The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1351  
Old 2006-06-21, 12:56 PM
hanshak2015's Avatar
hanshak2015 hanshak2015 is offline
Fleet Street Afficionado
38.02 GB/41.65 GB/1.10
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Legoland
Re: converting/watching phish dvd?????how to?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuffer
OK here lets see..... Looks like the usual cast of characters. VOB, DVD Movie Info, Back up file of the IFO
Could you be more specific... like posting a list of the filenames?
__________________
the bakery - yes, we're open.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1352  
Old 2006-06-21, 08:19 PM
Chuffer Chuffer is offline
264.83 GB/288.21 GB/1.09
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Beantown
Re: converting/watching phish dvd?????how to?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanshak2015
Could you be more specific... like posting a list of the filenames?
Name Type

VIDEO_TS Backup file of the IFO
VIDEO_TS DVD Movie IFO
VIDEO_TS VOB File
VTS_01_0 Backup File of the IFO
VTS_01_0 DVD Movie Info
TVS_01_0 VOB File
VTS_01_1 VOB File
VTS_01_2 VOB File
VTS_01_3 VOB File
VTS_01_4 VOB File

Sorry about hijacking this thread I really need to figure out why this folder will not burn.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1353  
Old 2006-06-21, 10:08 PM
diggrd's Avatar
diggrd diggrd is offline
1.10 TB/1.70 TB/1.54
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SWNH
Re: converting/watching phish dvd?????how to?

do you have ifoedit?
http://www.ifoedit.com/
check out the interactive screen shot for more info on what it can do. I always like to use Get VTS sectors and process all IFO files before burning DVDRs
__________________
DEMONROAST
LIST
Scene of a Perfect Crime


Quote:
Originally posted by frankenberry
anybody else who decides to call me a fuckhead troll newbie (you know who you are) should be made to listen to phish bootleg taped by a '73 led zeppelin taper
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1354  
Old 2006-06-24, 05:41 PM
Festafarian's Avatar
Festafarian Festafarian is offline
1.07 TB/1.15 TB/1.08
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mayberry, NC
dvd incompatibility

If there is a thread for this, sorry, I couldn't find it.

Lately I seem to be having a problem with dvds I burn for people that will not play in their player. Recently I did a big trade in Japan. Some of the dvds would not play in any of his players, but looked fine on his laptop, so he was able to reburn them. But... sometimes I make dvds for friends who don't have a computer. No, they are not either Pal or data discs

My player will play just about anything, so even if I check 1st, I can't tell if it will work for others

I have a PC with XP, I use TY disks, and I use nero. Anybody know what might be wrong? Or possibly the best way to insure compatibility?
Thanks
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by reece
You must be one of those conniving jews, or an ebonics talking black. Or, worse yet, a black jew. Only sellin' your crack to other jews. And when you do sell to others, you give a 10 dollar piece for 20 dollars.
The NEW list.... Festafarian.com

I do B&Ps

myspace.com/festafarian

Ziggy's
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1355  
Old 2006-06-24, 07:32 PM
Explosivo Explosivo is offline
58.56 GB/59.33 GB/1.01
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California
Re: dvd incompatibility

When it comes to standalone players, compatibility can be a crap shoot. I have 4 DVD players in my house (3 of them similar model Sony's) and discs often work on 1 or 2 but not the others. Ive also received numerous trades where some of the discs played fine but others weren't even recognized except on my PC. So far my Philips has played every disc Ive thrown at it.

From what Ive read it seems to depend on the players. Some prefer + or -, while others prefer certain brands. Having a newer player seems to help. Some people have said that slower burns help, but Im not to sure about that. Burning high rated media too slow can make worse burns.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1356  
Old 2006-06-24, 08:13 PM
Festafarian's Avatar
Festafarian Festafarian is offline
1.07 TB/1.15 TB/1.08
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mayberry, NC
Re: dvd incompatibility

Well at least I'm not alone When I'm trading, it's not usually a problem because they have a computer and can figure it out. The problems always occur when I'm burning something for friends who only have one player
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by reece
You must be one of those conniving jews, or an ebonics talking black. Or, worse yet, a black jew. Only sellin' your crack to other jews. And when you do sell to others, you give a 10 dollar piece for 20 dollars.
The NEW list.... Festafarian.com

I do B&Ps

myspace.com/festafarian

Ziggy's
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1357  
Old 2006-06-24, 10:09 PM
Sacredroots Sacredroots is offline
111.10 GB/204.76 GB/1.84
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Re: dvd incompatibility

Nope...not alone...I have had similar problems.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1358  
Old 2006-06-24, 11:30 PM
schmoe75's Avatar
schmoe75 schmoe75 is offline
VBT Mod
TTD Staff
0.00 KB/5.57 TB/Inf.
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Re: dvd incompatibility

ONES
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1359  
Old 2006-06-25, 05:36 AM
thisistoto thisistoto is offline
505.91 GB/533.29 GB/1.05
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: dvd incompatibility

Standalone players are always fussy about playing burnt discs.

Burning at slower speeds does seem to improve compatability a bit, and using higher quality media.

As far as dvd player brands, my cyberhome (30 bucks from walmart) will play anything, discs that my high end sony wont even play.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1360  
Old 2006-07-03, 04:20 PM
blackfish blackfish is offline
177.80 GB/136.40 GB/0.77
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Saturn
...DVD Decrypter...

I am ripping DVD's with DVD Decrypter.

Am I loosing any of the main source in any way doing this? Am I re-compressing the data? Loosing bits?

Is there a tool for exact Video copy such as EAC for audio?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1361  
Old 2006-07-03, 08:44 PM
Five's Avatar
Five Five is offline
TTD Staff
186.65 GB/588.32 GB/3.15
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Re: ...DVD Decrypter...

all the dvds here do not have copy protection thus it is not necessary to use dvd decrypter.

just drag and drop the VIDEO_TS folder to your computer, generate md5 checksums from the dvd you just copies from, then save these checksums to your computer and test them against what was copied to your hd. then if you want to burn another dvd from the verified files on your computer, burn it then generate checksums from that new disc and then run them against the files on your hd. so long as they keep matching up the extraction and copy are exact. it is a little different than audio cdr in this way.
__________________
Checksums Demystified EAC Config MakeTorrent WinAmp Config

Modern social theory casts a highly skeptical eye on any declaration that a group of persons is without conflict, and insists, on the contrary, that conflict is natural to groups, and even more, is essential to them. -Patrick Henry
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1362  
Old 2006-07-07, 11:14 PM
Bron Yr Aur
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
DVD Burning Questions

Ok, I'm having some problems burning certain DVD's, and I'm looking for some advice on how to solve my problems.

I've downloaded http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ad.php?t=16571 this torrent, and when I am playing it in PowerDVD the show is in a normal 16:9 full screen aspect ratio and the video is skewed (as in, everything is too skinny). So, I burned the first disc onto a Sony DVD+R with ONES as "record data files to CD or DVD." I created an empty "AUDIO_TS" folder and dragged the VIDEO_TS and AUDIO_TS into the contents area, and burned. However, I've got a couple of problems. Number one, I'm wondering if I burn discs this way if they will play on most older DVD players (I know they do in fact play on my new standalone player). Number two, when I burned the disc and popped it into my player, the picture was full screen (when I assume it should be widescreen). The video isn't skewed, but it is chopped off on the sides.

Now, I was also trying to burn this show: http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/...ad.php?t=21467 I did everything the same way as before, the first disc burned perfectly, but when I burned the second, it wouldn't play in my standalone player, because only the VOB files were burned. They now show up in the VIDEO_TS folder on my harddrive, but didn't burn to disc.

Anyone have any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1363  
Old 2006-07-08, 07:38 AM
joemc joemc is offline
123.23 GB/26.46 GB/0.21
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Re: DVD Burning Questions

hi, i sometimes use a reauthoring or converting program even when i have dloaded a full dvd. you can then set what you want the output files to be, ie pal, 16.9 etc. then burn the output file. i never have a loss of quality. you could use win avi or shrink among many.


joe
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1364  
Old 2006-07-08, 09:58 AM
schmoe75's Avatar
schmoe75 schmoe75 is offline
VBT Mod
TTD Staff
0.00 KB/5.57 TB/Inf.
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Re: DVD Burning Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bron Yr Aur
So, I burned the first disc onto a Sony DVD+R with ONES as "record data files to CD or DVD." .

Anyone have any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
If u want to burn a dvd with ONES, u should be using "Record VIDEO_TS"...NOT 'record data files'. I've never had an issue with it.

Also, when 'creating the project' to burn, u should be using the "browse folder icon" on the right side of the window (w/ the green arrow) and NOT the one on the left.
__________________
While we were all dancing these people were working & now freely sharing - Ray
We dont play black, we dont play white, we just play what we know & feel - Miles
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #1365  
Old 2006-07-08, 03:41 PM
Bron Yr Aur
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: DVD Burning Questions

Ok, I'll try that schmoe, thanks for the advice.

However, now when I try to open the Set Two files from the UM 2002-05-17 DVD, it says there are no DVD video files to burn, when I select that folder as the VIDEO_TS folder. However, the individual files do play in PowerDVD. Also, when I try to check the Set Two .md5's, the mkw opens, then closes immediately. I have been having some issues with this computer lately, which is why I'm trying to burn so much off in the first place, but I'm thinking this could possibly be part of the problem.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Problems burning dual layer DVDs - Tubular Technobabble 68 2009-05-04 12:58 PM
Problems burning dvds, answer asap!! - popeye Technobabble 1 2007-02-17 01:11 PM
CD burning problems...Nero... - Gratefulzepp Technobabble 3 2006-04-12 09:41 PM
Need help with burning problems - taylordb Technobabble 7 2006-02-18 10:40 PM
Burning audio problems - Greengoat Technobabble 5 2005-01-15 07:07 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts