The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #256  
Old 2005-12-31, 03:42 PM
ween4me ween4me is offline
2.12 TB/810.08 GB/0.37
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: DVD synch help Video ~ Audio ?

As mentioned before, you can use Sony Vegas to synch the two parts up. I just did so for my first time and it came out pretty good. Be prepared to spend some time on this, especially if there are video cuts. (you have to resynch the parts up again) In my case I had the same problem plus the video and audio were captured at different speeds.(the audio is slightly faster) So I had to adjust the speed of the audio to match the video. This can all be done in vegas. I'm sure there are other programs so this is just one suggestion.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #257  
Old 2006-01-01, 07:47 PM
PintOfGuinness2 PintOfGuinness2 is offline
1.03 TB/1.07 TB/1.03
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Vegas+Architect Questions

OK. I have a few questions I need answers for so I can render a project tonight.
1. I see sources for videos saying that they used 5,6,7 etc. pass VBR for encoding. However as far as I can tell in VEgas there's only and option for 2 pass. How do you render at more then 2 passes? is it possible with Vegas?
2. Can someone please go through the options that I should check for rendering a 720X480 Widescreen DV-capture with Vegas to a mpg, and then the to vobs using Architect. It's confsing because every step of the way there's options for ratio and I often end up with a video that is elongated or reverse letterboxed etc. Does this make sense?? There has to be otehr people out there that get confused with this..
3. Last question Should I render the video in Vegas with the Audio stream or just render the video in Vegas and add the audio stream in Architect during the final DVD authoring???
Thanks so much for anyhelp If I get straightened out tonight I should have the 2nd set of Phil and Friends 12-01-05 available by tommorow evening
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #258  
Old 2006-01-01, 07:49 PM
PintOfGuinness2 PintOfGuinness2 is offline
1.03 TB/1.07 TB/1.03
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Vegas+Architect Questions

I should note with question 2. I shot in true widescreen 720-480 and want my final authored DVD to be in anamorphic preserving the native ratio of the video
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #259  
Old 2006-01-01, 08:05 PM
Chachi420's Avatar
Chachi420 Chachi420 is offline
db.etree.org/chachi420
TTD VIP
206.73 GB/1.15 TB/5.72
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Vegas+Architect Questions

http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...t=aspect+ratio
__________________
"dance to Jah music, dance....forget your sorrows and dance...forget your troubles and dance....forget your sickness and dance....forget your weakness and dance..." ~B.Marley

"If your share ratio is less than 1.0, then please offer b&ps and/or freebies to give back to the TTD community" ~Chachi
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #260  
Old 2006-01-01, 08:06 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Vegas+Architect Questions

1. As far as I am aware Vegas only does 2 pass VBR. You can use an external encoder (bypassing Vegas's internal Mainconcept encoder) with Vegas such as one from Canopus that does 6 pass VBR. That's probably what you've seen.
2. You want to go File Properties and make it NTSC WS with LPCM in vegas. Then when you go File Render the options depend on the length of the disc. You're gonna need a bitrate calculator, use google. You need to render the audio and video separately in Vegas. Start with the filtype mpeg-2, DVDArchitect videostream NTSC WS template. Edit it to use your bitrate choice. Assuming it's less than an hour per disc... use a 2 pass VBR of something like 8200 max, 8100 avg, 8000 min. (I know those numbers are close together but it's been my experience this will have better results than say a 8100 CBR). Then render your audio using the same start and stop points (loop region) using the wav template (48k).
3. You render the video and audio separately in Vegas. Then you combine them with your menus, etc. in DVDA, making sure not to rereder them at this step.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #261  
Old 2006-01-01, 08:07 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Vegas+Architect Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chachi420
beat me to it.. nice info.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #262  
Old 2006-01-01, 08:11 PM
Chachi420's Avatar
Chachi420 Chachi420 is offline
db.etree.org/chachi420
TTD VIP
206.73 GB/1.15 TB/5.72
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Vegas+Architect Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltman
beat me to it.. nice info.
your info is better, or at least complimentary...that should be a sticky in the tapers forum
__________________
"dance to Jah music, dance....forget your sorrows and dance...forget your troubles and dance....forget your sickness and dance....forget your weakness and dance..." ~B.Marley

"If your share ratio is less than 1.0, then please offer b&ps and/or freebies to give back to the TTD community" ~Chachi
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #263  
Old 2006-01-01, 08:24 PM
PintOfGuinness2 PintOfGuinness2 is offline
1.03 TB/1.07 TB/1.03
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Vegas+Architect Questions

OK Thanks a lot for the help. Im still a little confused though. When I choose 1.2121 as a pixel size and select "simulate devce ratio" in the preview. The preview resolution ends up being 873X480 which doesn't make any sense right?? if I shoose 1.00 pixel size the preview shows up as 720X480
Also If I have sections of the video that are black or just aslide show wouldn't I benefit from selecting a lower min bitrate??? Since these are still images I would think that 2 high of a bitrate on those sections would be a waste. I have 1:27 minutes of video (10+ minutes of which is a slide show) that I'd like to fit on a DVD5. but am unsure if this will be too poor of a bitrate
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #264  
Old 2006-01-01, 08:38 PM
Chachi420's Avatar
Chachi420 Chachi420 is offline
db.etree.org/chachi420
TTD VIP
206.73 GB/1.15 TB/5.72
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Vegas+Architect Questions

I've always just used the default bitrate setting of 6,000,000 max, 4,000,000 avg, 192,000 min....that's probably a little low though now that I think about it...try 8,100,000 max, 8,000,000 avg, and 192,000 min
__________________
"dance to Jah music, dance....forget your sorrows and dance...forget your troubles and dance....forget your sickness and dance....forget your weakness and dance..." ~B.Marley

"If your share ratio is less than 1.0, then please offer b&ps and/or freebies to give back to the TTD community" ~Chachi
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #265  
Old 2006-01-01, 08:40 PM
PintOfGuinness2 PintOfGuinness2 is offline
1.03 TB/1.07 TB/1.03
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: Vegas+Architect Questions

That's what I was thinking Chachi. I appreciate all your help I'm doing my best to try and teach myself but don't want to circulate "crap" as a result :-) Thanks again
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #266  
Old 2006-01-02, 01:49 AM
yeltzin_4
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Vegas+Architect Questions

Here's a pretty nifty bitrate calculator. Althought it's designed for TMPGEnc, it's still valid for Vegas Video.
http://dvd-hq.info/Calculator.html

The most crucial inputs are "Source Length" and "Audio Format".

You say that your video is 1 hour 17 minutes long (excluding the slideshow).
If you use PCM audio (1536 kbit/sec)then your VIDEO bitrate should be as follows:

Maximum 8000 kbit/sec
Average 6250 kbit/sec <--- most inportant number
Minimum 2500 kbit/sec

If you use compressed audio (AC3 at 448 kbit/sec) you can bump up your average and maximum video bitrate by quite a bit...
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #267  
Old 2006-01-16, 12:48 AM
svenkid
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Help with VHS > DVD conversion

Hey all,
this is my first post to the traders den
Taperssection.com recommended this site bc it would be a better place to ask this question.

I have seen these units that have both a vcr and a dvdr drive on them, and it is described as a vhs > dvd converter. Are these the best way to do this. Ive heard that some ways can mess up the audio/video synch.

any help is much appreciated.

Carl
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #268  
Old 2006-01-16, 06:01 PM
hopenhower hopenhower is offline
145.28 GB/226.94 GB/1.56
 
Join Date: May 2005
Re: Help with VHS > DVD conversion

I've never used those devices you're talking about, but I imagine it doesn't give you much control (if any) over menus, backgrounds, music that plays during the menues, etc. Your best bet is to input the video into your computer. You will either need a tv card or some type of capture device. They have them as pci cards or ones that plug into your USB port. Just plug your vhs player outputs in and use the software that comes with it to record it as a computer video file. Then you can use DVD authoring software to set up the dvd, then burn. I've heard of syncing problems, but I assume if your computer can keep up you shouldn't have any problem. You're going to need a decent computer with a whole lot of hard drive space though.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #269  
Old 2006-01-17, 12:25 AM
AAR.oner's Avatar
AAR.oner AAR.oner is offline
TTD Staff
1.11 TB/1.41 TB/1.27
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Appalachia
Re: Help with VHS > DVD conversion

its much better to use high-end vhs deck > A/D converter > computer...

a few questions first--what kind of setup are you looking for [how much transferring are you planning to do]? what OS do you use? any editing or dvd authoring progs? how much $ are you willing to spend?
__________________
TTD's Gear Lust Forum -- info & reviews on taping gear
The Basics of EQing
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #270  
Old 2006-01-17, 12:34 AM
svenkid
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Help with VHS > DVD conversion

Well, Ive decided to maybe hold back on the dvd thing. People on taperssection are saying that since they arent the masters, thats its suspect to begin with, although I would like to transfer at least the 3/13 and 3/14/00 shows just because I was at those shows. I would just be transfering 4 vhs tapes, and maybe just get a vcr player for a TV to watch the rest.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Help on DVD authoring... - hallucinogenetick Technobabble 4 2008-06-06 01:13 AM
.vob dvd authoring - N8Slyce Technobabble 2 2007-06-01 08:38 AM
DVD Authoring Question - forbin23 Technobabble 2 2006-12-05 09:15 PM
DVD authoring help - jlinkon Technobabble 12 2006-10-28 10:47 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts