The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #211  
Old 2005-11-14, 05:22 PM
jinkas
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: Fixing the menus in a DVD

Thanks for the help, but it turns out that my problem was bigger than just broken menus--I couldn't rip the DVDs using DVD Decrypter, copy them using Nero, or transfer the files using Windows.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #212  
Old 2005-11-14, 05:46 PM
showtaper's Avatar
showtaper showtaper is offline
304.10 GB/469.31 GB/1.54
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Re: Fixing the menus in a DVD

Quote:
Originally Posted by jinkas
Thanks for the help, but it turns out that my problem was bigger than just broken menus--I couldn't rip the DVDs using DVD Decrypter, copy them using Nero, or transfer the files using Windows.
Sounds like DVDs made on a stand-alone recorder. If the discs are not finalized properly, they will not work in a computer DVD drive. Most programs and Windows will act as if the disc is empty or report some type of sector errors.

About the only way to fix this is to play the DVDs on a player and capture the video. This sucks as you are re-encoding the video and audio again.

The best solution is to have the trader replace the discs.

I use TMPGenc DVD Author, it isn't the fanciest, but it will import DVD files and let you create new menus and set new chapters without re-encoding the video/audio stream.....
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #213  
Old 2005-11-19, 07:27 PM
triplethreat112 triplethreat112 is offline
30.53 GB/17.22 GB/0.56
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Question ISO someone who has downloaded and burned a TV show....

im having problems, and i could use some help....the problem is...that i downloaded a couple of shows, and say one of the seasons that i downloaded is more than one disc. so i burn the first disc, every thing is fine and perfect. i delete the files that ive already burned so that i can burn whats left. and there is where i run into the problem. the first disc is fine, then when i go burn the second one it will burn but i go to play it and i ge tnothing.


so im wondering what im doing wrong. i download the show convert them and then i burn them. if the first disc burns with no problems why am i getting nothing on the second.


aim-triplethreat112
shaun

Last edited by triplethreat112; 2005-11-19 at 10:37 PM.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #214  
Old 2005-11-20, 11:37 AM
triplethreat112 triplethreat112 is offline
30.53 GB/17.22 GB/0.56
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Re: ISO someone who has downloaded and burned a TV show....

anyone???? i cant split up discs...i am desperate for help
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #215  
Old 2005-11-20, 12:27 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: ISO someone who has downloaded and burned a TV show....

What format are the shows in? That will help out if you want people to help. I know that for the movies we have here, they are all in VIDEO_TS folders and you can't just 'split' them up like that. You would need to use something to shrink them to fit onto one disc.

If there are forums at the site you downloaded this from, you may get more response.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #216  
Old 2005-11-20, 02:49 PM
triplethreat112 triplethreat112 is offline
30.53 GB/17.22 GB/0.56
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Re: ISO someone who has downloaded and burned a TV show....

the shows are in video_ts form. i downloaded them from tvtorrents.com then i used divxtodvd to convert it so i can burn it on nero. so yeah that would be my problem, is that i would need something so that i can convert them so they can fit on one disk. but how? thats the problem. and nobody at a number of forums have gotten back to me.. so your the first. so if you have ideas please let me know.

thanks for the reply.

shaun
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #217  
Old 2005-11-20, 03:38 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: ISO someone who has downloaded and burned a TV show....

On a Mac, I would use Popcorn to shrink a dual-layer dvd VIDEO_TS folder down so I could burn it on my single-layer DVD writer. I'm trying to think of what you use on a PC.... DVD Shrink or something like that. I would look over at videohelp.com under the Lists > Tools page.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #218  
Old 2005-11-29, 04:52 PM
shc shc is offline
1.24 TB/1.20 TB/0.96
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
DVD Capture, Authoring

Hi all,
Im going to be workin on transferring a bunch of dv tapes to dvd soon, Most will be shared here at some point. Im trying to get an idea of what software people like to use.
Ive used premiere for capturing and tmpgenc for converting to dvd then tmpgen dvd author to author. Im fine with the quality up until the dvd authoring, I know I can do alot better menus but I need to know what good software is. The menus with the warnign logos and whatnot are great!
Any advice would be very appreciated!
Thanks in advance!
Mike
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #219  
Old 2005-11-29, 05:15 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: DVD Capture, Authoring

Sony DVD Architect 3.0c and Vegas Video 6.0c are very popular. You won't need Vegas if your comfortable with Premiere. DVDA can do those logo menus you like easily.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #220  
Old 2005-11-30, 10:05 PM
fudiesel fudiesel is offline
66.49 GB/72.36 GB/1.09
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
DVD Editing

Does anyone happen to know if there is software available where I can take an authored DVD, rip the video and the menu and then edit everything?

For example, I have a Radiohead DVD that has a 1997 show and a 2003 show. I want to remove the 2003 show and add a 1998 show to the DVD. Then (if it's even possible), I want to edit the Menu. I kind of want to keep the shows as close as possible to the years......if anyone has a name to the software, I would really appreciate it.....
__________________
http://db.etree.org/fudiesel
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #221  
Old 2005-11-30, 11:24 PM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: DVD Editing

You don't want to do that if you don't know what you're doing. For one, the software is wicked expensive. You could probably find someone around here who can help you out though.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #222  
Old 2005-12-01, 09:44 PM
pawel's Avatar
pawel pawel is offline
Lockout here
370.16 GB/672.37 GB/1.82
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Poland
Re: DVD Editing

Was hundred times here: the easiest and cheapest is TMPGEnc DVD Author 1.6. However, you can import to it a DVD, better is to demux video files, i.e. with PVAStrumento.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #223  
Old 2005-12-02, 01:11 AM
gsmyth79's Avatar
gsmyth79 gsmyth79 is offline
Happy little trees
TTD VIP
659.93 GB/7.41 TB/11.50
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bi-Mon-Sci-Fi-Con
Re: DVD Editing

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawel
Was hundred times here: the easiest and cheapest is TMPGEnc DVD Author 1.6. However, you can import to it a DVD, better is to demux video files, i.e. with PVAStrumento.
Oh yeah, I don't have a PC so I don't use that program.
__________________
I was saying Boo-urns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #224  
Old 2005-12-07, 06:33 PM
PintOfGuinness2 PintOfGuinness2 is offline
1.03 TB/1.07 TB/1.03
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Vegas Wont' recognize my Vid/Cam

Help please I'm running Vegas 6.0 on my laptopHooked up my Sony DCRPC-109 via ieee 1394 port. REcgnized by the comp in Windows explorer as "sony DV Camcorder" Am not able to get Vegas to recognize the camera when I try to cature through Vegas I get "device not availabe" meanwhile I am able to use the cheesy capture program that came with my Sony Digicam, pixela or picture package or whatever. I am able to use that to capture then open the avi's in Vegas but 1st the fucking program captures 10 minute clps and then pauses, doesn't seem to be any settings to change that, plus Im sure that's not the optimum Capture program. Any help for this noob will be greatly appreciated
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #225  
Old 2005-12-07, 06:39 PM
saltman's Avatar
saltman saltman is offline
opposite of moderate
TTD Staff
471.23 GB/591.81 GB/1.26
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: Vegas Wont' recognize my Vid/Cam

there was a bunk cracked version of 6.0b that could not initialize the vidcap6.exe properly. you need to upgrade to 6.0c and I bet everything work properly.
__________________
We all see only that which we are trained to see.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Help on DVD authoring... - hallucinogenetick Technobabble 4 2008-06-06 01:13 AM
.vob dvd authoring - N8Slyce Technobabble 2 2007-06-01 08:38 AM
DVD Authoring Question - forbin23 Technobabble 2 2006-12-05 09:15 PM
DVD authoring help - jlinkon Technobabble 12 2006-10-28 10:47 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts