The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #106  
Old 2005-07-07, 11:39 PM
MarcoEsc's Avatar
MarcoEsc MarcoEsc is offline
175.79 GB/190.55 GB/1.08
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Re: Video edit

Quote:
Originally Posted by PY1TE
What would you guys say is "the best" software to purchase for video editing. I found some old VHS that i want to sync better audio, add menus, etc.

Thanks
Ben
If you know somebody who works at Adobe, I think the best deal is through their employee purchase program. They encourage their employees to buy for friends and family.

I use the Adobe Video Collection Pro. It includes Premiere Pro (editing), Encore DVD (authoring), Audition (audio), Photoshop and After Effects Pro. Employee purchase price: $100.

Great tools, great price. Premiere Pro on its own is $40 employee price.

Go find a friend at Adobe. They have 4,000 employees, so somebodys gotta know someone...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #107  
Old 2005-07-08, 07:30 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Video edit

alright...for PC's you've got:

entry-level editing--
Adobe Premiere Elements [~$99]
Ulead [~$99]

advanced editors--
Adobe Premiere Pro [~$700]
Sony Vegas + DVD production Suite [~$500]

if yer new to editing and just wanna transfer some stuff, or edit without using alot of filters [i.e. color correction, etc] i'd just get Premiere Elements or Ulead...i've never used either tho, so i can't comment as to which of the two is better....

if you think this is something you wanna get serious about, i'd sell yer PC and get a Mac G5
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #108  
Old 2005-07-08, 07:31 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Video edit

[quote=MarcoEsc]
I use the Adobe Video Collection Pro. It includes Premiere Pro (editing), Encore DVD (authoring), Audition (audio), Photoshop and After Effects Pro. Employee purchase price: $100.
/QUOTE]
that's a deal! from $1500 to $100...nice discount!
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #109  
Old 2005-07-20, 12:13 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Sony Vegas 6.0b Help Plz!!!!!

why do my posts keep getting deleted? I have answered this question 3 times in two separate threads... and they are ALL deleted....

you need to turn off scene detection. it is trying to determine its own scenes for you. if you turn it off you will get one contiuous capture. If you look close at the split ones you will notice that they aren't exactly continuous. for example look at the position of the audio and video tracks.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #110  
Old 2005-07-26, 11:59 PM
Jrref1756
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
DVD Menu Tool

I'm looking to find a program that adds menus and such to a video file I have. I was wondering if anyone had suggestions on which to use. I'm looking for ease of use and also cost. Thanks for everyones help!

-Sal
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #111  
Old 2005-07-27, 10:18 PM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: DVD Menu Tool

assuming yer on windows OS, nero will do it...not the greatest
IMO, but thats the only "cheap" one i know of [tho i'm sure there are others--anyone?]
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #112  
Old 2005-07-28, 07:54 AM
4candles 4candles is offline
6.36 GB/18.25 GB/2.87
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: DVD Menu Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by AAR.oner
assuming yer on windows OS, nero will do it...not the greatest
IMO, but thats the only "cheap" one i know of [tho i'm sure there are others--anyone?]
I'm not a user, but lots of people seem to recommend TMPGenc DVD Author as very good value for (little) money.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #113  
Old 2005-07-28, 07:56 AM
RPG
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: DVD Menu Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrref1756
I'm looking to find a program that adds menus and such to a video file I have. I was wondering if anyone had suggestions on which to use. I'm looking for ease of use and also cost.
Try DVD-LAB Standard DVD authoring tool from Mediachance. It can do pretty much everything but subtitles and it's limited to a single audio stream (one PCM or AC3/MPEG track). And it's cheap too ($99). There is a shareware version - download and give it a try.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #114  
Old 2005-07-28, 09:13 AM
Jrref1756
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: DVD Menu Tool

Thanks for the help everyone! I didn't know nero could make menus...that might be the best bet for me because I already have the full version. Thanks again!

-Sal
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #115  
Old 2005-07-28, 10:18 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: DVD Menu Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrref1756
Thanks for the help everyone! I didn't know nero could make menus...that might be the best bet for me because I already have the full version. Thanks again!

-Sal
yep...NeroVision Xpress...don't expect antyhting fancy but, it'll let you author a DVD with simple menu atleast
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #116  
Old 2005-08-07, 10:19 PM
Datfly Datfly is offline
Taper
1.15 TB/502.39 GB/0.43
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South Florida
Standalone to Chaptered DVD

I have a few DVDs that are Master video to Standalone DVD.
I want to rip (demux?) them so I can add a menu and such.

Can someone point me to a page that tells me how to do this ?
I have Vegas Video, DVD Decrypter and have made videos.....
but I have never doen this.....

ANY help would be grateful.....

Thanks,
Datfly
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #117  
Old 2005-08-08, 12:58 AM
feralicious's Avatar
feralicious feralicious is offline
dare to discover
63.44 GB/133.90 GB/2.11
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: occasionally
Re: Standalone to Chaptered DVD

This site will have guides, tutorials, links to tools and everything else you need... www.videohelp.com

Another one you can try is www.doom9.org
__________________
feralicious goodies
Don't get even.
Get odd.

....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #118  
Old 2005-08-19, 01:05 AM
joshuaturner
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Capturing Video from VHS > DVD

Hey,
This is a newbie question...
I (well my mate) has come into a load of vhs (master) videos from a friend and was looking to convert them to dvd. What is the best way to convert vhs to dvd while maintaining the highest fidelity and quality?
Also, what would the source lineage for a vhs master to dvd conversion look like?

vhs (type of camera)>(input cable to computer)>(software to convert to dvd)>DVDR(?)

I understand that DVD extraction to audio is lossy ... and so a no-no (in my book). Is VHS>DVD lossy in anyway?

I searched the forums and the FAQs (I saw that there is a segment coming, but no FAQ currently available) but couldn't find anything.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #119  
Old 2005-08-19, 01:13 AM
New Homebrew
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Capturing Video from VHS > DVD

> What is the best way to convert vhs to dvd?

There's a lot of different ways based on how much time and money you want to spend. It sounds like you might have a DV camera, which may allow you to convert the video using your camera and feed the digital signal to your computer by USB or firewire.

> I understand that DVD extraction to audio is lossy ...

Not always. ac3 (Dolby) audio encoding is lossy, PCM audio is not. But, not all standalone DVD recorders allow you to encode PCM.

> I searched the forums and the FAQs

Try http://digitalfaq.com to get started...

It helps to know what kind of hardware you have.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #120  
Old 2005-08-19, 05:11 AM
Dylz Dylz is offline
18.13 GB/10.50 GB/0.58
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Re: Capturing Video from VHS > DVD

Hey
I'm the guy inheriting these VHS tapes. I'm getting VHS from two people. Both of them filmers.

One of them has a camera that records straight to VHS. He says 'broadcast quality VHS' (which might just be a selling point for when the camera was new... which i think was some time ago). He is sending me the actual master VHS tapes that he filmed to and I am transferring it to DVD.

The second is a guy who has taped on mini-dv and dumped to VHS directly from the camera (plugging the camera into his VCR). I am also transferring these to DVD.

I'm transferring them to DVD like this. My university has these dumping machines in the edit suites, not sure what they're called or what the make/model is (I can find out). Basically I pop the VHS into the machine which is connected to a PC via firewire and I capture video in Adobe Premiere Pro v1.5. The format I capture in is uncompressed AVI... I'll hafta check it out but I'm pretty sure it would be PCM 44khz or whatever. I'll confirm this when I have my first attempt if need be.

If I were to rip the audio i'm thinking it wouldn't be Lossy. Is it acceptable? And what would the lineage be?

for case 1 ripping to audio
type of camera > VHS(M) > firewire > AVI (capture device and premiere pro) > WAV (export wav in premiere pro) > FLAC > CDR(1)

for case 2 ripping to audio
camera > miniDV(M) > VHS(1) > firewire > AVI (capture device and premiere pro) > WAV (export wav in premiere pro) > FLAC > CDR(1)

corrections?

Thanks.

Last edited by Dylz; 2005-08-19 at 05:17 AM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Help on DVD authoring... - hallucinogenetick Technobabble 4 2008-06-06 01:13 AM
.vob dvd authoring - N8Slyce Technobabble 2 2007-06-01 08:38 AM
DVD Authoring Question - forbin23 Technobabble 2 2006-12-05 09:15 PM
DVD authoring help - jlinkon Technobabble 12 2006-10-28 10:47 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts