________________________
"There are some of these recordings where it is just a whirring and you cannot hear the music. " - Jimmy Page, 2007.JUL.26

"yes, but making copies of copys of copys of audio cdrs, then extracting WAV>FLAC, putting it on the internet, burning that to audio cdr, oops I lost the info & screwed up the date, mailing that, copying it again to audio cdr, put this in my cd player & what's that sound? click, crackle pfffft oh shit maybe we should avoid this. - FIVE, 2007.JUL.28

"it sounds ok to me" - Demonoid member 2007.JUL.29
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #18  
Old 2007-08-10, 10:12 PM
tgunn2760's Avatar
tgunn2760 tgunn2760 is offline
1.12 TB/1.19 TB/1.06
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, eh?
Re: Is decompressed AC3 lossy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KoolKat
AC3>LPCM = Not lossy,just a bloated AC3
Some VHS's used to say Dolby on Linear tracks

But tgunn,between you & me(hopefully),i wouldn't do what i 100% know you are thinking.The definitive is being worked on......Shhhhhh

K_K
Exactly. If the original audio was mono, then reducing the lossless stereo LPCM to mono would not make it lossy, and it would fit on a DVD5. I HATE DVD9s and splitting one into two DVD5s. I do it when I must, as I recently did with CologneShark's Steve Miller DVD9.

I quadrupled the volume on that one.

I hope whoever is working on the "definitive" increases the volume in Goldwave, it makes a HUGE difference. I will probably DL it even if it's a DVD9, just to extract the audio. My "decompressed" AC3 version sounds great, I sincerely hope the one being worked on sounds as good or even better. I'm also curious to see if my ears can tell the difference.

Thanks for replying.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #19  
Old 2007-08-10, 10:20 PM
tgunn2760's Avatar
tgunn2760 tgunn2760 is offline
1.12 TB/1.19 TB/1.06
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, eh?
Re: Is decompressed AC3 lossy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jameskg
I'm confused.. if you decompress AC3 (I assume you mean to 48kHz WAV), you don't get back the audio data that was discarded when it was compressed to AC3.

It should sound the same. Unless you then RE-encoded to AC3 again.. THAT would sound terrible.
Yes, the AC3 was decompressed to wav, when I dropped it into Tsunami DVD Author it said "LPCM" mono, as I deleted one channel and doubled the volume.
(as Bob the Guru suggested. On account of this I wondered if the original audio was mono.)

The full file was 1.2 GBs, the mono about 585 MBs, it fit perfectly onto a DVD5, with motion menu it came to 4.27 GBs, and sounds great.

But you do get back some of the compressed data. The AC3 audio is about 1/4 of the LPCM.

Anyway, KK knows what this is all about, so if says the definitive version is being worked on, expect something really exceptional to happen. The video on this DVD is excellent, and I expect the audio will be too.

Thanks for replying.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #20  
Old 2007-08-10, 10:20 PM
KoolKat's Avatar
KoolKat KoolKat is offline
Video Guru
49.89 GB/89.01 GB/1.78
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: On A Shelf Near You
Re: Is decompressed AC3 lossy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tgunn2760
then reducing the lossless stereo LPCM to mono would not make it lossy

Thanks for replying.
Now thats a different ball park & would

K_K
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #21  
Old 2007-08-11, 01:19 AM
tgunn2760's Avatar
tgunn2760 tgunn2760 is offline
1.12 TB/1.19 TB/1.06
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, eh?
Re: Is decompressed AC3 lossy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KoolKat
Now thats a different ball park & would

K_K
If the original audio was stereo. Was it? I don't know, this is what I have been wondering about.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble > Lossy or Lossless?

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
lossy yes? - zepaero Lossy or Lossless? 6 2006-07-29 10:44 PM
Is this lossy? - Garteh Lossy or Lossless? 6 2006-05-21 09:38 AM
Are these lossy? - Meurglys0 Lossy or Lossless? 24 2006-05-16 01:15 AM
Lossy or md? - calvin1663 Lossy or Lossless? 3 2006-05-14 09:32 PM
Lossy? - nickdogg2001 Lossy or Lossless? 4 2006-04-21 05:06 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts