The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #286  
Old 2006-09-22, 04:19 AM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.21 TB/588.95 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Lightbulb How to open the user manual

Quote:
Originally Posted by sikamikanico83
where is that users manual supposed to be? sorry but I couldn't find it. ...
(a) Choose the Help item in the system menu of Trader's Little Helper as described by yanosh above, or
(b) choose the User Manual item usually located in Start > Programs > Trader's Little Helper, or
(c) switch to the page of Trader's Little Helper you want to use and press the F1 key.

Note that using the F1 key will open the manual with context-sensitive information so you don't have to use the manual's table of contents to find the item you're looking for.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #287  
Old 2006-09-22, 04:41 AM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.21 TB/588.95 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Icon4 Error when "Audio file details" is processed on ape files

Quote:
Originally Posted by yanosh
... I'm getting an error whenever I try to check the "audio file details" of .ape files.
Is it just me here?
Unfortunately not, same here ... seems that for ape files this function is ... errr ... slightly erroneous . Note that using Audio file details with flac, shn, and wav files works fine.

I'll try to fix that bug over the weekend.

Robert
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #288  
Old 2006-09-22, 08:53 AM
range_hood's Avatar
range_hood range_hood is offline
lsmf
11.44 GB/10.00 GB/0.87
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: Trader's Little Helper

One minor suggestion:
On verifying a batch of files in different folders it would be great if we could get a summary of the processed batch (if there were errors or not). On a large verification batch this can save much time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Process log

File '\Who By Numbers Demo Tape 1975 FLAC\1Who By Numbers Demos wave.md5'

Line 001: file 'WHOBYNUMBERS01.wav' does not exist, or cannot be opened.
Line 002: file 'WHOBYNUMBERS02.wav' does not exist, or cannot be opened.
Line 003: file 'WHOBYNUMBERS03.wav' does not exist, or cannot be opened.
Line 004: file 'WHOBYNUMBERS04.wav' does not exist, or cannot be opened.
Line 005: file 'WHOBYNUMBERS05.wav' does not exist, or cannot be opened.
Line 006: file 'WHOBYNUMBERS06.wav' does not exist, or cannot be opened.
Line 007: file 'WHOBYNUMBERS07.wav' does not exist, or cannot be opened.
Line 008: file 'WHOBYNUMBERS08.wav' does not exist, or cannot be opened.

There were errors.


File '\edj2005-07-20\edj2005-07-20.md5'

Line 001: file 'edj2005-07-20.d01t09.shn' verified ok (checksum does match).
Line 002: file 'edj2005-07-20.d01t01.shn' verified ok (checksum does match).
Line 003: file 'edj2005-07-20.d01t02.shn' verified ok (checksum does match).
Line 004: file 'edj2005-07-20.d01t03.shn' verified ok (checksum does match).
Line 005: file 'edj2005-07-20.d01t04.shn' verified ok (checksum does match).
Line 006: file 'edj2005-07-20.d01t05.shn' verified ok (checksum does match).
Line 007: file 'edj2005-07-20.d01t06.shn' verified ok (checksum does match).
Line 008: file 'edj2005-07-20.d01t07.shn' verified ok (checksum does match).
Line 009: file 'edj2005-07-20.d01t08.shn' verified ok (checksum does match).

No errors occured.
Summary: (f.e.: errors in processed batch)
Thank you Robert.

richard
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #289  
Old 2006-09-22, 09:10 AM
range_hood's Avatar
range_hood range_hood is offline
lsmf
11.44 GB/10.00 GB/0.87
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Just noticed - the scrolling through the Process log for red text may be no probem for others.
As I have a weakness descerning the colours red and green I'm searching through the log for "There were errors."
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #290  
Old 2006-09-22, 01:10 PM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.21 TB/588.95 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Arrow Re/Fix: Error when "Audio file details" is processed on ape files

In a nutshell, there is no (new) bug in Trader's Little Helper when it comes to deal with ape files. If you are familiar with shntool you can proof this by using shntool at the command line (same error message(s)).

The reason for all that mess is the file mac.exe of Monkey's Audio. In the previous releases of Trader's Little Helper mac.exe v3.99 was included, in the new one it is mac.exe v4.01b2. Seems that shntool can not properly communicate with the latter, or maybe there was something changed in the new version ... I'm sorry to say I don't know. It would be great if someone here knows something more specific about it.

So, what to do? You have to re-install mac.exe v3.99. Download the file from here, and copy it to your Windows directory to replace the one Trader's Little Helper had installed.

Robert
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #291  
Old 2006-09-22, 01:15 PM
heyyo's Avatar
heyyo heyyo is offline
161.77 GB/294.84 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Re: Trader's Little Helper

After i updated my THL , it cant unpack .Shn files anymore... says : "CallingLong-01.shn: file is possibly truncated or corrupt." , and ive tried it on alot of diffrent files , from diffrent albums etc , wich i could decode with the old one , anybody have any clue how to solve this problem ?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #292  
Old 2006-09-22, 01:26 PM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.21 TB/588.95 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by heyyo
After i updated my THL , it cant unpack .Shn files anymore... says : "CallingLong-01.shn: file is possibly truncated or corrupt." , and ive tried it on alot of diffrent files , from diffrent albums etc , wich i could decode with the old one , anybody have any clue how to solve this problem ?
What update do you mean, Trader's Little Helper v1.0.0.72 to v1.1.0.89, or mac.exe v4.01b2 to v3.99 (see my post above)?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #293  
Old 2006-09-22, 01:31 PM
heyyo's Avatar
heyyo heyyo is offline
161.77 GB/294.84 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by roann
What update do you mean, Trader's Little Helper v1.0.0.72 to v1.1.0.89, or mac.exe v4.01b2 to v3.99 (see my post above)?
heyyaaa ,

im using Windows XP , its TLH v1.1.0.89 , i had v1.0.0.72 before , and i could decode SHN without a problem with that version.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #294  
Old 2006-09-22, 01:59 PM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.21 TB/588.95 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by heyyo
heyyaaa ,

im using Windows XP , its TLH v1.1.0.89 , i had v1.0.0.72 before , and i could decode SHN without a problem with that version.
No problem here. The last about ten minutes I've decoded a couple of shn files located on different folders/drives, and there were no errors.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #295  
Old 2006-09-22, 04:23 PM
heyyo's Avatar
heyyo heyyo is offline
161.77 GB/294.84 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Re: Trader's Little Helper

it dosnt work for me :-/ , i reinstalled it.. still get the same error , on every .shn file i try to open ... :-/
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #296  
Old 2006-09-22, 04:29 PM
Borlag's Avatar
Borlag Borlag is offline
368.77 GB/639.95 GB/1.74
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Helsinki, Funland
Re: Trader's Little Helper

SHNs work just fine for me also, installed the latest version directly on top of the other without uninstalling.

However, for some odd reason it sometimes seems to stop accepting FLAC files and will always say that they're possibly corrupt, rebooting the computer seems to fix this. The same thing used to happen occasionally with the previous version as well.

Not sure if it's related or not, but I also use a software called Hub Audio Tools which forces itself as the default program for SHNs, APEs, FLACs, md5's and other checksum files.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #297  
Old 2006-09-22, 04:44 PM
yanosh yanosh is offline
725.96 MB/81.91 MB/0.11
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Israel
Re: Re/Fix: Error when "Audio file details" is processed on ape files

Quote:
Originally Posted by roann
In a nutshell, there is no (new) bug in Trader's Little Helper when it comes to deal with ape files. If you are familiar with shntool you can proof this by using shntool at the command line (same error message(s)).

The reason for all that mess is the file mac.exe of Monkey's Audio. In the previous releases of Trader's Little Helper mac.exe v3.99 was included, in the new one it is mac.exe v4.01b2. Seems that shntool can not properly communicate with the latter, or maybe there was something changed in the new version ... I'm sorry to say I don't know. It would be great if someone here knows something more specific about it.

So, what to do? You have to re-install mac.exe v3.99. Download the file from here, and copy it to your Windows directory to replace the one Trader's Little Helper had installed.

Robert

Thanks for the advice but I'm not sure if that's what I'm going to do.
I still prefer to use a new version of ape for encoding then to use an old one just for viewing the audio file details.
After all, what interests me in "audio file details" is to find SBE and those can be found by checking the wav files (can decode and check them).
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #298  
Old 2006-09-23, 03:44 AM
roann's Avatar
roann roann is offline
TTD Staff
1.21 TB/588.95 GB/0.48
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Planet Earth
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by heyyo
it dosnt work for me :-/ , i reinstalled it.. still get the same error , on every .shn file i try to open ... :-/
Sometimes there is more than one instance of the files involved located in the Windows OS folders. Open Windows Explorer, right-click on your Windows folder and choose Search ... to open the Search dialog window. Enter the following line (including spaces) to the search field:

cygwin1.dll shorten.exe shntool.exe

The files should only be located in WINDOWS. If you've found them in system32 too you need remove them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borlag
... However, for some odd reason it sometimes seems to stop accepting FLAC files and will always say that they're possibly corrupt, rebooting the computer seems to fix this. The same thing used to happen occasionally with the previous version as well.

Not sure if it's related or not, but I also use a software called Hub Audio Tools which forces itself as the default program for SHNs, APEs, FLACs, md5's and other checksum files.
This is really odd ... I don't know Hub Audio Tools (where can I d/l them ... just Googled but no results). To be sure you need to uninstall both Hub Audio Tools and Trader's Little Helper, reboot, re-install only Trader's Little Helper, reboot, and test it some time. So it's up to you ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by yanosh
Thanks for the advice but I'm not sure if that's what I'm going to do.
I still prefer to use a new version of ape for encoding then to use an old one just for viewing the audio file details. ...
According to Monkey's Audio website respectively the forum there are problems with v4.01b2. Seems format / encoding / decoding wasn't changed at all. So there will be no disadvantages using v3.99. If you have a look at the version info of v4.01b2 it still says v3.99 ...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #299  
Old 2006-09-23, 04:23 PM
Borlag's Avatar
Borlag Borlag is offline
368.77 GB/639.95 GB/1.74
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Helsinki, Funland
Re: Trader's Little Helper

It's a tool that someone (not sure who) from the Iron Maiden trading community created for their DC++ hub, it's available here: http://www.ironmaidenlewes.com/downl...io%20Tools.zip
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #300  
Old 2006-09-30, 04:08 PM
range_hood's Avatar
range_hood range_hood is offline
lsmf
11.44 GB/10.00 GB/0.87
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: Trader's Little Helper

Created an st5 from a 2GByte wav-file and it just took a part of a second, same on verifying.
An md5 took the time I expected.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Tags
tlh, traders little helper

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
trader's little helper ? - Mills1988 Lossy or Lossless? 4 2008-03-25 11:19 AM
Trader's Little Helper Help? - dannyandamie Technobabble 2 2007-08-26 01:44 PM
TRADER'S LITTLE HELPER ERROR... - Tuttle Technobabble 6 2007-01-16 06:46 PM
Trader's Little Helper errors, need help please: - donovana Technobabble 4 2005-12-22 06:08 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts