The Traders' Den  

  The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble
 

Notices

Technobabble Post your general Need for Help questions here.
Lossy or Lossless?
Moderators

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #91  
Old 2005-01-27, 09:14 PM
wazoo2u wazoo2u is offline
923.61 MB/96.22 MB/0.10
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: 4th coaster in a row, WTF??

Quote:
Originally Posted by DDSTree
my thoughts exactly here

and wazoo...sorry you've had such a bad experience with Lite-On...they've been such a good drive for me for the past few years...
I would have thought the same Doc, based on their CD burners, but reading the CD Freaks forums, I see where their DVD products just fall short in a number of key areas, media compatibility being one of them.

I don't want to be tied into one brand of media, because (as we all know) BRANDS don't mean squat because the media can be made by anyone and then badged for resale.

I'm sure there have been some satisfied users, but after doing the research that I should have done initially, I know KNOW not to buy the current series of Lite-ON, and judging by their lack of response to the hordes of people who DO have problems with these drives, I'd be hesitant to involve myself with ANY of their product in the future.

For $25 more, I can get the newest, bestest Pioneer, and their 108 drives have burned any media I've thrown into them so far.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #92  
Old 2005-02-01, 09:39 AM
rerem
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
Re: 4th coaster in a row, WTF??

My Lite-on has done 800+ CD's and the 2 coasters I got were when the electricity went out. My housemate brought home some blanks from work,said he heard they sucked-well neither of my burners even recognized that they were in the drive-so they were pre-coastered crap.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #93  
Old 2005-02-01, 10:04 AM
kuba's Avatar
kuba kuba is offline
boogie chillun'
1.32 GB/184.09 MB/0.14
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Czech Rep.
Re: 4th coaster in a row, WTF??

Quote:
Originally Posted by wazoo2u
This "recommended media" is a load of crap. Make the drive work, or don't sell the damm thing.

Watta load o' crap....
Exactly.

Problem is I had very limited choice. I always hit the ceiling when I see how electronic is fuckin' overpriced here.

As soon as I manage to put together $180 for a Plextor or Pioneer I'll buy one, that's for sure.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #94  
Old 2005-02-01, 11:50 AM
livedead13's Avatar
livedead13 livedead13 is offline
37.97 GB/36.00 GB/0.95
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: 4th coaster in a row, WTF??

I have a sony vaio and also hate it. I put a hp dual layer dvd burner in it and had a few problems at first. It does not like nero (or my vaio does not like it, not sure which) and I have to burn at the speed the disc is labled. Which seems logical, but CDs don't work that way. Anyway, I made a few coasters before I figured it out. Never had any problems with a certain brand of media though.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #95  
Old 2005-02-06, 12:00 AM
Roger Daltrey's Avatar
Roger Daltrey Roger Daltrey is offline
65.57 GB/43.42 GB/0.66
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Question DVD burners?

I have Sonic My Dvd (LE version 5, dvd burner), and it will not open up .BUP .VOB and .IFO files, which are the files that the Bit torrent downloaded. So I can't get any of my dvd's that I downloaded onto a blank dvd. Does anyone else know anything I can do to get it to accept those files, or would it be best to get another dvd burning software? I'm pretty sure Nero 6 supports those files, but i'm not planning on paying $99 for it! Are there some older Nero dvd burning software thats cheaper that supports the files I listed above? And what other dvd burning software accpets those files?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
__________________
My live recordings
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #96  
Old 2005-02-06, 07:04 AM
DrRinse DrRinse is offline
10.97 GB/3.76 GB/0.34
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Re: DVD burners?

Why dont you just download Nero from the official site, then get a keygen for it? There are scores of keygens for Nero out there.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #97  
Old 2005-02-06, 04:27 PM
livedead13's Avatar
livedead13 livedead13 is offline
37.97 GB/36.00 GB/0.95
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Re: DVD burners?

It is wierd that the program that came with your dvd burner would not support dvd files. I agree with the above post and get a nero keygen, although nero does not work for me. I just use copy2dvd, a very small and simple dvd burning program that has not caused me any problems. You can also get a keygen for this program, but it is very cheap if you are not into pirating software.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #98  
Old 2005-02-06, 04:51 PM
Roger Daltrey's Avatar
Roger Daltrey Roger Daltrey is offline
65.57 GB/43.42 GB/0.66
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: DVD burners?

I just bought Nero 6, the files work, but I can't figure out how to use the menue that was with the download I have (Metallica June 4th, 2004 dvd). I have the menue on there, but when you preview it, it plays for less than a second, then goes to the next page of the menue, and that goes by in less than a second, and the same for the 3rd menue. After that it goes directly to the first song and plays fine after that. I just need to figure out how to get the menus(that came with the download) to work so I can choose the songs off of it.

IM me on AIM if you know how to fix that- KdsoLb135
__________________
My live recordings
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #99  
Old 2005-02-07, 02:34 PM
mrPalmer
0.00 KB/0.00 KB/---
 
dvd menus in roxio Toast 6

ive wasted to many damn dvds trying to burn a plain video_ts folder with menus all ready built in.
ok so i open toast 6 >click on DVD > turn OFF the create menu options (since the video_ts folder all ready has them included) > Burn..
now when i go to play, it plays the menu as chapter one and i have to wait 2.5 minutes to get trough to the begining of the show(s). not to mention it isnt seekable via seperated chapters.
i need help cause this is costing too much money and time wasting dvds. thanks.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #100  
Old 2005-02-07, 02:54 PM
lucasweb's Avatar
lucasweb lucasweb is offline
27.13 GB/217.10 GB/8.00
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NYC
Re: dvd menus in roxio Toast 6

after you burn one coaster you should seek help.

What i always do to burn a dvd is i take the Video_ts folder and drop it on to DVD imager ( http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/19456 ) that program will make a .img file, then go into toast, click on utilities then select mount disc image, pick the img file, it will be mounted on the desktop and might even laugh the dvd player depending on your preferences. Now go to the main toast window and pick copy, click the read from thing and select the mounted image, then click burn and it should work from there

plus im sure there is also info that would answer your question in the faq
__________________
Dustin Hoffman - Straight Time (1978)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Handy
I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #101  
Old 2005-02-07, 03:14 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: dvd menus in roxio Toast 6

Burning DVD-Rs on a Mac

Hope that helps!
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #102  
Old 2005-02-07, 04:38 PM
ffooky ffooky is offline
14.55 GB/14.69 GB/1.01
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: dvd menus in roxio Toast 6

The UDF + new disc + AUDIO_TS + VIDEO_TS is good if you want to use up available space with other data but the easiest method is to go to Toast's Video tab, click the little button on the left that makes the drawer come out, select the advanced tab and then select "DVD Video from VIDEO_TS". Drag in yer VIDEO_TS folder and burn away.
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #103  
Old 2005-02-07, 04:57 PM
U2Lynne's Avatar
U2Lynne U2Lynne is offline
TTD Staff
471.57 GB/2.01 TB/4.37
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Re: dvd menus in roxio Toast 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by ffooky
....but the easiest method is to go to Toast's Video tab, click the little button on the left that makes the drawer come out, select the advanced tab and then select "DVD Video from VIDEO_TS". Drag in yer VIDEO_TS folder and burn away.
Hmmm, my Toast doesn't have that option.
__________________
Five's Checksums Demystified - everything and anything you want to know about checksums
On a Mac? Get XLD to rip your CDs. Please see this guide - X Lossless Decoder (XLD): How to create flawless CD rips on Mac OS X

TTD GoFundMe Campaign

Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #104  
Old 2005-02-07, 05:10 PM
ffooky ffooky is offline
14.55 GB/14.69 GB/1.01
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Re: dvd menus in roxio Toast 6

Mine's 6.0.7. I didn't have a DVD burner with any earlier versions so I'm not sure at what point it was added. It's a free update for any earlier version of 6......
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
  #105  
Old 2005-02-07, 10:11 PM
Roger Daltrey's Avatar
Roger Daltrey Roger Daltrey is offline
65.57 GB/43.42 GB/0.66
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Re: dvd menus in roxio Toast 6

I'm having the same problem with Nero 6. I have the menus that came in the download, but they don't work when I add them to create a dvd, I tried burning it, but the menu doesn't work. And I can't figure out how to remove the create a menu so I don't have one. This is really starting to piss me off, I finally got a dvd burner, and it's not even playing the menus, and all I get is 4 chapters and no menu that works

Any help would be great.
__________________
My live recordings
Reply With Quote Reply with Nested Quotes
Reply

The Traders' Den > Where we go to learn ..... > Technobabble

Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
Problems burning dual layer DVDs - Tubular Technobabble 68 2009-05-04 12:58 PM
Problems burning dvds, answer asap!! - popeye Technobabble 1 2007-02-17 01:11 PM
CD burning problems...Nero... - Gratefulzepp Technobabble 3 2006-04-12 09:41 PM
Need help with burning problems - taylordb Technobabble 7 2006-02-18 10:40 PM
Burning audio problems - Greengoat Technobabble 5 2005-01-15 07:07 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forums


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - , TheTradersDen.org - All Rights Reserved - Hosted at QuickPacket
no new posts