The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #61  
Old 2005-04-20, 01:41 PM
DrRock's Avatar
DrRock DrRock is offline
Licensed to Schwill
303.94 GB/374.99 GB/1.23
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill, FL
DV master conversion question

I currently working a lotus dv show and have some size questions.
Tape 1 is 9 gig Tape 2 is a little over 8. What do I do to shrink the video so I don't have to use 5 dvds. The format Vegas captured it is avi. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
thanks
CS
__________________
Don't be a ticketless wook or well dressed fat black guys will school you something fierce. -PT
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #62  
Old 2005-04-20, 01:58 PM
LazyTaper's Avatar
LazyTaper LazyTaper is offline
Too Big To Fail
47.12 GB/66.63 GB/1.41
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Re: DV master conversion question

all programs capture in .avi. you will have to "render" these files either prior to "authoring" or some dvd authoring programs have an encoder built in. My process is avi to mpg2 via vegas (mainconcept encoder, built in) using the dvd template. I adjust the settings to have the bitrate I want. (You can use a bitrate calculator to help) than I use these files in DVDarchitect. To do this you need to know the bitrate to use so that your files won't be over 4.7GB. This requires a little trial and error and experience. It also helps to render the video and audio separately. If you use the same render zone they will line up. This also helps when you make a sbd version and a aud version cause you only have to render the video once. Be aware that rendering is the most time consuming process. I have a REALLY fast computer and it takes close to an hour and a half to render a dvd. Some computers take close to 8 hours. Good luck
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #63  
Old 2005-04-20, 04:15 PM
DrRock's Avatar
DrRock DrRock is offline
Licensed to Schwill
303.94 GB/374.99 GB/1.23
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Re: DV master conversion question

yeah I've done the mpeg2 and audio rendering before when making dvds, but this is the first time I've actually captured video from a master. I'd appreciate if we could more at length about this subject either msn msnger or by phone. I'd call you so it wouldn't cost you anything but time. I don't want to botch this so any help would be really appreciated. Pm me the info if you want.
Thanks
CS
__________________
Don't be a ticketless wook or well dressed fat black guys will school you something fierce. -PT
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #64  
Old 2005-04-27, 02:43 PM
silentmachine's Avatar
silentmachine silentmachine is offline
I'm down here for your soul
23.34 GB/1.93 GB/0.08
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Limerick, Ireland
Icon4 DVD Lab Pro Menu Backgrounds - HELP!

I'm using DVD Lab Pro to do a DVD slideshow

I exported all my slides out of Microsoft Powerpoint as bitmaps (.bmp)

I then imported these bitmaps into DVD Lab Pro and set them as backgrounds and slides for the slideshow.

Problem is, when I compile the project and run the DVD these bitmap images have reduced in quality...noticably!

Can anyone please tell me why this happens and if it can be rectified?

I tried converting the bitmaps to JPEGs and PNGs, finding the same problem.

Thanks in advance!!!
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #65  
Old 2005-04-27, 04:01 PM
silentmachine's Avatar
silentmachine silentmachine is offline
I'm down here for your soul
23.34 GB/1.93 GB/0.08
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Limerick, Ireland
Re: DVD Lab Pro Menu Backgrounds - HELP!

Anyone?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #66  
Old 2005-04-27, 04:26 PM
silentmachine's Avatar
silentmachine silentmachine is offline
I'm down here for your soul
23.34 GB/1.93 GB/0.08
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Limerick, Ireland
Re: DVD Lab Pro Menu Backgrounds - HELP!

Getting the same problem with TMPGEnc DVD Author 1.6

Is this a universal problem with DVD menus?
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #67  
Old 2005-05-03, 06:51 PM
dupreesdiamond's Avatar
dupreesdiamond dupreesdiamond is offline
251.82 GB/309.40 GB/1.23
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re-author DVD to add Menu's

Hello,
So I just got into DVD trading. I do NOT (read cannot) want to spend money on software. I do NOT want to muck with the audio or video in any way. Simply add chapters and chapter marks.

I have accquired several Disks that do not have menus or correct chapter marks. I would like to fix this. I have a PX716A DVD burner with the bundled plextools software. And Nero 6 Ultra edition. Will I need other software? If yes then are there FOSS [Free Open Source Software] options?

Pointers to "howto"s and tutorials are greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #68  
Old 2005-05-03, 10:43 PM
h_vargas
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Re-author DVD to add Menu's

a good open source authoring application would be VERY cool. unfortunately, i don't know of any... have you checked out videohelp.com (under Tools on the navigation bar to the left) to see if they have any freeware listed for authoring? if you haven't, no biggie, i haven't either.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #69  
Old 2005-05-03, 11:34 PM
WTSHNN WTSHNN is offline
13.61 GB/38.48 GB/2.83
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: Re-author DVD to add Menu's

I mean absolutely no disprespect to anyone by saying this, but I really think it is up to the person who transfers the video to DVD to make a menu. I can't believe these people can take the time to properly transfer a video but can't take an hour to put in a menu and chapters.
IF they did, then you'd have 1 show. IF they don't, then you have hundreds of versions of shows if everyone starts adding their own menus.
Just my .02
__________________
"No one wants advice - only corroboration."
John Steinbeck

Don't just start encoding all your old VHS to DVD, check to see if there is a better source out there.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #70  
Old 2005-05-04, 12:26 AM
New Homebrew
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Re-author DVD to add Menu's

Quote:
Originally Posted by WTSHNN
I mean absolutely no disprespect to anyone by saying this, but I really think it is up to the person who transfers the video to DVD to make a menu. I can't believe these people can take the time to properly transfer a video but can't take an hour to put in a menu and chapters.
IF they did, then you'd have 1 show. IF they don't, then you have hundreds of versions of shows if everyone starts adding their own menus.
Just my .02
Authoring takes me much longer than transfer since there are so many variables involved and it can get so complex. The only thing that really matters is keeping track of the source material's origins.

Here's a link for turning your DVD into elementary components for re-authoring:

http://www.videohelp.com/forum/archive/t224833.html

When you are ready to author your DVD, some good programs are Sony DVD Architect and DVD Lab Pro. It will take some time and experimentation to really get satisfactory results.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #71  
Old 2005-05-04, 09:20 AM
dupreesdiamond's Avatar
dupreesdiamond dupreesdiamond is offline
251.82 GB/309.40 GB/1.23
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Re-author DVD to add Menu's

Thanks!! Looks like I have a lot of reading and experimenting to do.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #72  
Old 2005-06-13, 09:17 PM
andyshuf
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Video Ts Folder > Final Cut Pro?

Does anyone out there know how to get the video from a dvd download into final cut pro. I know that I can make a dvd and then transfer it to mini dv and then capture that on my deck, but it will take an all ready compressed format and compress it again for the final dvd. I want to avoid this. Im trying to sync a soundboard audio source with the corresponding video source to increase the quality. Can anyone help? Thanks everyone.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #73  
Old 2005-06-13, 10:12 PM
diggrd's Avatar
diggrd diggrd is offline
1.10 TB/1.70 TB/1.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SWNH
Re: Video Ts Folder > Final Cut Pro?

www.videohelp.com
__________________
DEMONROAST
LIST
Scene of a Perfect Crime


Quote:
Originally posted by frankenberry
anybody else who decides to call me a fuckhead troll newbie (you know who you are) should be made to listen to phish bootleg taped by a '73 led zeppelin taper
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #74  
Old 2005-06-14, 12:35 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Video Ts Folder > Final Cut Pro?

you might be able to import the .vob files like you would a regular clip, and then adjust the audio in the timeline...

i've sampled the video track from a .vob file before, but never with the audio track...let me know if it works...
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #75  
Old 2005-06-17, 06:14 PM
walter2 walter2 is offline
400.12 GB/929.20 GB/2.32
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: KY
Final cut pro, root menu?

so, i made my dvd, and the menu wont come up when i play it, it goes straight to the video, but goes to the menu if you press the title button, what do i do to make it the root menu? thanks
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Help on DVD authoring... - hallucinogenetick Technobabble 4 2008-06-06 01:13 AM
.vob dvd authoring - N8Slyce Technobabble 2 2007-06-01 08:38 AM
DVD Authoring Question - forbin23 Technobabble 2 2006-12-05 09:15 PM
DVD authoring help - jlinkon Technobabble 12 2006-10-28 10:47 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts